We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Narberth
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“charming little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Rooms are clean but my room was not spacious. Perhaps it was just my room. But no complaints really. It's a heritage house converted into a charming little hotel. Room service was excellent and so was the breakfast. Good clean bathroom. It's a short walk to the town centre which was very beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetraveller5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel_Plas_Hyfryd, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We value the comments of all of our guests, and appreciate your kind words. We are glad your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best regards and wshes for the future, all the staff at The Plas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    67
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
61
67
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 20 month old for a couple of nights. A great base for visiting the local area. I had e mailed the hotel before we arrived to ask whether the room we had been allocated was the most suitable considering that we had a toddler and they assured me that it would be fine but moved us to a higher floor anyway, which I was grateful for. The room was fine with plenty of space for the travel cot which the hotel provided. Everything went well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel_Plas_Hyfryd, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind words. We continually try to be as accommodating as possible, and understand families with newest members need some extra care and attention. When rebooking with us we recommend requesting one of our family rooms as at busy times these rooms are normally the first to go. We look forward to seeing you again, best wishes from all the staff at The Plas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthgain, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here after a wedding party the room was a little on the small side for £90 but very comfortable. There was no view from the room it looked out on to a roof. For the occasion it was nice to be able to go to our room when we felt like it. The driks were a little pricey but to be expected from a hotel/wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel_Plas_Hyfryd, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Hi Sian, thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We try to be as competitively priced as possible when it comes to our bar prices and we like to offer value for money to our guests. If you would like to make any future bookings with us please contact the hotel directly asking for myself and I will ensure I can do everything I can to make any future stays with us as pleasant as possible. Thank you again, Sam Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is a great hotel, it's very quaint and pretty. All the interior of the rooms is very pretty, everything is nice and clean and the beds are very comfortable. The staff are lovely, they do awesome food as well which is super fast!!! They also have a room which we used for work training, which had a projector etc, this was great. I would definitely stay again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieNZ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel_Plas_Hyfryd, Guest Relations Manager at Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, we appreciate any feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon, all the best from all the staff at The Plas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Booked through kgb for my husbands 70th birthday present . Absolutely first class. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Good choice for breakfast. The kippers were amazing. Ate in both the bar and restaurant all three nights and couldnt fault the meals especially the little touches of home made made bread and pre sweet taster. We were in Room 4 which was very pleasant. On reading some reviews I wonder about peoples expectations and do they live in a perfect world at home. Despite booking through kgb would not have a problem at paying full price if there was not an offer. Well worth the visit despite the mixed weather and the long journey from Yorkshire. Narberth was a lovely little town with lots of independent shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suewilso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a KGB voucher - fantastic value. Great room - good size, very clean and lovely furniture with loads of storage space - about 20 drawers in total! The bathroom was a good size with one of the best showers in any hotel I've visited - very powerful and hot. Staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Ate in the restaurant on the first night and the bar on the third night - both meals and the breakfasts were excellent - well presented and tasty. The hotel is well situated just off Narbeth's main street which has a good variety of shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Great old house in a really good location for the town of Narberth. Our room was at the hotel overlooking the car park & gardens although on the small side it was adequate for a short break. We didn't eat at the hotel but the menu looked quite good. Breakfast was the usual cereal juice etc but on the first morning the service was a bit like a fawlty towers sketch but ok on our second morning. Nothing to complain about and sn enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJonesGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narberth
1.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
7.5 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
8.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
6.7 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
12.0 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel

Property: Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
Address: Moorfield Road, Narberth SA67 7AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Narberth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plas Hyfryd, a small privately owned 3 star hotel, is situated in Narberth, in the heart of Pembrokeshire and only a short distance from the seaside towns of Tenby and Saundersfoot. Being central within the county, Hotel Plas Hyfryd is superbly located to take a peaceful 'away from it all' break. Little is known of the Hotel's history, Thomas Thomas, a retired surgeon, built 'Belmore House' and lived here until 1829. The house was designed by James Hughes, who was responsible for much of the development in Narberth. The name 'Plas Hyfryd' translates to the English 'lovely palace', and when you enter the front entrance and are greeted with the palatial staircase, it is easy to see why. We have fifteen en-suite rooms, including family rooms and executive suites and a stylish restaurant with an excellent menu by one of Pembrokeshire's most renowned chefs. Our function suite has all the modern facilities and comfort you would require whether you are planning a wedding, family celebration, business conference, team building event or training day. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you as a guest at the Hotel Plas Hyfryd. Our team are committed to a friendly, personal and professional service and look forward to extending a special Pembrokeshire welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel Wales/Narberth, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing