We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, poor communication.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Narberth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Plas Hyfryd for one night in the supreme room. We booked through booking.com online, on arrival they told us they didn't receive our booking information. But luckily had availability or else it would of been a very long trip home. We also got told on arrival that there was an 18 th birthday party going on that night and they had exclusive use of all of the facilities. So wasn't allowed to use bar or food area. The hotel itself was very clean, the rooms were to a high standard and was comfortable. The staff were also very friendly. But sadly that night due to the 18th birthday party, the hotel was very noisy into the early hours of the morning when trying to sleep. It would of been nice to be told on booking of the party, as we went for a little get away break. The full welsh breakfast which was included in the price was very good. Check out was a bit to early, would of been nice to stay a little later. Apart from that the hotel was very good, would visit again but it is a lot of money for what you get.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we were visiting family in the area. It was a home from home and we are so happy we chose this hotel above others in the area. We are old fashioned when it comes to what we expect from hotels. We want it clean, a comfortable bed and good customer service, all of which are offered in spades here.

Customer Service:
We received 5 star service from EVERY member of staff we came across. We were warmly welcomed by a friendly man who was also dealing with two large 'parties' of people having events at the hotel. He dealt with us without rushing and gave us all the attention we needed including showing us around our room, fetching and erecting a baby cot, sheets and extra towels for us immediately. At breakfast we were dealt with efficiently without being pestered and on check out it was a warm and efficient service including being asked if we needed directions on how to get to our next destination. Fantastic.

The Room:
Clean, comfortable and wonderful quality bed sheets. It felt like a home from home. We stayed in room 6 which had a surprise in the shape of a roof terrace. It was fantastic and we would definitely stay here again!

The Location:
Narberth is a quiet little town with all the facilities you need along with quaint shops and a friendly atmosphere. Lots of walks nearby and a stones throw from the larger towns of Carmarthen, Haverdfordwest and Tenby.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates good service in comfortable home from home surroundings.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a beautiful roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corsaman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We visited Plas Hyfryd on a Groupon deal. The Management were kind enough to extend the date as we had both been struck down by flu and unable to keep our previous booking.
Although the room was small and overlooking a flat roof with not very picturesque air conditioning outlets - it was cosy with a good sized television and comfy bed. Other rooms appeared to be vacant but ours was the 'basic' as described on the Groupon voucher.
Situated just at the top of the main road through Narberth, the position was perfect for visiting the pretty little town and looking through shops and galleries and for accessing other parts of Pembrokeshire by car.
Every member of staff was delightful - helpful, polite and nothing was too much trouble. The meal we had at the hotel was delicious and I highly recommend the Honey and Ginger Croissant Pudding! Breakfasts, too, were delicious and the chef offered an excellent choice on the menus.
We would certainly stay here again but would pay extra to upgrade to a better room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Excellent meal and ample parking. Lots of little rooms inside and a main restaurant. Had Sunday lunch at a business do and the staff were very accommodating. Handy for the town and shops - just off the "High Street".

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffandLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed Christmas Eve and Christmas night as visiting relatives nearby. Loved it ! Clean, comfortable, very friendly staff and brilliant cook - what more can I say ? If you are staying in the area you won't do better than Plas Hyfryd.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front - view is lovely !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicebrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We spent one night at the Hotel Plas Hyfryd in Narberth during a recent trip to Wales. Our spacious suite was very comfortable. It was also well equipped to support our various electronic devices and had a strong wi-fi signal. Our dinner in the hotel’s restaurant was delicious, and the service throughout our stay was very good. In short, our entire experience was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here fri 29 till sunday ,stayed in room 16 really spacious and clean,had evening meal in restaurant really good meal white bait was lovely as was my wifes soup butternut squash and chestnut ,main meal thai curry and i had belly pork and parsnip mash with plum sauce beautiful,the staff were all excellent and freindly ,definitely return,people of narberth really freindly too ,had awesome meal in peppercorn on high street worth a visit ,see you again cheers

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alzybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narberth
1.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,216 reviews
4.7 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
506 reviews
11.8 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,179 reviews
3.9 mi away
No photo provided
Nant-Y-Ffin Hotel & Motel
#1 of 1 in Llandissilio
47 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel

Address: Moorfield Road, Narberth SA67 7AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Narberth
Price Range: £87 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plas Hyfryd, a small privately owned 3 star hotel, is situated in Narberth, in the heart of Pembrokeshire and only a short distance from the seaside towns of Tenby and Saundersfoot. Being central within the county, Hotel Plas Hyfryd is superbly located to take a peaceful 'away from it all' break. Little is known of the Hotel's history, Thomas Thomas, a retired surgeon, built 'Belmore House' and lived here until 1829. The house was designed by James Hughes, who was responsible for much of the development in Narberth. The name 'Plas Hyfryd' translates to the English 'lovely palace', and when you enter the front entrance and are greeted with the palatial staircase, it is easy to see why. We have fifteen en-suite rooms, including family rooms and executive suites and a stylish restaurant with an excellent menu by one of Pembrokeshire's most renowned chefs. Our function suite has all the modern facilities and comfort you would require whether you are planning a wedding, family celebration, business conference, team building event or training day. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you as a guest at the Hotel Plas Hyfryd. Our team are committed to a friendly, personal and professional service and look forward to extending a special Pembrokeshire welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel Wales/Narberth, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing