We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Narberth Museum

Narberth Museum
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Narberth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I visited the museum with my teenage daughter and had a really memorable and enjoyable time. There was a good variety of exhibits with some interactive features, models, a film and best of all, dressing up! The building itself has been skilfully renovated and provides a really appropriate setting for the contents, and the staff are enthusiastic and well informed. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would particularly recommend that people check for special events such as the breakfast and book exchange that we attended. I certainly plan to return when I am next in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    11
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great family day out!”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Had two children (7 and 9) to entertain on a wet and windy day, so we headed to the Narberth Museum. Even before we had paid to get in, I was enthralled by the patchwork quilts displayed in the foyer. My children thoroughly enjoyed themselves with lots of hands-on activities, a wonderful story-telling chair and dressing up (which actually I enjoyed too!). We all enjoyed the film and the staff were friendly and enthusiastic. Would definitely recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for Young Kids”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Read about the museum in The Guardian and decided to give it a go as we were nearby. The museum looks great and there has obviously been a lot of attention to detail the way the collecton has been put together.

We took a 4 and 6 year old and there was enough to keep them occupied for an hour. Staff spent time making crafts with them and were very friendly. There was also a great room full of clothes to dress up, a talking chair, and puzzles which was a lot of fun.

Also interesting stuff for the grown-ups.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tinabiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inspirational Experience”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Narberth Museum brings back to vivid life a world half forgotten or half remembered. It well deserves its Museum of the Year Shortlisting. The prize would mean far more here than in some large, august institution, so I hope it wins.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CeliaRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Narberth Museum, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to right a review, Celia. We're delighted you had such a good visit and we like your photo. If you want you can enter any photos you might have taken during your visit in the Art Fund Museum of the Year Photography Competition (details on the Art Fund website), you might even bag yourself an iPad mini! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little gem of a museum in tribute to a local hero.”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Took 3 small kids (and a husband) here in a freezing cold day and had a great hour letting kids play dress up in medieval garb while we read the fascinating history of the town (30 pubs at some point??) Well designed and great layout and the film is a bonus. But the kids area won out. Could have done with a mirror for the dress up though. And contrary to other reviews I thought it was reasonably priced for a small independent museum. I've paid far more for far worse in the past!

Helpful?
2 Thank Baggybreeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Narberth Museum, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thanks for submitting a review! We're really glad you enjoyed your visit and the kids found plenty to do. You're absolutely right that we need a mirror in the dressing up area and we're looking into that now. If you've taken any pictures of your visit you can enter them in the Art Fund Prize for Museum of the Year Photography Competition (details on the Art Fund website), you might even win yourself an iPad mini!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Narberth Museum also viewed

Narberth, Pembrokeshire
Narberth, Pembrokeshire
 
Narberth, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Narberth Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing