We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Devils Punchbowl
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hindhead
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Getting there!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Known this place forever used to be a disaster but now coming slowly good. The bar much better rooms still a little dated, food really quite good but unexciting. Give it a go the management are trying their best and it is definitely going to be very good soon

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    77
    66
    60
    58
See reviews for
67
106
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GILLINGHAM DORSET
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was the Hotel we spent our wedding night in forty five years ago and this weekend the anniversary fell on the exact date so I booked us in . It is said one should never go back , on this occasion , how right that proved to be . The receptionist was curt and unhelpful. Our room ,303, was a disaster. Stains (3) on the carpet,bedside lamp not working , ceiling peeling , flies and cobwebs in main lamp . Bathroom stained tiles and corners blackened with mould . A slight turn of the hot water tap in the sink resulted in a jet of water which covered ones front . The shower screen leaked on to the floor . The fire / emergency light over the door had been taped over with brown paper and a gent black sock stuffed into the right side. Food poor . Noise high , disco. Oh dear what a shambles. Even the'' Help Us Improve'' leaflet spelled frequently with a C!!! what would I change it asked , probably every thing , the place is run down to the point of being a mess and for the most part the staff were offish and unhelpful . Oh and if you have a mixed grill the chip are and extra ....unusual! Ther did not seem to be any cohesion amongst the staff and there was no warmth or engagement . This might have been due to the fact that most of the staff seemed to be foreign , perhaps there was language problems . The manager appeared to be British but he seriously needs to get a grip of his staff . Ghastly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Derek Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hindhead hotels

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for a friends wedding. The wedding was brilliant and the staff did a great job all evening.
The room was large, although maybe a little dated. Unfortunately we were given a twin rather than the double that we had booked and the hotel was full so no chance of a swap. It was also a little unclean. There were a few spider webs and a squashed spider on the wall. There were also a couple of chips in the table and the bathroom, although wiped down needed a deep clean.
The breakfast was really good. A buffet with cooked breakfast as well as a good selection of cereals, toast and juices. The sausages were of a very good quality. The bar was also quite reasonably priced.
All in all this hotel was OK for a night and a wedding but I wouldn't stay any longer than a night or 2.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dansouthgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were working in the area and stayed there for a week. The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast for £5 was very good value, though no marmalade!!! The room was clean and tidy with a shower over a bath. We only ate once in the restaurant in the evening as we had prior arrangements, but found the food good. It is well situated for the Devils Punchbowl at the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a rear ground floor room, dark because of the trees behind but very quiet away from the bustl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penniandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This place is amazingly good value at £55 per night and only £5 for a whole cooked breakfast!

The staff are very pleasant and welcoming and the food in the restaurant very decent for this type of place and again v good value.

The rooms are ok. Dated and some lightbulbs blown etc, but quite big. Bathroom ok and shower hot. Quite clean.

Overall it was ok and I would go back.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dpms1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife and I booked a room for one night so we could attend a wedding. The first room we were given was appalling. The bath mat was a cut down, frayed, bathsheet and there was serious mould all over the bathroom. We didn't have enough towels for the both of us and had to ask for additional ones. The room didn't appear to have been used for a while and showed signs of dust on sills, the drinks tray and the dado rails. Worse still, if you can get worse than thick mould, were the urine stains around the toilet. Overall not a good start and definitely not worth the money we paid. After complaining, we were moved to a four poster room, which was still not brilliant but an improvement on the previous room. The bed linen had holes in it and it was still dusty but for one night was bearable. The hotel photographs were clearly old as the outside was not as fresh and welcoming as depicted.

Our complaint was met with a certain amount of denial on the basis that most people found it to be a nice hotel. Apparently there are processes in place for dealing with mould but the general response was one of "Not fussed, we're doing alright" We were offered a reduced rate stay, but lets be honest, after this kind of experience - would you ??? The room information was also outdated, for one thing the Wifi code was incorrect !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just stayed at this hotel .We went a wedding and decided to stay there with other members of the family .We chose this hotel as it was reasonably priced and it was only for 1 night. We found the staff to be very pleasant and extremely helpful . The rooms we very nice they were clean and comfortable ,the breakfast was very nice too . The only down side was I wish we could have stayed longer !!! We will diffinately be staying there again in the future

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank compaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hindhead
4.0 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
2.0 mi away
Grayshott Health Spa
Grayshott Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devils Punchbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devils Punchbowl

Property: The Devils Punchbowl
Address: 52 London Road, Hindhead GU26 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Hindhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hindhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devils Punchbowl 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was originally built as a country residence for the Hon. Rollo Russell, Whose father, Lord John Russell was England’s first Liberal Prime Minister. Sometime during the early 1900’s, The house known then as Thorshill was leased to a part time minister of the local congregational church, he and his wife, ran Torshill as a private guesthouse up until 1949. The building has been a hotel ever since. Nowadays set in picturesque and peaceful location, right opposite The Devil’s Punchbowl itself, The hotel is the best place to relax in a truly rural setting. We can meet all private and business needs with 32 spacious bedrooms, The superb Thorshill Restaurant offering excellent cuisine & wine, our traditional pub and a conference and function room, all equipped to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Devils Punchbowl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devils Punchbowl Hotel Hindhead
Devils Punchbowl Hindhead
The Devils Punchbowl Hindhead, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing