We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Devils Punchbowl
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hindhead
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived yesterday and came home today. The manager was very nice. Staff very friendly. We stayed in the newer part of the building it was very clean. Bed linen was bright white, bathroom to a very high standard.
It was a lovely day and night. The food was beautiful, very hot loads of it. Restaurant and breakfast very good for value. Dont read the bad reviews go and stay there for yourself. We had room 203 and 205 very nice.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPBHotel, Manager at The Devils Punchbowl, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. As a small, family run hotel we are aware that we do not always offer all the facilities that the bigger company owned hotels do so it is important to me that the team try and provide the best customer service possible. Its great to hear that we were able to achieve this and is a great morale booster for the team.

Our Head chef and his team have come up with a menu that caters for a great variety of tastes so it is always good to know that they are hitting the right spot with our customers. Having taken over this hotel when it was on its last legs, the owners have invested a great deal in the bedrooms so its always a positive to know that you were comfortable in your bedrooms. As you said, 'Forget the reviews and come to the hotel for yourself!'
Once again, thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

James Cross
General Manager
The Devils Punchbowl Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Could be so nice, with the park on your doorstep. Lots of new houses nearby, so no excuse now. Could be made into the hotel/bar/restaurant of the area.

Currently the bar is just a tired "boozer". Someone please buy it and make it the place it should be!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for one night as it was convenient to wedding venue. The room smelt very much of cigarette smoke, we went to reception & they immediately gave us a different room. We had room 303 which was not perfect but much more pleasant. Unfortunately at bedtime we discovered the mattress was rock hard, one bedside light was broken also the light over the mirror in bathroom did not work.
The emergency light over the door has been covered over with brown card & a sock stuffed in the one end. What I was most concerned about was that FIRE doors were wedged open, I removed the wedge but later found them wedged open again!!!!
The one good thing was the Bar Snack we had when we arrived very tasty & value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 243nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently stayed for a family wedding nearby. Location was ideal. Rooms were in a poor state of cleanliness, particularly bathrooms which had not been cleaned properly following previous guests departure e.g. used soap in shower, insufficient towels. In general the Hotel is in need of a complete refurbishment and modernisation programme. Staircase and corridors dirty, poor state of carpets, fixtures, and fittings etc. Reception small but adequate.
We booked several rooms and were disappointed. Photographs on website did not equate to reality. Cost was reasonable per room per night, however we have stayed in other hotel chains for less, where cleanliness and standards were much better and of an acceptable standard.
However there was an excellent chap on reception when we arrived, who was clearly working very hard to improve the hotel. He was very attentive and had good customer skills with clear evidence of ambition and wish to improve the hotel and probably the only asset the hotel had. His personality shone. Unfortunately it takes more than one member of staff to make effective change in a near failing business. Some staff were lacking in people skills and would benefit from attending a customer care course.
We were told at 8.30pm by a waitress 'no tables available', yet the duty manager had told us food served up until 9pm and there were tables empty! For a business 'needing business' this model of attitude some staff had, did not add up. Breakfast was acceptable. Again dining area for breakfast was in poor state we were asked to leave whilst still having breakfast as staff needed to get ready for lunches. I have never been asked to leave my table whilst still having the meal!! very poor indeed.
A great shame as hotel has potential . Poor value. Noise level high due to weekend activities in hotel.

Room Tip: Don't until hotel refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank bonequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPBHotel, General Manager at The Devils Punchbowl, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Firstly I would like to apologise for the customer service you received from my team during your stay. I pride myself in the fact that although we may not be as big or have as many facilities at the hotel, we are still able to offer a great service to all our customers. The fact that you did not receive this is unexceptable and is something I will be dealing with immediately.

I have spoken in depth with my house keeping department and gone over the points you raised in your review. I would like to ask you if possible to get in touch with me at the hotel as I would like to confirm a couple of points which you raised in your review. I feel this would help me to effectively ensure that this type of situation does not happen again. The email address is info@devilspunchbowlhotel.co.uk

Kind regards,

James Cross
General Manager
The Devils Punchbowl Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for one night in July before a family wedding. There is a distinct smell of damp as you walk the corridors. The reception is tiny but does the job and the overall impression is a place in need to modernisation. The bar/restaurant has comfortable, big armchairs and the staff are very helpful and welcoming overall, although the lady in charge seems a little forbidding. a large group of us had dinner and the food was well cooked and presented. I would not hesitate to eat there again although it is not cheap - it is a medium price. It is a step to the devil's Punchbowl and well worth a look but not somewhere I would build a trip around. The town itself is pretty and the people very pleasant. The drive from London is easy and, once you get off the motorway, the countryside is lovely.

Room Tip: Hard to say. The ground floor is convenient for older travellers and all the rooms seem alike. All h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank DonnaH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The bed was like a plank of wood, The furniture was from the 30's. Dead flies and cobwebs to the windows. The grounds were like a rubbish tip. The fabric of the hotel looked neglected and generally the hotel looked as though it is about to be closed down and boarded up. Don't be fooled by the website photos. Staff obviously couldn't care less. One night was more than enough here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stradbroke223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel when visiting family in area. we were only in overnight and for breakfast, that was enough! A broom is definitely needed outside, the entrance is drab and bedroom no better, could not open blinds for dirt and mould on windows. bed clean, breakfast fine,but place is in need of a lot of refurbishment and some T.L.C.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Verna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hindhead
1.9 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
524 reviews
4 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Old Thorns Golf & Country Estate
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#5 of 11 in Guildford
769 reviews
8.3 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devils Punchbowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devils Punchbowl

Address: 52 London Road, Hindhead GU26 6AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Hindhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hindhead
Price Range: £41 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Devils Punchbowl 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was originally built as a country residence for the Hon. Rollo Russell, Whose father, Lord John Russell was England’s first Liberal Prime Minister. Sometime during the early 1900’s, The house known then as Thorshill was leased to a part time minister of the local congregational church, he and his wife, ran Thorshill as a private guesthouse up until 1949. The building has been a hotel ever since. Nowadays set in picturesque and peaceful location, right opposite The Devil’s Punchbowl itself, The hotel is the best place to relax in a truly rural setting. We can meet all private and business needs with 32 spacious bedrooms, The superb Thorshill Restaurant offering excellent cuisine & wine, our traditional pub and a conference and function room, all equipped to the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Devils Punchbowl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devils Punchbowl Hotel Hindhead
Devils Punchbowl Hindhead
The Devils Punchbowl Hindhead, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing