We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Lisboa Almada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Almada
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern, decent hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Hotel although small, looks relatively new and modern. Nice shower by Grohe. Rooms were not particular large but very clean. Breakfast area too small to accommodate large numbers of guests in hotel when we were there. May need to be expanded to serve everyone efficiently. Also had to queue for lifts while we were checking out. Would be better if WiFi was not chargeable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceechong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    145
    40
    9
    6
See reviews for
61
126
12
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Accommodation: The room was clean with comfortable bed & pillow. Clean bathroom with no complaint about it.

The drawback was the location and dining service:
The breakfast area was pretty small with unfriendly service staff and limited food choice. The service level was totally different from the hotel reception staff (who nice & helpful).

Location: There is quite a distance between the hotel & main city. As far as shopping is concerned, the nearest shopping mall- Almada Forum building can be viewed opposite the hotel. However, it is not within walking distance. (taxi costs about 5.80 from hotel) The mall closed at midnight with plenty of taxi outside the mall. There is a big supermarket with wide variety of grocery at ground floor level. For apparel, i prefer to shop at Vasco Da Gama than Almada Forum.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FairyMantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly and attentive. The rooms were comfortable and clean as well. The overall design of the hotel was also very modern and sleek. It was fairly close to a lot of tourist places such as Cristo Rei and a lot of shopping districts in Lisboa. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MR_California_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

It's not the first time that i stayed in this hotel and i can say that the staff is always friendly, the hygiene conditions are always perfect, the bed it's very good as the pillows. Hotel's location it's really good for the price as well the comfort provided. I highly recommend it for executive and leisure purpose.

Room Tip: The first floor apartments are equal to the higher floors, therefore cheaper because the window will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank web_mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Gerente geral at Mercure Lisboa Almada, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear web_mg ,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to learn that you are a repeated guest at our Hotel, please note that we've changed the name to Lisboa Almada Hotel due to our locsation just 20 minutes off Lisbon city centre from the south bank of the river Tagus. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Kind regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels & Resorts (gm@detailshotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blade70
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

It was with trepidation that I ended up staying at this hotel – on paper it appeared inviting – new contemporary design, modern, clean and catering for the business end of the market.
However my concern was about the distance from Lisbon as this hotel is in the Almada district – which seemed a little much having to catch a tram/bus then a ferry just to get to Lisbon proper.
However this was soon forgotten as the journey to and from the hotel was actually pretty enjoyable in itself – the locals are so friendly, the trip especially across the harbour was quick and regular and the view enjoyable – but you do have to factor this into your decision if staying here
The hotel itself couldn’t be faulted the staff were near on perfect, friendly helpful and very obliging, the rooms comfortable, spacious and tastefully designed,, the superior rooms especially had refreshments available 24/7, and Wi-Fi was included in the price. All in all a great stay in a wonderful, warm and inviting city.

Room Tip: If possible try and secure the superior / vip rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blade70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed at this great hotel for a week and I can't say enough about it! Firstly though, if you are a party of 3 as we were, there are no triple rooms at the standard rate, so a camper bed is provided which was a bit of a pain but at the same time, I'm not complaining as this is what we signed up for!

Firstly, the hotel itself is bright and modern, spotlessly clean and with great staff. It is within easy reach of Lisbon city centre, just hop on the number 3 metro (at the bottom of the hill beside the hotel), get off at the last stop and hop on the ferry over the river. The ferry is less than €3 return and takes about 7 minutes. Then it's a straight walk to the major attractions.

Almada itself is just lovely, a good sized, hilly town with great shops and cafes. If you're really up for shopping, get a taxi from the hotel reception to the Almada Forum. It costs about €10 and is well worth it! A great shopping centre with all the big brands! Loved it!! Hotel receptionist organised taxis for us, a great plus when you don't speak the language!

Breakfast at the hotel, in my opinion, was perfect! A hot and cold buffet, good coffee and lots to choose from. Breakfast is served until 10.30. In the evenings, the hotel restaurant serves fantastic meals at unbeatable prices! €7.50 for a soup starter, steak and fries (for example) and dessert. There are other, even cheaper options. Could not fault the food nor the service. A glass of wine comes in at about €2 and bottled beer around the same.

I loved the hotel and the location also and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone! A great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Janie_Bop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Nova de Milfontes
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The hotel is in Almada on the south side of the Tejo river. It is easy to get to central Lisbon by tram and ferry or tram and suburban train. The room was modern, clean and comfortable with large screen TV with many Portuguese and foreign channels, including BBC World News and BBC Entertainment. Many other channels are in English. The bed was comfortable with choice of two pillows, or both! The hotel served an excellent breakfast, included in the price with hot and cold choices. In addition there was an evening restaurant which served a first class buffet dinner. On the second evening the buffet was not available and the choice was limited. If your aim is to visit Lisbon for a reasonable cost then this is a good choice hotel, if you just want an overnight stop it is also easy to get to by car and overnight parking is free.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear do not get the afternoon sun, which does warm the room (although the aircon is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caprontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almada
4.1 mi away
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
161 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
#1 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
598 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#82 of 251 in Lisbon
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Evidencia Belverde Atitude Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hotel Praia do Sol
Hotel Praia do Sol
#6 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
97 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Residencial Colibri
Hotel Residencial Colibri
#3 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lisboa Almada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lisboa Almada

Property: Mercure Lisboa Almada
Address: Rua Abel Salazar 9 | Pragal, Almada 2805-313, Portugal (Formerly Lisboa Almada Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Almada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Almada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lisboa Almada 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Mercure Lisboa Almada is situated just a short drive from Costa da Caparica's beaches and 1.4 km from the iconic Cristo Rei Statue. It offers modern rooms with a picturesque view of Almada. The tastefully-decorated rooms at the Mercure Lisboa Almada have an LCD TV with cable channels, a work desk and air conditioning. Free WiFi is provided throughout the hotel. Free indoor parking is available for the hotel's guests. The hotel was inaugurated in 2010 and was the 1st 4-star hotel in Almada. The hotel offers a restaurant serving international dishes inspired by the Portuguese gastronomy, and a new lounge concept with a variety of freshly prepared juices, teas and flavoured waters, as well as refreshing mocktails and other non-alcoholic drinks. Lisbon's popular historic centre is 9 km away, featuring iconic areas like Chiado, Rossio and Bairro Alto. The hotel is 3.7 km from the Forum Almada shopping centre. Mercure Lisboa Almada is only a few steps from Almada's centre. It is also near the A2 highway and the ferry, railroad and light rail stations. Lisbon International Airport is 17 km from the Mercure Lisboa Almada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Lisboa Almada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing