We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for business across the river from Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Lisboa Almada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Almada
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value for business across the river from Lisbon”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This new 7-story hotel is in a quiet area on the outskirts of Almada, across the river from Lisbon near the 25th of April Bridge. I stayed there because it was convenient to the university in Caparica where I was attending a conference, and also convenient to Lisbon -- thanks to a new tram line connecting Almada to ferries, trains, and points of interest.

My room had plenty of space and was in excellent condition. Furnishings were spare but entirely adequate, and the attractive price made the hotel a very good value overall. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant was ample and varied; free Wifi in my room worked fine.

Overall I can recommend this hotel for those who have business on the Almada side of the river, but want to cross into Lisbon occasionally. Train connections from the airport are complicated, but I found that a taxi did not take long and was reasonably priced (though you should ask your driver, as others at my conference reported higher prices).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob4er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    137
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
58
117
11
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a very good, clean, modern hotel, close to Lisbon (across the 25 de Abril Bridge in the municipality of Almada). We stayed one night for the Super Bock Super Rock 2013 concert weekend. The service, room (including a very comfortable bed and nice bathroom), bar, and breakfast was all very good. It was a great location for the concert venue (approx. 25 EUR taxi ride, split between 4 people) and then driving to the airport the next day (approx. 10-15 minute drive). Just note that getting to/from the hotel is a bit confusing, even with the “HOTEL” signs, due to one-way streets and roundabouts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Hotel although small, looks relatively new and modern. Nice shower by Grohe. Rooms were not particular large but very clean. Breakfast area too small to accommodate large numbers of guests in hotel when we were there. May need to be expanded to serve everyone efficiently. Also had to queue for lifts while we were checking out. Would be better if WiFi was not chargeable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceechong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Accommodation: The room was clean with comfortable bed & pillow. Clean bathroom with no complaint about it.

The drawback was the location and dining service:
The breakfast area was pretty small with unfriendly service staff and limited food choice. The service level was totally different from the hotel reception staff (who nice & helpful).

Location: There is quite a distance between the hotel & main city. As far as shopping is concerned, the nearest shopping mall- Almada Forum building can be viewed opposite the hotel. However, it is not within walking distance. (taxi costs about 5.80 from hotel) The mall closed at midnight with plenty of taxi outside the mall. There is a big supermarket with wide variety of grocery at ground floor level. For apparel, i prefer to shop at Vasco Da Gama than Almada Forum.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FairyMantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly and attentive. The rooms were comfortable and clean as well. The overall design of the hotel was also very modern and sleek. It was fairly close to a lot of tourist places such as Cristo Rei and a lot of shopping districts in Lisboa. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MR_California_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

It's not the first time that i stayed in this hotel and i can say that the staff is always friendly, the hygiene conditions are always perfect, the bed it's very good as the pillows. Hotel's location it's really good for the price as well the comfort provided. I highly recommend it for executive and leisure purpose.

Room Tip: The first floor apartments are equal to the higher floors, therefore cheaper because the window will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank web_mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao C, Gerente geral at Mercure Lisboa Almada, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear web_mg ,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to learn that you are a repeated guest at our Hotel, please note that we've changed the name to Lisboa Almada Hotel due to our locsation just 20 minutes off Lisbon city centre from the south bank of the river Tagus. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Kind regards, Joao Costa-GM Details Hotels & Resorts (gm@detailshotels.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blade70
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

It was with trepidation that I ended up staying at this hotel – on paper it appeared inviting – new contemporary design, modern, clean and catering for the business end of the market.
However my concern was about the distance from Lisbon as this hotel is in the Almada district – which seemed a little much having to catch a tram/bus then a ferry just to get to Lisbon proper.
However this was soon forgotten as the journey to and from the hotel was actually pretty enjoyable in itself – the locals are so friendly, the trip especially across the harbour was quick and regular and the view enjoyable – but you do have to factor this into your decision if staying here
The hotel itself couldn’t be faulted the staff were near on perfect, friendly helpful and very obliging, the rooms comfortable, spacious and tastefully designed,, the superior rooms especially had refreshments available 24/7, and Wi-Fi was included in the price. All in all a great stay in a wonderful, warm and inviting city.

Room Tip: If possible try and secure the superior / vip rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blade70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almada
4.6 mi away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#82 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
#1 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.6 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#105 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras
5.2 mi away
Evidencia Belverde Atitude Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lisboa Almada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lisboa Almada

Property: Mercure Lisboa Almada
Address: Rua Abel Salazar 9 | Pragal, Almada 2805-313, Portugal (Formerly Lisboa Almada Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Almada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Almada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lisboa Almada 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Mercure Lisboa Almada is situated just a short drive from Costa da Caparica's beaches and 1.4 km from the iconic Cristo Rei Statue. It offers modern rooms with a picturesque view of Almada. The tastefully-decorated rooms at the Mercure Lisboa Almada have an LCD TV with cable channels, a work desk and air conditioning. Free WiFi is provided throughout the hotel. Free indoor parking is available for the hotel's guests. The hotel was inaugurated in 2010 and was the 1st 4-star hotel in Almada. The hotel offers a restaurant serving international dishes inspired by the Portuguese gastronomy, and a new lounge concept with a variety of freshly prepared juices, teas and flavoured waters, as well as refreshing mocktails and other non-alcoholic drinks. Lisbon's popular historic centre is 9 km away, featuring iconic areas like Chiado, Rossio and Bairro Alto. The hotel is 3.7 km from the Forum Almada shopping centre. Mercure Lisboa Almada is only a few steps from Almada's centre. It is also near the A2 highway and the ferry, railroad and light rail stations. Lisbon International Airport is 17 km from the Mercure Lisboa Almada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lisboa Almada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing