We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Chacho Grill

Don Chacho Grill
Cuisines: Central American, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: I could not find any reviews for any restaurants at Coronado Beach Panama, This area has many restaurants and more being built as the area is growing. This is also a tourist area and Coronado Beach is on the travel forum. I could not right an address as I could not find one but it is on the main road going into Coronado Beach. Thanks
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I had the whole chicken it was very dry like it was cooked hours ago, Diane had fish it was ok we each had a glass of house wine and it was the most expensive meal we have had in Panama not a great choice see my other reviews for better choices

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    44
    37
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and setting in Coronado”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The restaurant has an outside grill with tables next to it, it is on the road into Coronado, but walking distance from the shopping centers, a bit more expensive than some but good local food

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoLikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the food was cold over priced and awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were very disappointed with this place.Way over priced ,a shrimp dinner only gave you four small shrimp for $16. plus tips and drinks...very slow and it was not busy...we would never go back

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank windwavegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dont beLIEve the HYPE!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had intended to get their "famous" chicken, which we've had before and is usually very good and very reasonably priced, but they were OUT of it, so my son ordered pork chops, but they were out of those, too, so he ordered a bacon cheeseburger (which was quite a let down for him when (as he explained) he "had his taste buds all set" to enjoy their chicken!

My other son also ordered a burger as well, and specifically asked for them to NOT toast his bun, but they did anyway (my sons speak very good Spanish after three years of school here, so it was NOT a language barrier issue!)

The reality is that this place is just average, but some of the prices are FIVE STAR. For example, since I ALSO couldn't get the chicken for which we'd come, I ordered the pork ribs, which were very meaty, but no where near as flavorful as one would expect meat grilled on an open fire to be. I was charged $28.00, but having eaten at another BBQ place in town, I knew this was very high as the other place only charges $18.00 (although they DO give you two less bones!)

For said $28.00, I got the ribs, period. I had to pay extra for the baked potato, which would have been fine IF I'd actually got a POTATO, but instead, they brought me two tiny "buds" wrapped in foil (seriously, they were about one inch by 1 1/2 inches!), and these were brought out along with my son's orders, which they had completely finished eating BEFORE my ribs finally showed up! I sat there eating by myself as my sons became agitated from boredom.

The service was very slow and the waitress was very inattentive, despite the fact there were only a few other tables occupied in the whole place.

All in all, a nice place to visit, but I wouldn't want to eat there ALL the time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dtdillon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good bbq chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very good chicken. My wife likes the white meat and she liked I had the dark meat and I would have preferred cooked longer. The service is fine, prices are ok. The staff only speak Spanish but they are friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VanGaroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Chacho Grill also viewed

Playa Coronado, Cocle Province
Playa Coronado, Cocle Province
 
Playa Coronado, Cocle Province
 
Playa Coronado, Cocle Province
Playa Coronado, Cocle Province
 

Been to Don Chacho Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing