We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the cheapest Christmas golf vacation possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Coronado
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,495 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,663 helpful votes
“Still the cheapest Christmas golf vacation possible”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have continued to travel to Coronado with our children and now their children as well, at least once a year since my previous review in 2007. Now we have been there 17 times over a 14+ year stretch. We already have our air tickets and 18th Coronado reservation for Christmas, 2012. There have been steady, but slow, physical improvements to the hotel and grounds. More guestrooms (really, 1 and 2 bedroom suites) were being built when we were last there in December, 2011. However, be advised that the room prices have gone up quite a bit. Despite this, however, the cost overall is still quite low compared to Caribbean or Florida golf vacations at this time of year, and the weather is much more predictable--sunny and 85F degrees with possibly a short shower, but no hurricanes. Improvements have been made at the beach club. The menu has expanded both at the beach and in the main hotel restaurants, and the kitchen and serving personnel are more experienced now. Many restaurant servers have been there since the hotel was built about 20 years ago. The spa beauticians likewise are more skilled now and the services are more professional. Security is not an issue as the hotel is double gated so we pretty much give our young grandsons the run of the place. All the workers--even the housekeeping staff and groundskeepers-- know them by name since both of them have been returning annually since each was "in utero". The golf course is never busy, except as you get closer to New Year's Eve, and dries out pretty quickly after a shower. I still recommend this place, especially for a 3 generation vacation where at least some folks in the group enjoy golf, but it's just not as inexpensive compared with other golf vacations, as it was when we began coming here in the 1990's. Just enjoy the slow pace of life of Panama and don't expect immediate results for any request you may make. My wife always tells me that I have a "Type A" personality...except when our plane touches down in Panama City, when your entire demeanor and metabolism will slow down by at least 50%. You just can't help it, and isn't this a big part of what a vacation is supposed to be? Hint: We find Copa (non-stop) to have far cheaper Business Class air tickets from JFK or Wash., DC than United (from EWR) or Delta (change planes in ATL). Another hint: you don't need to rent a car. The hotel will send a driver to pick you up at the airport (for a fee); and in the evening the hotel will provide complimentary taxi service off the hotel grounds to the several restaurants off the Pan American Highway, if you feel like eating out.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LWL3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    82
    65
    24
    21
See reviews for
154
123
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Yes, they are undergoing renovation and the spa and formal dining room were closed but the guest rooms are very nice, small fridge, flat screen tv, free wireless internet. A little noisy in the day time but you can take the shuttle to the beach club and swim in the shade or walk down to the beach area. Food & beverages available, tons of seashells on the beach. It's a little way from the local restaurants but taxis are available. If you have a car you must visit El Valle de Anton, in the mountains & 45 min from the hotel. Casa de Lourdes restaurant is an oasis, the best scallops ever. You can hike to the waterfalls in the National Park, visit the Orchid Farm and view the petroglyphs. Oh, and of course, at the hotel, there is always golf.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor which is actually road level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryndaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The photos of this hotel do not do it justice. They are undergoing renovation but this did not really effect our stay. The rooms are large and very modern; the pool area is large and well maintained; there is a nice playground as well as ping pong table near the pool; the golf course was well maintained and fun to play and the spa was gorgeous. We did have a bit of a chalenge getting our servibars unlocked and the restaurant staff was not very attentive but not to the point of ruining our vacation.

The beach club was an easy five minute ride on a shuttle and was a great place to spend the day. The food here was excellent and the prices very reasonable.

I would suggest you have a car so that you can explore the araa and get out and have dinner or lunch away from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granadagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Nice big swimming pool, very spacious. The rooms and beds are huge and very tidy. We had some trouble finding the place as you have to pass a gate to get to the resort and we thought it was a private area. Breakfast is very good too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nedely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of Coronado beach community and has a concurred golf course. The hotel as well as access roads are undergoing construction. Staff makes you feel welcome the moment you step in. The hotel is not beach side but offers complimentary transportation to a beach club which is only a 5 minute ride. Rooms are comfortable and ample but can be quite noisy with construction going on. Not many dining alternatives in the hotel itself but if you have a car, there are several options nearby. Food in the hotel is not bad, we had daily breakfast, both a la carte and buffet, and had lunch and snacks in the pool and beach club area. Renovation was in need and I would think it should include room furnishings. Yet, for the price value comparison, I would say this is a good choice in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kike69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Loved the area, but as others said you need a car and there is nothing here other than horses, beach, and golf. The staff is great the food is good and the beach is fun.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiesnyder_157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Quality of this resort is good but you are very much a captive audience. Very few facilities close by. You definitely need a car to access other parts of Panama. Beach is a 10 minute buggy ride away. If you're a golf fanatic ...no problems. WiFi reception variable in rooms. Food at restaurants excellent and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Whilst I was there, there was building work going on. You need to ask about this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Coronado
15.9 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
22.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
0.0 mi away
Express Inn Coronado Hotel & Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Manglar Lodge
Manglar Lodge
#1 of 2 in San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
20.5 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
22.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort

Property: BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
Address: Ave Punta Prieta | Chame Dist, Playa Coronado 4381, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > Playa Coronado
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BlueBay Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Golf & Beach Hotel Playa Coronado
Coronado Golf And Beach Resort
Coronado Hotel Beach
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort Panama/Playa Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing