We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ryokan with very attentive service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Honkan
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels / Ryokan in Toyooka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We wanted to stay at a higher-end ryokan and picked Nishimuraya Honkan because of its reputation online and travel materials we read had great things to say about the ryokan. We stayed one night and ordered the seasonal kaiseki dinner + breakfast. We weren't disappointed!

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a staff member who spoke English very well. He provided a very helpful explanation of the room, how to wear a yutaka, our bath house passes, customs, etc. All-in-all his explanations were invaluable to us (two relatively clueless tourists about to experience our first onsen experience).

Upon checking into our room, we were wow'd by the size of the unit and view. There was an amazing garden view from the main room which also had an adjoining tea room/solarium overlooking the a cool waterfall in the garden. There was a bathroom en suite -- nice to not have to share with others at this price range.

Location: the hotel is located at what appears to be towards the end of the main strip. There really is only two main arteries in Kinosaki Onsen so it's pretty hard to get lost. Once we got off the train, a tourist information staff person immediately knew we were tourists and offered to help us... all in English, so smooth sailing from there!

Facilities: the ryokan has two onsite bathing areas -- not sure if they are the same onsen or separate ones. Technicalities aside, the two bathing areas are designated either male or female and then switched up later so the guests have an opportunity to try both. There's an onsite museum with very very cool artifacts and historical pieces. Apparently, there's history behind the ryokan... we hear it's over a hundred years old and survived a major earthquake that wiped out most of Kinosaki Onsen. There's a spa at a sister property. We didn't get a chance to check out the sister property but it looked pretty enticing from the marketing brochures.

Service: very thoughtful service. They provide everything you need to start your onsen experience, including a pass, yutakas, wooden slippers, two towels (large and small), socks, etc. Just show up and start onsen hopping. The staff was super friendly as well.

Kaiseki dinner: really awesome minus the sashimi. They set up dinner in your room -- lovely experience having dinner brought to you. I have a sea crab allergy (imagine that visiting Kinosaki) but the staff was very accommodating... no allergies the next day! The courses were very well done, everything from the steamed fish, appetizers, apertif etc. Flavors came together well, great presentation, all-in-all every thing was great. The sashimi (raw platter) was "ok" (caveat, we're foodies, so our standards may be a bit picky). My partner also found a friendly critter in her sushi garnish. We brought this to the server's attention. They immediately gave us a replacement platter and the manager provided a free beverage voucher for the lobby bar. We also felt a bit rushed throughout the whole thing ... the courses rolled out quickly and I felt like we were barely keeping up.

Bed: We slept great! Who would've thought Japanese futons could be so comfortable. They set up the futons after clearing out the room we had dinner in.

Breakfast: wonderful, no complaints. Ours was Japanese style, though I believe there's a western option as well. Again, they bring breakfast right to your room.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the garden. If not, ask for one. The garden-view room we had was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinosakiNishimuraya, Manager at Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Honkan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Lillian W.
Thank you so much for staying with us in Kinosaki Onsen and for your very generous comments and feedback. Our staff was very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We also passed on your words of praise to the staff who checked you in and explained everything. We are constantly working to improve our staff's English abilities, and although we are not all fluent speakers we continue to work hard to improve day-by-day. Your very kind comments really inspire us to strive even harder.

Please let us apologize once again for the trouble you encountered with the sashimi. We were happy to hear it did not spoil your dinner experience. If you have any specific advice or feedback for us regarding the selection of sashimi and tastes (for example, what didn't go well or what might have been better) feel free to let us know via the contact form on our web site. We are always grateful for guest feedback!

Let us also apologize for any sense of rush you felt during the dinner. We really want guests to feel relaxed and at ease while staying with us. Kaiseki dinners have many courses so by nature they take a while to serve, and it can be a fine balance at times to make sure guests have enough time for each course while also ensuring dinner does not take too long to serve so there will be adequate time left to digest everything and then enjoy the night life in Kinosaki afterwards :)

Once again, thank you very much for staying with us and for your wonderful feedback. We hope to be welcoming you back to Kinosaki Onsen again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Traveled with 2 of my friends , we love it so much since my friends are both non Japanese speaker, they know nothing about Japanese culture about food and onsen. there was only one word - "Astonishing" to describe the Kaiseki dinner and the best hospitality ( staff even dropped a note to wish guests a good sleep in handwriting after finish preparing the tatami bed ) from the hotel staff. Another good thing is everyone stay in the hotel are so disciplined, quiet , everyone in the Ryokan just relaxed and enjoyed their best stay in the hotel area. The yuukata is another highlight , wearing it walk in Kinosaki Onsen street is something fun . Highly recommend Nishimuraya Honkan to everyone who plan the trip to Kinosaki.

Room Tip: Room with Japanese Garden is nice , can wear yuukata to take picture , enjoy the sunshine , wind and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinosakiNishimuraya, Manager at Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Honkan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Patt W,
Thank you very much for your wonderfully kind comments. Your praise and feedback will inspire us as we work to improve our services and facilities as we strive to be the best onsen ryokan in the world. We hope to welcome you again for another relaxing stay in Kinosak Onsen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very good onsen resort, we are travel with little child with some food restriction, the ryokan prepare the meal suit my little child and very delicious. Our kasumi crab and tajima beef really delicious even when I back to Malaysia I still miss it! We have enjoy our in room onsen, but we do enjoy the famous 7 public onsen on kinosaki town, both are fun. I really have a good sleep during the night at a Kinosaki.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank eeleng911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Kinosaki is one of the famous onsen (hot spring) towns in Japan, located on the western Japan sea coast. Due to the mountains between Osaka/Kyoto and this area, it is not easy to get to, but there are direct trains from both cities. They will pick you up from the station, but you can also eaily walk (<10min). It is located close to the river. Within short walking distancess are several
public bath houses you can visit (you will find a free entrance pass in your room).
The Ryokan is considered the top one in Kinosaki, with nice Tatami-rooms, excellent food and is used to cater to foreign tourists. Thus you will find all information also in English and there is WIFI (and a workstation in the lobby) available. The public ofuro (bath) is a bit on the small side, especially the outside one. If you want to splurge book a room with its own hot bath.

Room Tip: Hatsune-no-Ma is one of the best, but comes at a price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I was getting lazy about writing reviews of Japan, until I received the email I have pasted below. It says it all! Kinosakionsen is a great town, the onsens are to be experienced, but it is the stay at this hotel that will absolutely make it! It is one of those experiences in life you won't forget. If you think it is a bit outside your budget - re-budget! It is absolutely worth it! The Japanese are a wonderful people, and my stay at this hotel really sums up Japan for me.

Email I received today about my stay from a few months ago (I had no idea I had paid twice!):

Dear <name omitted>,

This is <name omitted> with Nishimuraya Honkan in Kinosaki Onsen, Japan.
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us on <date omitted>.
I understand you were delayed one day from your original schedule due to a typhoon. We are happy you were able to adjust your schedule and stay with us on the 17th.

Regarding the processing of your bill, we noticed there was an error that we wanted to inform you about. You made your original booking via the Internet (our site) and we have a record that you paid by credit card at that time. Due to the change in your arrival, your booking record was changed and it seems there was confusion on our side and at checkout you paid your bill by a Visa credit card. This means you were charged twice for your stay. We are very sorry that this happened and we offer our sincerest apologies and regrets.

...

We humbly await your reply.

With best regards and sincerest apologies,

<name omitted>
Nishimuraya Honkan

Room Tip: Just fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFlyer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinosakiNishimuraya, Manager at Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Honkan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear FrequentFlyer67,
Thank you very much for your generous comments, and once again we sincerely apologize for any trouble caused by our mistake. We were happy that the processing of the refund met with your satisfaction. Your kind words are very much appreciated and we are humbled by your graciousness. We will use this mistake as a chance to learn and improve, and we will continue to strive to provide the very best service for our guests from all over the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

From start to finish, an adventure in service and attention. We in the West do not have people worry about where are shoes are or whether they are pointed in the right direction. But the bliss comes from the "onsen" hot spring and the ryokan's lay-out. We were fortunate to have our own outdoor bath which added a romantic touch. The food too is an adventure but they were considerate of personal preference and issues. The young girl, Yuu, who was assigned to our room was charming,sweet but focused. Terrific service. We did walk the streets in our traditional dress (Yakuta?) to check out bath houses and smiled as we passed many who were on the same adventure.

But it did not end on check-out. Inclement weather forced a train cancellation to the area for the day. On returning from the train station in a panic since our schedule had committed segments later,Mrs. Reuiko Ukita, the manager, swiftly arranged a taxi to allow us to skip a town or two, and re-connect to the original agenda.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakeKGeorgeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This ryokan is a unique experience. It is beautiful, with a wonderful garden which can be admired from most (all ?) rooms. The kaiseki meals are among the most impressive meals I ever experienced (and I have a long experience, including many high level restaurants). It reaches a level of sophistication and variety that you hardly can imagine. And the service you get in your room is something that can only be experienced in Japan and is at its best at Nishimuraya (we stayed during a peak season week but the personnel took time for everything in spite of their high workload).
The baths are very interesting.
The service ate reception was not only professional, but friendly as well.
We felt very relaxed in spite of our lack of experience with Japanese habits.
This place is a must. But don't tell too many people since we want to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toyooka hotels
Kinosaki Onsen
Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Hotel Shogetsutei
Kinosaki Onsen
Kinosaki Onsen Onishiya Suishoen
Kinosaki Onsen
Kawaguchiya Riverside Hotel
Kawaguchiya Riverside Hotel
#11 of 129 in Toyooka
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kinosaki Onsen
Mikuniya Ryokan
Mikuniya Ryokan
#3 of 129 in Toyooka
87 reviews
Hotel Kinparo
#9 of 129 in Toyooka
86 reviews
Kinosaki Onsen
Tsukimotoya Ryokan
Tsukimotoya Ryokan
#15 of 129 in Toyooka
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Honkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Honkan

Address: 469 Kinosakicho Yushima, Toyooka 669-6101, Hyogo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Toyooka > Kinosaki Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Toyooka
Price Range: £545 - £1,057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Honkan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nishimuraya Honkan is a traditional Japanese ryokan, located in the famouse hot spring town of Kinosaki Onsen, near Kyoto/Osaka. Our ryokan has more than 150 years of history and was selected as "best onsen ryokan" in Japan by Lonely Planet and is also listed in the Michelin Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Ikyu Corporation, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Honkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nishimuraya Honkan Hotel Toyooka
Kinosaki Onsen Nishimuraya Honkan Japan/Toyooka, Hyogo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing