We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Awaji Island Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels / Ryokan in Awaji
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“We slept well”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed 1 night during our western Japanese tour.This is first stay around yume butai Awai designed
by Ando Tadao.Hotel is well maitained and has good staffe.We enjoyed much.
We would like to come back and stay longer.

Room Tip: ocean view or partial is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takezofig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    201
    49
    11
    9
See reviews for
227
111
27
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Hotel was selected by my relatives for its calm elegance and proximity to the Tadao Ando flower park. It is as good or better than other Westin properties. Nice Japanese touches: complimentary toothbrushes, razors, hairbrushes, slippers and spotless pajamas. The shower/tub was also Japanese standard and Ofuro style. Nice selection of teas and coffees and free bottled water. Clearly there are video cameras in the hallways because as we struggled to use the key cards, it took less than two minutes for a staff person to materialize from nowhere to help us. That's service! We had adjoining rooms on the "executive" floor, which was also blissfully quiet. No kids in our group.

The rooms are spare in their decoration, but large and modern, adding to the overall meditative feeling of our stay. Beds were comfortable, but I'm not sure they were the same "Heavenly" beds as in the US. The views were simply lovely though we were a couple of weeks early for the changing of the momiji (Japanese maples). The included breakfast buffet had plentiful japanese and western choices. I would definitely stay there again if I had a reason to be in Awajishima although in the absence of family who drove us, I don't think I would make a side trip from Osaka for this.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFTraveler070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel and neighboring Yumebutai Conference centre were designed by the famous architect Tadao Ando. http://www.yumebutai.org/english/yumebutai/yumebutai.html

There are some great areas to walk with beautiful gardens and architecture that I highly recommend.

Large room had a great view and great service

Cons:
1. location is a pain. If you drive you have to pay about a $25-30 dollar toll from Kobe or Osaka each way.
2. The pool is an extra 3000yen (38 dollars per person) I think they should warn foreign guests about this custom on their website more clearly. It is an unreasonable charge by international standards and it leaves a guest feeling like they are trying to cheat you somehow. They should include the fees in the room fee.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The Westin is part of a large complex with conference center and flower park, build by star architect Tadao Ando as a stimulus for the area after the 1995 earthquake. It also served as the base of the british soccer team during the 2022 World cup and is still proudly displaying jerseys with David Beckham's signiture.
Rooms, service, cleanliness, etc. are all top standard, but as other people noted, the hotel is best reached car and there are limited options for dining.
When we were there, the pool area was taken over by a dozen noisy kids from the kids club, as was the restaurant at lunch. So we did not really see it as a 'quiet romantic' destination, but as we brought our own kids (not as noisy) that was fine.
However, only the 'executive' floors have connecting rooms that can accomodate a family easily (luckily we got upgraded) and using the pool was another Y 10,000 ($ 125) for a family of four. So better check ahead about what is included in your package. But as we got a very good deal of about Y 10,000 per room and upgrade, I cannot complain and still give 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I agree with the reviews that describe the hotel as cold and isolated. Do not underestimate the difficulty you may encounter in traveling to the hotel. The hotel is at least half a day's trip from major airports like Kansai or Osaka, and is on an island that is served by public transportation only during the daytime. There is very little in the way of tourist activities on the island, and even Osaka bay cannot really be accessed. Most (all?) rooms have a nice view of Osaka bay. The Japanese restaurant on-site is average. Hotel staff are not particularly helpful (don't bother asking to check in even a minute early). Rooms are huge by Japanese standards, and are typical of a Westin in North America.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKD_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The hotel is extremely well kept and clean. If you are used to European or, in general, western style hotels, this might be a little bit cold as far as the appearance, but this is the architect's style (Tadao Ando).
The overall structure is very nice, with tidy gardens where you can stroll or go jogging. There is a nice (extra payment required) pool and 3 or 4 restaurants.
The rooms where rather spacious and the view was great.

The only cons i see is the lack of good connections to nearby cities, given you can reach them by bus or taxi only (or a combination of taxi and bus). Mind that buses that take you to Kyoto can get to the hotel full, so that you will have to get a taxi or wait for next available bus (one every hour).
Reaching the hotel from the international airport take about 3 hours by standard transportation.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canbagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Just back from a nice stay here. It's a self-contained complex which seems a world away from the buzz of the Kobe-Osaka megalopolis across the bay. Fascinating architecture and a beautifully maintained park; open green spaces for all and an enclosed children's park you can enter for a small fee make it a great place for families. Especially as they were both largely empty when we were there. The hotel itself has a couple of nice restaurants, couldn't get a table at the fancy European one that abuts the buffet dinner place so had to settle for the Japanese one upstairs. High quality dinner and good service, which was a feature throughout our stay. If they are too expensive there's a choice of about half a dozen others in the complex that's connected to the hotel. Internet cable in the room and free connection. 7th floor was the nominated 'non-smoking floor'. Parking in the underground car park was free. The room-service breakfast was pretty poor, though it was nice to sit eating it in the bright airy room looking out through the patio windows at nothing more than the park and the sea. We went there looking for a get-away-from-it-all-weekend and it delivers that, and in those terms it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Partickboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awaji
Maiko Villa Kobe
#18 of 117 in Kobe
347 reviews
Sumoto Onsen
Umi No Hotel Shimahana
Umi No Hotel Shimahana
#4 of 23 in Sumoto
78 reviews
Sumoto Onsen
Awajishima Kanko Hotel
Awajishima Kanko Hotel
#7 of 23 in Sumoto
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TOTO Seawind Awaji
#2 of 12 in Awaji
30 reviews
Tankaiso
#8 of 12 in Awaji
5 reviews
Sumoto Onsen
Yumekaiyu Awajishima
Yumekaiyu Awajishima
#6 of 23 in Sumoto
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Awaji Island Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Awaji Island Resort & Conference Center

Property: The Westin Awaji Island Resort & Conference Center
Address: 2 Yumebutai, Awaji 656-2301, Hyogo Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Hyogo Prefecture > Awaji
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels / Ryokan in Awaji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Awaji Island Resort & Conference Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Awaji Island Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Awaji Island Hotel
Westin Awaji Island Resort
Westin Kobe
Awaji Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing