We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are not Japanese, skip this museum”

Chiran Peace Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Johnsburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you are not Japanese, skip this museum”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was really looking forward to this museum but was very disappointed to find out that nothing is in any language but Japanese so it was impossible to understand what I was looking at. Walking through the museum, I could feel the resentment from the Japanese tourists. It is obviously a very solemn place designed for only the Japanese. I was very sorry that I went and intruded on their contemplation. I do not recommend this site for anyone but the Japanese.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank PattiM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    127
    35
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort to get here”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Although Chiran is an hour and twenty minutes from Kagoshima by bus it's well worth the effort to get here. Chiran is a beautiful town and as well as this museum we enjoyed visiting the Samurai Gardens. The museum and grounds are very extensive - the long driveway is lined with cherry trees especially beautiful in spring time.This museum gives a fascinating insight into the thoughts of the kamikaze pilots as they prepared for their final flight and it was very moving. Ideally, we would have liked more information about the impact and effectiveness of their actions in the wider context of World War Two - for example how successful were they ? Although the information is largely in Japanese there is an English Audio Guide which is very useful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HattieWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Moving memorial”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Leave any preconceived notions about the madness of the Kamikaze pilots you may have grown up with - this memorial will leave you much saddened. The pilots were young men sacrificing themselves for their country and it was thought provoking to see the other side and the Japanese view of patriotism. There is little English translation inside but you can follow enough to understand. If I could have read all the letters and notes to parents and loved ones I think it would have been too overwhelming. An impressive collection including a number of planes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank bwindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of History”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This museum had a lot of artifacts and history of this memorable time in Japan history. It was very sad to learn how young these kamikaze pilots were and what sacrifice they each did for their country. They were really brave warriors knowing that they were off to fight and not return home.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
719 reviews
271 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Chiran peace museum”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Chiran Peace Museum – sits on the site of an old Japanese airbase. Many artifacts, photos, documents, equipment are on display. Many sakura trees (hundreds) lining the driveway were in full bloom so it was a pretty site (3/2014).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DYA717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiran Peace Museum also viewed

Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
Minamikyushu, Kagoshima Prefecture
 
Minamikyushu, Kagoshima Prefecture
Kagoshima, Kagoshima Prefecture
 

Been to Chiran Peace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing