We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ”

the Harrow at little bedwyn
Reserve with OpenTable
the Harrow at little bedwyn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$175
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Michelin Star Restaurant in the Wiltshire countryside offering one of the most awarded Wine Lists in the UK. Sourcing bespoke artisan food from throughout the United Kingdom.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a night!

The whole experience was incredible from start to finish.

My wife was pregnant but this wasn’t an issue as the chefs geared the menu to her tastes and what she could or couldn’t eat.

I decided to go the full hog and have the Coravin wine. That was an experience just itself! It’s so nice to be told a brief history of the wine you are drinking and the quality was exceptional. Such a treat.

The food - beautiful, indulgent, moorish, classically modern. Look at the pictures

Great memorabilia in the toilets. Art and carafe’ for sale. All of which make for enjoyable surroundings.

Creme de la creme. The chef and owner is Welsh! Bonus.

Would love to come back again sometime. Thank you.

Thank GRD1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger J, Owner at the Harrow at little bedwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your rave review - hopefully the wife will let me put a few more memorabilia up in the gents now !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We often find ourselves looking for hidden treasures in and around West Berkshire, and this is certainly one - just on the outskirts of Hungerford. And my, what a hidden treasure it is. We opted for the 8 course tasting menu with wines. The food was quite simply exceptional. Not too much, and certainly not too little either. A well balanced and thoughtful offering with some exceptional coravin wines too. The Harrow is certainly not the cheapest - but cheap isn't the point. It is quite simply exceptional quality. Quality is the point. The service at times could have improved but I understood the owners to be away and so the staff genuinely did their very best. The food remained truly excellent. This was one of the best meal experiences I have ever had. I have dined across the world; Monaco, Las Vegas - even The Savoy in London - The Harrow is hands-down far better than anything I have experienced before. We will be back !

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger J, Owner at the Harrow at little bedwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Scott for your in depth and very kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed our experience, kindest regards Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second visit to The Harrow this year, and this time we took some old enthusiastic food-loving friends. We had a wonderful evening, working our way through the 8-course menu, with accompanying wines. From the teasingly interesting amuse bouche, through scallops, deep fried lobster and Pembrokeshire lamb, to the featherlight souflee sweet, this was a triumph of the chef's art. Sue and her very knowledgeable and friendly staff took us through the courses, and their wines with style. Memorable!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger J, Owner at the Harrow at little bedwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your fabulous review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

A really fab meal to celebrate our anniversary. Each of the 8 courses was flawless, scrumptious and beautiful. Wine list is impressive with a good selection of wines by the glass all of which were in perfect condition. Service was friendly and attentive. Couldn’t recommend more highly

Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger J, Owner at the Harrow at little bedwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you Gary for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

This is the 2nd time we've taken advantage of a Travelzoo offer for The Harrow and it won't be the last! The first time we went for lunch and the food & service was fantastic but my husband was driving so we couldn't take advantage of the extensive wine list.
We decided to book an AirBnB place nearby so we could enjoy both the food and wine this time and opted to go for dinner rather than lunch.
Our server was new and obviously nervous but did a fine job - once again nothing was too much trouble! Every dish on the taster menu was divine (our only criticism of the entire evening was the monkfish portion was tiny but after 6 courses we were completely full and very happy so this was probably a good thing!)
We chose a fantastic bottle of Californian Chardonnay from the wine list...it was so good we order a 2nd one. We spent more on wine than the meal for two but it was sooooo worth it!
I plan to book again for my husband't Birthday in September and am already looking forward to it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MissSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger J, Owner at the Harrow at little bedwyn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you MissSouthsea
Delighted that you are becoming a regular and enjoying our wine list, we look forward to welcoming you back in September

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the Harrow at little bedwyn also viewed

 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Great Bedwyn, Marlborough
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to the Harrow at little bedwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing