We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too cheap to be good, but it is!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Castle Yamagata
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Yamagata
Reviewed 20 February 2013

For the price I have paid, this hotel is definitely a steal.
From JR Yamagata station, go toward tokamachi (not the direction of the Kajo park, the opposite).
Just walk straight, when you see Apa hotel, you are almost there. It is a big hotel, so there no way you can miss it.
By the way did I mention Big? Yes, it is a 5 star hotel (my standard as I usually go for business hotel which serve my basic purpose-sleep)
Maybe it was not the peak season, winter now, Feb2013. Thus I paid only 3500¥ for a single room.
Anyway, definitely worth every single yen.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleyamagata, 支配人 at Hotel Castle Yamagata, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

Dear bakatori san,

Warm greetings from Yamagata!

On behalf of the management team in Hotel Castle Yamagata, I sincerely apologize that we had not reply to you on this site for a long long time despite you uploaded good comments for us.
I learned that you were traveled around Northern part of Japan those days in 2013. I believe that you discovered old-fashioned and natural beauty of the country while your long way journey thru Japan. I hope you will be back to Yamagata and stay with us again, one day in the future.
Thank you very much for your comments on this site, we look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Castle at your next time visiting Japan.

With best regards,
Taka Sekine – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank メロンメロン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank norioshishido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank eggfurikake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank じょーんず
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank greenfly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank dvogeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamagata hotels
Yamagata Station
Richmond Hotel Yamagata-ekimae
Yamagata Station
Yamagata Kokusai Hotel
Yamagata Kokusai Hotel
#3 of 83 in Yamagata
134 reviews
Yamagata Station
Hotel Metropolitan Yamagata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamagata Station
Comfort Hotel Yamagata
Comfort Hotel Yamagata
#11 of 83 in Yamagata
85 reviews
Yamagata Station
Yamagata Grand Hotel
Yamagata Grand Hotel
#37 of 83 in Yamagata
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castle Yamagata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castle Yamagata

Address: 4-2-7 Tokamachi, Yamagata 990-0031, Yamagata Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Tohoku > Yamagata Prefecture > Yamagata > Yamagata Station
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels / Ryokan in Yamagata
Price Range: £32 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castle Yamagata 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Rakuten, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Castle Yamagata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing