We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
18
21
4
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
21
4
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We stayed in two ryokans during our trip to Japan and this was definitely the best. Amanohashidate is a peaceful beauty spot and this hotel was a lovely place to stay. It started with a warm welcome when our maid escorted us from reception to our room , where she knelt at the side of the table and prepared us a cup of green tea. It was a nice, big, bright room with a small sitting area and a view looking out over the bay. The hotel is attractively furnished and has a number of small sitting areas with interesting artwork and objets d'art to look at. The staff lay out your futons while you are at dinner and tidy them away when they service the room the next day. A yukata (traditional robe) is provided for each guest and most people choose to wear these for dinner and breakfast and for walking around the hotel. Dinner and breakfast were both set meals. There were a lot of small dishes and several courses and it seemed to be the equivalent of a Japanese banquet. We did our best to eat everything and if we seemed perplexed about what to put into the pot of boiling liquid which was set up on the table, the staff did their best to try and help us, even though nobody in the dining area could speak much English. An essential part of the experience are the sessions in the onsen (hot tub), one for male guests and one for females, and we had several long soaks to just relax, unwind and enjoy the novelty of it. We would very much recommend this hotel for a lovely Japanese experience.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here in a room with private onsen. Cost was jpy33, 000 not including breakfast and dinner. 5-10 min walk from trainstation. They also have a shuttlebus. Checkout at 10:00am.

Pros
- large room that have mostly (read below) been refurbished somewhat recently.
- friendly staff (no English)
- private onsen is wonderful, spend a lot more time in it than I would in a public bath.
- no smoking

Cons
- early checkout at 10:00
- close to road, hear cars when doors are open or in bath.
- some baffling decision when they refurbished the room

Other:
The rooms were fairly recently upgraded, however, they made some baffling decisions while doing so. These decisions give some (my wife) the first impression that the rooms are v dated (80ies, early 90ies) They spend 95% of the budget for a 50% result. For example, all tatami, walls, plaster, doors and wood beamed ceilings are new. So is the bathroom and airco's, toilet, lights. They, however, decided to keep the yellowed old switches and sockets, 80ies paper towel dispenser, chipped wooden furniture, old refrigerator and stained sliding cabinet doors. Exactly the things you notice when you first enter the room. They also have one of those huge electric massage chairs which is at least 15 years old and destroys the balance of the room. Get rid of the massage chair, fix those other things and room would be perfect.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joko888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Such a nice ryokan located in a seaside, smaller town to enjoy such a lovely experience. They do run a shuttle from the rail station but you can easily walk it in less than ten minutes on a paved road. We had a traditional japanese inn room with our own private hot spring pool which was so nice to enjoy at any time of day at our leisure. It felt so extra zen to enjoy without seeing other naked guests. LOL! We also had our own massage chair so nice. The food was amazing for dinner or breakfast. We stayed there for two nights.

Room tip: Get the private hot springs tub
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Where_to_travel_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The English language is not used at this hotel, in fact it is not used anywhere in the area. This only helped to make the place feel special. The hotel is an easy walk from the train station. We were shown our room and then had a tea ceremony performed before we could unpack or relax. It was delightful. Tradition Japanese wear is provided and is expected to be worn for meals. We did not have a clue what we were eating, put there was plenty of it. The waiting staff tried to be helpful in their descriptions of what was presented to us. One just needs to be brave. This place is a true Japanese experience.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ClevelandHarleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

This hotel has Japanese rooms, located at 5-8 minutes walk from the train station and overlooking the bay. We were met at the train station even without telling them the time we were arriving, actually didn't expect any transportation for pick up. Though they speak almost no English, they have been the most polite, kind and thoughtful people. This hotel has mostly Japanese guests maybe this is the reason for the lack of English. Though we all understood each other.
They were thoughtful - on our first breakfast, it was a Japanese meal(remember their guest are all Japanese). We tried it and my husband liked it. I am not a heavy breakfast eater and they thought I was displeased with my breakfast. The 2nd breakfast was western though we didn't asked for it. This extra service, I would give them a 5 star quality of service.
They have the Japanese public bath with 2 hot spring pools, men and women are separated. That was a great treat after the long walks of the day.
The room we had was a big Japanese room, it can accommodate 4 people, with refrigerator, a huge flat screen tv, a balcony overlooking the bay. When we came back after a long walk, our futons were laid on the floor. They had sweets prepared for us and all we had to do was pour hot water to our green tea. Cold drinking water was also provided.
The comfort of this hotel is highly recommended.
There is one thing, the hotel is a bit old, some wall papers were a bit torn and there was a smell of cigarette smoke in our room. We did ordered a non smoking room but after turning the aircon and opening the window the odour disappeared.
The hotel is located near the small town centre and the island that connects Fuku. You can rent a bicycle or just walk. The beach is just walking distance.
Strongly suggest to try the small family restaurants that are near the station. Even though they don't speak English the food is authentic and worth trying out!
On Sunday evening it is recommended to go out early for dinner, the town is empty at 7 pm.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CharetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews