We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Semi-modern Japanese Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yawaraginosato Yadoya
Ranked #2 of 141 Hotels / Ryokan in Yufu
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Semi-modern Japanese Inn”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here in end Nov'13. This hotel was highly recommended in tripadvisor with many good reviews and it was a more affordable semi-modern hotel in Yufuin. Room rate was 11800yen/person with japanese breakfast and steamboat dinner. Hotspring tax was 100yen/person. They have 3 indoor/outdoor private hotsrpings, 1 family hotspring and 2 indoor public hotspring. We were allowed to reserve to use 2 private onsens for the entire stay while the public hotspring can be used anytime for multiple times. And the hot springs were awesome.

Hotel was clean and huge and had 2 two-storey buildings with a garden and a hot srping foot bath. Its location is superb as it was very near to the shopping street and the lake though it was far from the station (slow stroll of 20-25mins). But it was not a boring walk with so many interesting shops to behold the eyes. Since its location was off the main street, it was very quiet at night.

The room with attached bath was clean, spacious by japanese standard and the beds were comfortable. Aircon was individually controlled with a heater provided. Only problem was the heater gave out a kerosene odour when turned on. Amenities were sufficient and can be obtained at the front desk.

The dinner and breakfast were good and tasty and there was plenty to eat.

Overall, a highly recommended value for money hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joyful08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    35
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our (western style) room was fine, comfortable beds, good bathroom and very clean. We enjoyed the private baths which we could book twice daily during our stay (morning and afternoon/evening). Food (breakfast and dinner) was good, however we have had better food in other ryokans/hotels in the area. A bit on the expensive side for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SjoerdVXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Yadoya is great value especially given the prices of many of the other ryokans in this very cute spa town. It is a short walk from the main street and the lake although we chose to get a taxi from the train station when we arrived and left. We chose not to eat there but breakfast and dinner are available. It was wonderful to have a choice of four private onsens (which are available on site to book in 50 minute time slots). So convenient to be able to put on our yukatas and slippers and just walk downstairs rather than have to go around town to find a public onsen to use. And because these are private onsens my husband and i were able to go together rather than separately as we would have to at most public onsens. The room was very comfortable and quite spacious. I would highly recommend Yadoya.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacificwoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I chose this hotel because of many positive feedback in this website and I am totally pleased with my stay here for one night. Hotel is very nice, clean. All staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is quite fine, just a bit walk to walking street, and by taxi to train station. Room is big, and comfortable. The special thing for this hotel is 3 private outdoor on-sens which you can reserve vacant slot at the front desk. Each on-sen is unique and has its own character. I would really love to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitlimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were greeted enthusiastically by Naoko-san who spoke good English. It was like a pre-planned welcome party to receive us warmly for our stay here.

The different private Onsen were very enjoyable. Each with a indoor and outdoor hot spring at 41 degrees. Perfect setting for our daily soak.

The room we had was unusually huge and it came as a big bonus to us. It was well equipped even with a shower and the toilets were designed to be elderly friendly. Hence it was not a surprise as we came across many other guest, some of whom were wheelchair bound but moving around with ease at this Ryokan.

Located close to the shopping street and the Lake, it made for good walking, shopping and chilling out at the great sceneries.

Our dinner was a wonderfully prepared beef shabu shabu which was really sumptuous.

Would recommend this place to anyone visiting Yufuin for a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BertSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was a nice hotel that was conveniently located close to the main shopping street as well as the beautiful Kirin-ko in Yufuin. My recommendation is to come in Autumn when the leaves turn bright red and yellow.

I liked this hotel for the following reasons:
1. large family rooms with both twin beds and tatami that could accommodate our family of 5
2. private onsen that can be booked and enjoyed as a family
3. close proximity to shopping area and sights and yet quiet enough

My only regret was that we did not book our package with dinner/breakfast so I could not comment on the meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaywai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed here for 2 days looking for a lower priced Ryokan. I found the service quite friendly and the staff had enough English to communicate the basics.

One of the reasons I picked this hotel was because of the relatively low price of 25000 yen for two people per night, including dinner and breakfast. Dinner was in the restaurant next door, and it was quite good. My first night was shabu-shabu and the second night was yakiniku. In both cases we had plenty of food and some pretty high quality ingredients. It consisted of a few appetizers, a large plate of beef and some fresh assorted vegetables. We also got dessert that was an excellent sorbet.

One of the main pluses for this hotel was for foreigners who are uncomfortable bathing in the nude with strangers. You can reserve one of the their three outdoor hot springs for 1 hour time slots. They initially offered me one time slot per day, but it is free to reserve a second one. There baths are excellent, views of the mountains and a little garden around the hot spring pool. They are all nice, but the one at the far end was the nicest hot spring, which we visited twice in our stay.

The room itself was fine, with a very comfortable duvet and bed.

If you are not interested in the private outdoor baths, I would remove one star. If you don't plan on eating here for dinner either I would remove another star. I would definitely stay here again to enjoy the dinner and private hot springs.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank aregma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yufu hotels
Yufuin Onsen
Yufuin Hanayoshi
Yufuin Hanayoshi
#7 of 141 in Yufu
110 reviews
Yunohira Onsen
Yamashiroya
Yamashiroya
#1 of 141 in Yufu
155 reviews
Yufuin Station
Yufuin Gettouan
Yufuin Gettouan
#5 of 141 in Yufu
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yunohira Onsen
Shimizu Ryokan
Shimizu Ryokan
#4 of 141 in Yufu
95 reviews
Yufuin Onsen
Baien
Baien
#18 of 141 in Yufu
80 reviews
Yufuin Station
Yufunogo Saigakukan
Yufunogo Saigakukan
#13 of 141 in Yufu
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yawaraginosato Yadoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yawaraginosato Yadoya

Property: Yawaraginosato Yadoya
Address: 2717-5 Yufuincho Kawakami, Yufu 879-5102, Oita Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Yufu > Yufuin Station , Yufuin Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 141 Hotels / Ryokan in Yufu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yawaraginosato Yadoya 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Yawaraginosato Yadoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing