We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
166
13
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
13
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local train taking care lock the door awesome experience driving down ryokan stay open air train station small ryokan prawns japanese culture recommend this place delicious food both dinner and breakfast outdoor onsen hosts english
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Loved every minute here. Relaxing hot springs and clean shower. The multi course dinner was delicious and we were all full after. The best part for us was the really friendly wonderful staff. They were really passionate and were really trying to make our experience a memorable one. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Zach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

I’m been many onsen hotels in Japan. This hotel is one of the best environment to stay. Hotel is situated in the halfway of the mountain. If you drive from Yufuin station, it takes about 25 minutes. There’s a free parking offer just next to hotel. When we arrived hotel, we greeted by friendly owner. They helped us to move the luggages to rooms. The hotel is not big but they provide you away home feelings. The onsen is highly recommend as they all private. Water is hot & extremely clean. My family really loved it. Besides they have a sitting area provide some Japanese cartoon books & foot massage machine to use. The dinner & breakfast food is excellent & fresh . Especially the prawn is very tasty. When we leave the hotel, the owner farewell to us & gave some snack for my children. Overall we enjoy to stay & highly recommend someone want to go to Oita stay. This must be a good choice!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank ETNN9099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

The room is quiet. Had a great sleep. There're 4 private baths that guests could use. The ambiance is nice. And, the staff is polite, the young people and the boss couple know how to interact well with foreigners. Meals are tasty. I tried other onsen inns at higher price range, and found them, comparatively, struck up and pretentious. Yet, we feel so at ease at Yamashiroya. A place for vacation and wind down. You are awesome. Keep it up!!!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

It was really nice place to take a rest.
Staffs were very kind and nice.
Family hot spring can be used personally.
Near the ryokan, you can walk around beutiful places with traditional cloth!
유카타?를 빌려서 주변을 둘러봤는데 정말 예쁜곳이 많이 있었습니다.
눈이내리는 풍경도 아름다웠고 노천탕도 참 좋았어요.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank chulhakl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We spent 2 nights at this Ryokan

we love this place! The Mistress of the ryokan especially was so warm and accommodating!
They made us feel so welcome and really took good care of us

we had a room with 2 beds and a tatami area for 3 futons which accommodated my family of 5 very comfortably. there was also a small kitchenette and a small dining area.
The ryokan had 4 private baths (2 outdoors and 2 indoor) and the status of the baths are displayed on the TV in your rooms... so very convenient to check availability. since it was winter, the outdoor baths does have its challenge since you would need to shower outdoors in the cold...
if you are a fan of the studio Ghibli, then you would also have a treat coz they have the different character dolls and drawings in the common areas of the ryokan.

Dinners and Breakfasts were the highlight of the stay!! the food is so delicious and there is so much too! the dishes according to Okami-san (the mistress of the place) is very traditional home cooking... and we could really feel the love in the preparation with every bite.

There is really nothing to do outside the ryokan. The attractions are a distance away like kokonoe, beppu, yunotsubo kaido etc but everyday, we look forward to returning for the onsen baths and the food and the warm smiles of the owners

this Ryokan stay is definitely the highlight of our holiday. We wish we could have stayed there longer.....

please do note that the road to the ryokan is very narrow and if you drive, a big car, it may be a little intimidating driving down to the place.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SingaporeMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews