We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
95
30
13
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
30
13
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2017

2nd Trip to Tamanoyu, this time for 2 days, mainly for R&R and enjoy the surroundings and Onsen. Stayed in the two-storey "villa?"/room?, Kuwa for this trip.

The Good:
Locations-
The location of the hotel is pretty near most of the Yufuin main spots, nicely tuck away behind the main area where you could just return to your hotel to put down your shopping bags or dip into onsen before exploring more of Yufuin.

The Service-
It's hard to describe how good they are, but given the price of the place and we returned for 2nd stay, the service is a big part in that decision. Quality of stay = Superb.

The Room, the onsen and the kotatsu-
The "room" we stayed this time was definitely more superior than our first stay, the room also feels brighter too. If you are uncomfortable to go to public bath, you could always use your in-room onsen. And the kotatsu, probably still the most comfortable part of the room.

The not-so-good:
The price may not be suitable for everyone appetite, however, if you have special occasions or anniversary etc, this is one place you could put into your list of consideration.

Do write in when you make a booking if it is for special occasion etc, I feel they will prepare your stay differently and accordingly for the occasion.

Final say, will definitely be going back, which also seemingly going to be an annual thing...

Tips: Get a bigger room for better enjoyment, the difference in cost for basic room and the bigger room is a pittance compare to what you are already going to fork out.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vincesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Farmers bent over working in the fields stood to wave as our train neared this peaceful town. We were greeted at the train station by the hotel valet who took our bags. He provided a map and suggested we walk up their town's Main Street to visit the shops. We thoroughly enjoyed that walk and were able to grab some snacks along the way. The Onsen was very spacious, quiet and beautiful. We relaxed in both the hotel hot tub as well as our private room's hot tub. We shopped at the little artisan stores and had lunch at a local restaurant on our last day. We would like to someday return to stay longer here!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KaiNoahMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We heard about this special ryokan from American friends who have come regularly over the years to unwind and relax. They offered it rave reviews, and based on their experience my husband and I decided to make a special trip to the area to experience the magic of Kyushu in general, and this ryokan in particular.

The Tamanoyu is a wonderful place – truly special, not only because of the setting of the property and its magnificent hot springs but because of the staff and how beautifully they respond to the needs of their guests.

We happened to have stayed at the hotel for two nights at one of the most unfortunate moments – a 7.3 earthquake in the area. The hotel staff was amazing in the way they helped us to handle this natural disaster. From coming to get us from our rooms in the middle of the night, to keeping us warm and safe while the earth shook for hours, to checking on us regularly while we passed the difficult night. Despite all the shaking -- our room and the hotel did not suffer significant damage -- which in itself was a miracle. When morning came the staff did everything possible to help us to leave the area – from arranging a taxi, flight to Tokyo, and feeding us so that we would be ok on the journey back to Tokyo and then the US. Nam was especially extraordinary at every point of the way. And the hotel went the extra mile to refund one night’s lodging since the earthquake was not part of our tourist agenda. Our hearts went out to all of the staff whose own homes and lives were affected by the disaster. But we will always remember how they put their guests first.

Before the earthquake we experienced the most extraordinary meals and appreciated the ambiance that has made this ryokan famous. It is truly a tranquil spot, and the hot springs on the property are magnificent. We hope to return to this very special place and will always remember the care and kindness we received from the moment we checked in until we left. We extend a special thank you to Nam.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Pippiduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

usually when i visit some place, i book hotel first. but in yufuin i just arrived here by bus. it took 3 hrs from fukuoka so late to walk. 9:30pm when i arrived here i already visited 6 ryokans. No rooms here cuz that day was friday night. Tamanoyu had no room also but Arisa and Diretor showed me another Ryokan so i could stay very nice place. i booked here for next day.
Best of Best in Yufuin. Wonderful staffs and director. everybody said Tamanoyu is best. now i know why this Ryokan is best here. not only for food or rooms. ut also wonderful staffs. they r really 7star levels!!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank eddyphdhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

The room we stayed in is 10+8 semi-western room.

The experience in this ryokan has been overwhelmingly pleasant, from the arrival at their place till the time we leave, the service is great, the atmosphere is great, the food is great, the place is great!

5 Overall rating does not do this ryokan justice for what they provide, the price tag itself is not that expensive, as compared to some others with around the same price tag but unable to deliver the experience.

To put it simply, I would definitely come back to Kyushu again just for this ryokan.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vincesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews