We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Momonga Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Momonga Village
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Momonga Village is an absolutely beautiful Japanese house in a breathtaking valley. The surroundings are absolutely gorgeous; the entire area inspires calm and awe. The rooms are quaint and very comfortable. The night has a very camping-like atmosphere without the hassle of sleeping in a tent. The staff of this family-owned business is irreproachably friendly, offers delicious food and will gladly pick you up from the train station. Undeniably a great place to spend a few days while exploring Iya Valley.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ealec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MomongaVillage, オーナー at Momonga Village, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review.
I'm glad seemed to stay at my guesthouse and village..

Your journey did well after my place?

We will develop a better environment in the future. and I will make the guest house to be able to spend more comfortable.

I am looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you so much!

Babee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
27
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Wonderfull surrounding near the Iya valley. A very friendly host providing you with all the comfort you can ask for. Good kitchen perfect view and maybe even you can see a momonga flying around. Please come see for yourself. Very recommended!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank josvanotterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MomongaVillage, オーナー at Momonga Village, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review.
I'm glad seemed to stay at my guesthouse and village..

Your journey did well after my place?

We will develop a better environment in the future. and I will make the guest house to be able to spend more comfortable.

I am looking forward to seeing you again.

Thank you so much!

Babee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toon, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our stay at Momonga Village in March 2014 was amazing. My fiance and I have stayed at about 10 different places in Japan, and this one was our very favorite.

It's a traditional-style Japanese house with a few large tatami rooms. Our room was HUGE for 2 people, and we enjoyed spending hours hanging out downstairs under the kotatsu with the owner Babee and the other guests, enjoying a home-cooked dinner and chatting about backpacking adventures around the world over free homemade ume-shu (plum liquor).

It's best if you have a rental car to get around Iya valley, but it's also possible to navigate by public transit.

Room Tip: Large second-floor room was ours and was HUGE for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevennnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MomongaVillage, オーナー at Momonga Village, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you so much for your great review.
Stay in winter is also fun.
I was able to spend a fun night kotatsu of Japan.
Thank you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

I think you two people that's really perfect couple.
so sweeeet.

Babee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed in the Iya Valley, at Momonga Village (http://yado26.wix.com/momonga), for 3 nights. The hostel is well set up for cooking your own meals in the kitchen, and there is wifi internet and comfortable lounge room for relaxing. The hostel can also provide dinner for a fee. The futon-style beds are very comfortable, and the rooms have a lovely outlook over the river and up valley. We were there in spring time and the sakura (blossom) trees were out in bloom. Babee the host is exceptionally friendly and very accommodating. Babee collected us from the train station, however there is a bus that runs up the valley and stops outside the hostel. Babee and his family were great hosts. In the summer time you can do rafting tours from the hostel on the Iya River (http://www.gogo-adventure.com/) they look like great fun and we were dissapointed we were too early for them! Its a wonderful retreat to spend a couple of days exploring the beautiful Iya Valley.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 270LauraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MomongaVillage, オーナー at Momonga Village, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Google Translation
お客様へ

この度は3日間もの間モモンガビレッジで滞在していただきまして誠にありがとうございました。
モモンガビレッジの雰囲気や仕組み、また近隣のエリアを大変気に入っていただいた御様子で私的にも嬉しい限りです。
またいつの日かモモンガビレッジでお会いできる日を楽しみにしております。
進化するゲストハウスモモンガビレッジを今後共よろしくお願いいたします。

ゲストハウスモモンガビレッジ オーナー
馬場(バビー)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miyoshi hotels
7.3 mi away
Hotel Hikyonoyu
Hotel Hikyonoyu
#5 of 15 in Miyoshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Iyaonsen
Hotel Iyaonsen
#1 of 15 in Miyoshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Kazurabashi
Hotel Kazurabashi
#1 of 17 in Miyoshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
HOTEL Obokekyo Mannaka
HOTEL Obokekyo Mannaka
#2 of 15 in Miyoshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sunriver Oboke
Sunriver Oboke
#2 of 17 in Miyoshi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
6.5 mi away
Noka Minshuku Bokenoen
Noka Minshuku Bokenoen
#6 of 10 in Miyoshi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Momonga Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Momonga Village

Property: Momonga Village
Address: 1153 Yamashirocho Nobumasa, Miyoshi 779-5334, Tokushima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Shikoku > Tokushima Prefecture > Miyoshi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality lodging in Miyoshi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a guesthouse in the middle in Shikoku. It is access convenience also to every direction. You can use with the low charge from an overnight stay of 2500 yen. The Internet can be used for free. If convenience suits, it can welcome and send off to a station. Rafting in the Yoshino river can also be performed. It corresponds kindly carefully. We are waiting for you to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Momonga Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Momonga Village Japan/Miyoshi, Shikoku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing