We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in kawayu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kawayu Onsen Fujiya
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels / Ryokan in Tanabe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Food and location are excellent. Rooms are comfortable with a lovely view. Hotel baths were very nice.
Meals were consistently served late, which wasn't a problem, just noting it here. I would have rated the hotel higher if I had not been greeted by a large roach on our room door one evening...

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Wanderer2Another
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms face the river and the hills.
The ryokan provides a great choice of onsen: indoors, outdoors and private, all great.
Not to be missed: the bath in the pools digged in the river. This is a very pleasant alternative to the traditional onsen, since you have a nice view and you are in a totally natural environment.
Food is great at this ryokan.
The best is to access by car, since you can better visit the surroundings; but buses stop in front of the ryokan if you don't dare driving in Japan (which is not difficult at all).
The village where the ryokan is located is nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in Fujiya / Fuzijya two nights and really enjoyed the place. Our first impression was quite negative as we arrived two hours before the room was ready; all lights were off in the reception area and we were only received by a terrified portier who did not speak much English. However, the impression improved vastly when we cambe back later. We especially appreciated the place: Kawayu onsen has a river with inflow of hot geothermal several prepared and several ponds are dug into its sides. This makes it fun to soak there and you can go for a swim in the river to cool off. The hotel also has several other baths, although none of them are unisex, for families or couples, except you get a private one. We did not try them out thanks to the wonderful natural baths.

Other great things were: spacious, beautiful rooms, amazing food (but much too much!!), free shuttle bus to Hongu or Kumano Kodo and fantastic service! It is not cheap, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambulanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We spent a night here whilst travelling through the region and decided to splurge on Ryokan Fujiya. It IS rather expensive, but we found that it was money well spent. The rooms were large, comfortable and very clean. The onsen were top notch. The outdoor onsen has got to be our favourite. Alternatively, you could just amble down to the river (just across the path) and sink into the warm waters percolating from the rocks below. If it gets too cold, just mix in some river water to regulate the temperature. The indoor onsen are very interesting as well. In the day, the wooden onsen is designated for females and the marble onsen for males. From midnight to 9am, they switch the signs so that the wooden onsen can be used by guys and the marble onsen is reserved for females.

The food is possibly the best thing about Ryokan Fujiya. The kaiseki dinner is top notch, with many, many different courses. Everything is seasonal and, where possible, locally sourced. The Japanese breakfast is also very filling and delicious.

I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone travelling through the region, even though it is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esquire84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few days and LOVED it. We splashed out on a room which came with a private onsen bath on the balcony and private dinner and breakfast everynight. All of the other guests were Japanese, and little English was spoken. The dinners were INCREDIBLE - many many really interesting courses, always absolutely beautifully presented, and with some very suprising elements - the snails the size of my wife's head perhaps the most surprising. The rooms were beautiful and sitting in the onsen looking at the drizzle was perfect. This is absolutely one of the best places we have stayed

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick_the_Wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I wonder the name should be Fuziya but not Fujiya!!! I love this resort anyway!
(1) Very delicious dinner and breakfast! Value for money ^^
(2) In rainy days, you may stay in their private indoor/outdoor Onsens but there are still option to go to the outdoor public Onsens, so in sum you get 4 different types of Onsen to enjoy!
(3) Free shuttle service which can fit a short hiking route (around 3.5 hours route), very helpful!
(4) Very attentive staff which will make you feel you are the VIP!
(5) Full set of outdoor public Onsen tools and fishing equipment and it is fun to spend a day here!
In short, what I got from Fuziya really surprised me!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanwandahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank teitanjiroyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanabe hotels
Ryujin Onsen
Kawayu Midoriya
Kawayu Midoriya
#2 of 49 in Tanabe
94 reviews
Yunomine Onsen
Yunomineso
Yunomineso
#4 of 49 in Tanabe
81 reviews
Yunomine Onsen
Ryokan Azumaya
Ryokan Azumaya
#8 of 49 in Tanabe
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawayu Onsen
Pension Ashitanomori
Pension Ashitanomori
#7 of 49 in Tanabe
51 reviews
Ryujin Onsen
Kameya Ryokan
Kameya Ryokan
#10 of 49 in Tanabe
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kawayu Onsen Fujiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawayu Onsen Fujiya

Address: 1452 Kawayu, Hongucho, Tanabe 647-1717, Wakayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Tanabe > Kawayu Onsen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels / Ryokan in Tanabe
Price Range: £188 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kawayu Onsen Fujiya 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kawayu Onsen Fujiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawayu Onsen Fujiya Tanabe, Japan - Wakayama Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing