We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
US$389
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$315/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Yunomineso(Tanabe)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Book now, pay at stay
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Marui Ryokan(Tanabe)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Ryokan 
Onsen Minshuku Omuraya Building 1(Tanabe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$346
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
48
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnatural hot spring bathfather and sonthe riverprivate onsenforested valleylocation is beautifuljapanese stylethe busafter a long daystayed here for nightsfamily runthe ownerstay there againbreakfast and dinnershovelshrinetoilets
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

We walked from Hongu for an hour to stay here, and it was worth every step. The father and son who run the place are so helpful. The location is beautiful, and, they provide spades so that you can dig your own onsen in the banks of the river. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2017 and we couldn't recommend it enough! The owners of the hotel were exceptionally welcoming and helpful - they gave us lots of useful advice regarding walks in the area and even walked us to the bus stop to ensure we caught we right bus! The location is great - very easy to access by bus, and the onsen in the river is fantastic! The perfect way to relax after a long day walking. The food was also delicious and very reasonably priced. We would definitely love to stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Extremely friendly and helpful hosts. The father (been in the area for 32 years) even drove us to the neighbouring town when we'd missed the bus outside.
They gave us some good advice regarding the area and generally seemed like gentle souls.
The place itself is of older decoration and slightly run down, however doesn't matter as you spend most your time outdoors and the rooms provide enough comfort after a long day. The Kawayu public onsens in the river are literally outside the door. They also have two private onsens that are available 24hrs and conveniently located for all rooms. Breakfast is of satisfying variety and a good beginning to the day.
We ended up extending our stay an extra night!

If I were to return to Kawayu I'd make a point of coming back here, this sort of helpfulness is rarely seen.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
5  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This is a small hotel in Kawayu Onsen. The hotel is just next to the bus stop, and specially, next to the public onsen in the river. The location is so convenient if traveling by bus. The hotel also has a family indoor onsen bathroom. Each bedroom just faces the river. So, the scenic view is just spectacular.

The food is so delicious. We had a western and Japanese dinner, and they were wonderful. The breakfast was just right, not too much.

The owners were so helpful. He even walked us to the bus stop to make sure we got on the correct bus!! We highly recommend for any one who want to visit Hongu shrine, and want to stay in the nearby location. It's just a few minutes by bus from the Hongu grand shrine.

Room Tip: All room faces the river.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Sak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Last year we stayed at Yunomine Onsen and have discovered this magic place. This chalet is ran by father and son. They both speak English which is a big plus for foreigners.

Most important of all is the mix of Japanese and European style which is essential for us who haven't totally immersed into Japanese style. We appreciate the western bed and western meals from time to time.

We stayed here for 4 nights. There are plenty walks to do. The more scenic one is a walk of 5 hours from Koguchi to Ukegawa. Scenery from Hyakken-gura 百間ぐらis breath-taking. Best spot for picnic lunch. The hotel can prepare lunch box.

Wifi is pretty good. Outdoor onsen is just across the street. They offer 2 indoor onsen for family.

Haven travelled quite extensively in Japan, I would say this hotel is one of the best. The forest view from the room is magnificent. We simply think that we are in Switzerland!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews