We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service and food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tanabe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Minshuku Chikatsuyu
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tanabe
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I felt instantly welcomed here. After walking from Hongu, I was tired and wet, but the indoor onsen was perfect and the owner was warm and kind. The dinner was incredible: delicious food and more than enough for one person. The owner communicated with me in English throughout my stay and was very helpful and hospitable. Definitely stay here, especially after a long trek!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heathertravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
16
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was the least hospitable Japanese hotel that I had stayed in. They even fussed about providing the traditional hot tea in our room. There was no soap for washing hands. The bathroom was communal and shared by both men and women.

In every other place that we had stayed, the futons were laid out while we had supper. I am told that this is traditional. Not here.

I had soaked in the nearby public bath for about 20 minutes. Afterwards, I developed an ugly rash on my skin which lasted several days. I have never had this happen before.

At every other place we had stayed, the staff was welcoming. Not here. In general, an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fadamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Felt unwelcomed by owners. Everything was too much for them. Even not providing the usual welcome hot Japanese tea. No soap in bathroom or toilet for washing hands. Shared bathroom with men and women. Very small shared bathroom and rooms. Food was ok. Not really an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dedicatedtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We had just walked 14 km on the Kumano Kodo route from Takajiri and were tired. It was pleasant to relax in the onsen then have a spectacular dinner looking out to the river and forest. Our hosts were also extremely helpful advising on next days starting point.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Engadin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed one night in the Minshuku Chikatsuyu. The room where clean, the owner very helpful and friendly and the food delisious. It was perfect after a short day hiking from Takahara to arrive and find a hot onsen where you could soak in an enjoy the hot water.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemongras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Sweet village and kind hosts, with nice hiking advice, homemade ume liqueur, calm onsen, beautiful river setting. Not fancy. Modest and welcoming. Also, cafe near bus stop a nice spot for a siphon coffee, and the small grocery also nearby has good selection of local produce (delicious little citrus fruits) and another friendly proprietor.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurigohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanabe hotels
Ryujin Onsen
Kawayu Midoriya
Kawayu Midoriya
#2 of 46 in Tanabe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Kiri no Sato Takahara
#1 of 46 in Tanabe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yunomine Onsen
Yunomineso
Yunomineso
#6 of 46 in Tanabe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Kawayu Onsen
Kawayu Onsen Fujiya
Kawayu Onsen Fujiya
#3 of 46 in Tanabe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Kawayu Onsen
Pension Ashitanomori
Pension Ashitanomori
#5 of 46 in Tanabe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minshuku Chikatsuyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minshuku Chikatsuyu

Property: Minshuku Chikatsuyu
Address: 401-12 Chikatsuyu, Nakahechicho, Tanabe 646-1402, Wakayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Tanabe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tanabe
Also Known As:
Minshuku Chikatsuyu Tanabe, Japan - Wakayama Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing