We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food slow service”
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“good food slow service”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

eat here last weekend
location excellent right in the centre of the lovely village of Norton st phillip came in the middle of the pagent commemorating the battle of 1685 with the local conservation group all dressed up in their period costumes lovely ambiance
the restaurant itself is really nice a giant barn conversion with some nice pictures on the walls along with tapersties all make for a great ambiance
the food when arrived was actually very good which was the saving grace as the service was very slow (no fault of the girl who served us as she was having to do almost everything herself)
sat down at 7 45 got the starters at 8 30 main course around 9 10 such a shame as the food was so good
brian h

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    110
    50
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow, Wow Wow!!!!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for somewhere with character to stay then you will do no better than The George!!
Recently enjoyed a two night stay and to say we were impressed is an understatement. Properly "Olde Worlde" with features and history going back 700 years. Particularly enjoyed the excellent food and to see the chef picking herbs from outside was nice to see.
Although busy both nights in the restaurant we were served promptly and attentively.
Just one point to note....the room wasn't immaculate and attention to detail was missing, but on the whole a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Large pre-wedding supper”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Welcoming staff and obliging to our large party the night before a family wedding. The meal was good value and we were all served within good time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foxylady141059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a shame!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed in the village and visited this pub with a group of friends on the last night of my hen weekend with close family and friends. Booked, pre ordered AND prepaid meals about 6 weeks in advance. Wanted a table for 12 of us for 8.30pm ish to be able to enjoy a few drinks at the George beforehand. We were told that we could not have a table for that time, but it had to be 6.30-7pm. Decided to go ahead with booking anyway. On the Saturday evening, the weather was warm and fine so we called the pub at 5.30 to see if we could push back our table. We were told no as the restaurant was "chockablock" so we arrived at the George at 7pm - to find the restaurant empty! We asked again whether we could postpone our meals and have a drink outside first, but we're told no, again. Our meals were served 10 minutes after arriving, meals were ok, steak and fish quite bland which was disappointing at £20. Decided to move out into the beer garden after eating on,y to find the restaurant was still over half empty. As the weather had cooled a little we returned to sit in the bar area and was quite disappointed to find that the restaurant was still less than half full at 8.30- the time we originally wanted to eat. We got the feeling we were being rushed in and out and not valued as customers at all. My sister made a comment to a member of staff about the restaurant being "chocablock", which it wasn't, to which he rudely replied "shouldn't you all be at a nightclub by now." We were made to feel very unwelcome by the members of staff and we were very annoyed that we had been lied to. This tainted our last evening of what had been such a great stay in the village! We have been told that the manager has left the pub and it is now being very poorly managed. Such a Shame as we were really looking forward to spending our entire evening here for the last night of the weekend, in such a beautiful pub steeped in history, but decided to leave shortly after 8.30pm due to the rudeness and poor customer service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food friendly service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had the dinner in the pub area, since the restorant was fully booked
the restorant area looks great there is a beautiful vew of the country side, with outside eating facilities, it has a good historic feeling possibly one of the Oldest pub in England, with some interesting history, we would definatly go back there and book beforehand

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

Norton St Philip, Bath
 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing