We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can highly reccommend a stay here -”
Review of At The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
At The Manor
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Can highly reccommend a stay here -”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Have stayed here twice now and plan to return. Both Sarah and Simon make you most welcome, the rooms are lovely (and good quality bed linen) and a really nice guest sitting room for you to relax in if the weather is horrible and they do a truly fantastic English Breakfast. Lots to do in the area and a great pub within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Comfortable, quiet and welcoming. The breakfast was superb and good food and ale was available at the local historic inn. Easy to access from Bath by car but the park and ride is much easier than looking for a (expensive) parking place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at the Manor for 1 night when visiting Longleat and wish we could have stayed longer. Sarah was very friendly and hospitable and made us feel very welcome. The house was wonderfully quiet during our stay and Sarah upgraded us to the 'Lyde Green' room which was very much appreciated. This lovely room is large and comfortable with 4 poster bed and huge en-suite bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean. The Manor is set in a peaceful position with good private parking in a beautiful village. We had dinner at The George, an interesting and historical pub, just a few minutes walk away from the B&B and recommended by Sarah. We enjoyed the 3 course dinner option which was very good value. The following morning, after a delicious breakfast, with plenty of choice and additional toast, we set off for Longleat which was wonderful, especially the lions!
Would definately stay at the Manor again when visiting Bath next time and can thoroughly recommend it to anyone else thinking of visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Manor for 2 nights to see the sights of Bath and the surrounding area. We were welcomed on the Friday night by Simon who (despite it being 10.30 at night) was really accommodating, happy to see us and kindly showed us to our room, The Mead. It's a nice room with a lovely comfortable bed, period fire place, sash windows and drapes and a wonderful bathroom tucked away with the nicest warm powerful shower I've had in ages.

We were greated on both mornings to breakfast by Sarah who served up warm toast, good selection of cereals, tasty yoghurts and fruit juice. The cooked breakfast was made to order and exactly what you wanted, I had scrambled egg and then poached eggs and it was in a nice relaxed dining area of a private lounge exclusively for guests. (There was a nice large TV, small kitchen and lounge area for guests too which was lovely but we didn't really use).

We took Simon and Sarah's advice and tried the George at the top of the road for a meal that night, much easier than travelling into Bath and having to park etc. Great meal, lovely food and we ate in the dungeon with a nice bottle of wine. The A la carte menu was a bit pricey but the quality was there, if you want a little cheaper then there is another menu to suit.

Overall a great place, we love visiting Bath so I think this will now be a firm favourite of ours if we stay up.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Manor for 2 nights so that we could visit Longleat and Wookey Holes earlier this year. Sarah is lovely, she made us feel very welcome. Rooms were very tastely furnished. We had the whole top floor, which included kitchen and living room great bonus! Breakfast was great. It was a pleasure to stay there. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We could not fault our stay here. Wonderful hosts and beautiful accommodation really did complete our stay in Bath. We were made to feel extremely welcome from the beginning and were constantly helped, by our hosts, to make our trip perfect. We will most certainly be back soon. A perfect way to celebrate our engagement!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed just one night at The Manor, and wish we could have stayed longer. The owners were warm and hospitable. Our bedroom was well appointed and comofrtable and the breakfast they cooked for us delicious.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton St Philip
3.2 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
5.2 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#26 of 30 in Bath
173 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
438 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wheelbrook Mill
Wheelbrook Mill
#2 of 5 in Norton St Philip
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bath Lodge Castle
Bath Lodge Castle
#3 of 5 in Norton St Philip
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Manor

Property: At The Manor
Address: Manor Farm The Barton | The Barton, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Norton St Philip
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Norton St Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay 'At the Manor', a beautiful Queen Anne property in the heart of Norton St Philip. Uniquely decorated bedrooms with four poster and en suite designer bathrooms. Peace and tranquillity in the countryside only 15 mins drive to Bath and Longleat, walk to local pubs serving great food. Enjoy delicious breakfasts made using fresh local produce from the farm shop. Free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV's and DVD's in all rooms. Luxury toiletries. Tea & coffee facilities, chilled champagne on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your At The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Manor Bath/Norton St Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing