We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tradition at its best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tradition at its best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

A superb weekend away despite the wet weather; a magnificent building, real fires, nice warm rooms, great staff, great service. Food was good including a delicious brie and bacon sandwich, awesome chips and a hearty breakfast. Everyone knows what they're doing and it's great place to go and relax. Bath is about 7 miles away but, happy to stay at the George Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    94
    31
    18
    6
See reviews for
80
227
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Level Contributor
264 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here just before Xmas as we wanted somewhere within striking distance of Bath. It is a quaint old building, but if you have any mobility problems, you should ensure you mention this when you book so they can find you a suitable room, as ours was upstairs and the spiral staircase is not for the less mobile. The room was full of charm and character and on a slight slope which caused my wife a little concern to start. The bed was comfy and a good nights sleep was had, although the Inn is situated on what turned out to be a busy junction and from our room there was a fair amount of traffic noise from about 6am, but not excessive.
The bathroom had a bath but no shower (age of building probably doesn't allow) but it did have a shower head attachment so I could at least wash my hair in the morning although not conducive with a bad back! Breakfast was excellent and I didn't need to eat again until night time. We did eat an evening meal there which we ate in the bar as the restaurant was closed and the food was very good. The real ale was ok and there is a huge open fire, but that was dying out when we got there late afternoon which was a shame as a roaring log fire certainly adds something to such a pub. Ample parking facilities, a local store just up the road and another pleasant real ale house just over the road made our stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you are unsteady on your feet, dont go for a room above the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pencroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked a meal with friends, I think there were 12 of us, we were seated in the restaurant where it was rather cold! Those of us who ordered starters we somewhat disappointed, 1 on the portion size and 2 on the fact the goats cheese was cold on the goats cheese and beetroot salad! The mains were just as disappointing, the chicken dish was….well….that was basically all it was, a small nit of veg or salad and chicken, no potato?? Also the prices in this pub, not only on the food are terribly high!! I wouldn’t jump to eat there again
We did complain and to be fair we weren't charged the full price for the meals

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Have stayed here on many occasions which i have found very satisfactory including staff service and rooms etc began to become part of the furniture. On the last 2 Booking attempts tho we arrived to find the rooms were not avaliable. First instance was that they had double booked when we arrived even tho we phoned to double check 2 weeks in advance and had to be moved to another room which was not the room we asked for. The second occasion we arrived and was told that all rooms were fully booked even tho we had booked a particular room 3 months in advance!!! We were made to feel very embarrest therefore would no longer return. Real shame as the building is a very old one with loads of charactor and is very unique.

Room Tip: Don't book a specific room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DWest1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Pleasant, helpful and friendly staff, uniquely old establishment, lighting a little too dim in Sedgemoor room - made it difficult to read. Cooked breakfast very good and the Stokes brown sauce deserves a mention. Non cooked selection not the best I've experienced. Very dog friendly with advice being given of where a canine could stretch their legs. Lovely old village. Good walks round and about

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aliq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I was not expecting much and was pleasantly surprised.

Lovely great bed. Very old building and full of character. Creaky floors and slopping ceilings...All very charming indeed.

Was made to feel very welcome and have enjoyed evening meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XseniaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just loved The George - we stayed only one night on our way to Cornwall but loved everything about it, the reception, the room, dinner, the atmosphere in the bar, and the ghost who was not happy with my husband and tried to smother him while pressing him down on the bed during the night . Darn it - I slept right through the visitation. Next time!! Would stay again in a flash.

Room Tip: Get the one with the ghost :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton St Philip
5.9 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
5.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
5.3 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
6.7 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#19 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Property: The George Inn
Address: High Street, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Norton St Philip
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Norton St Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Norton St Philip
The George Inn Bath/Norton St Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing