We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the BEST.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plaine Guesthouse
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the BEST.”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

My wife & I had a brilliant 3 night stay at The Plaine guesthouse, we had a comfortable room with a king size bed. The full English breakfast really set us up for the day ahead. In a beautiful village that's in a great location for visiting the surrounding area only 20 mins from Bath by bus that stops right outside the guesthouse. Our hosts Stephanie & Giles were simply the best as they are both very knowledgeable able about the area and willingly gave directions & advise on places to visit. Stephanie & Giles made sure we had everything we needed, they made our stay extremely welcoming & comfortably. The Plaine will be the top of my list to stay when we are in Bath again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    69
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
86
158
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed at the Plaine for one night having been bought two nights elsewhere as an anniversary present. Couldn't have been more peased with our choice. Hosts Stephanie and Giles were very friendly and helpful.
Our room ( into which were upgraded) was spacious and clean and had a good view of the surrounding village.
Breakfast was at a convenient time and was very satisfying, well cooked and plenty to start us off for the day. This was eaten in the downstairs breakfast room which was light and airy and spacious.
Overall we were very pleased with all we found and can find no fault. We will definitely return when in the area again.
Pat and Joe

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Plaine Guesthouse, really lovely warm welcome from Justina, who's customer service was just outstanding throughout our whole stay. Family Room was really comfortable and our little girls loved the teddy bears they were given to look after during their stay. Brilliant base if visiting Longleat, will definitely be recommending to our family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicino Firenze
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Me, my wife and our 2 children, we stayed at Plaine and we had some really nice days there .
The guest hose is all really nice, the rooms, the breakfast room and outdoor too .
One of those days was the birthday of our son and they help us to organize the surprise cake with the candles bought the day before .
Thanks from the heart to Justina and to the owners of the guesthouse really nice and friendly people.
They suggested to spend one day in Longleat (paying attention to the monkeys :-) ... ) a Safari Park in the lovely countryside near Norton St Philips, and we spent last day in Bath for a rugby match .
Thanks again ....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heybridge, Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The first thing we must comment on is the wonderfully warm welcome from Justina who runs the guesthouse (and dreams to own it too one day!). We had friendly texts to arrange our arrival time as we were arriving slightly later in the evening than normal. Justina kindly made the children a hot chocolate for breakfast, which was freshly cooked and served in a delightful dining room. We ate at the Fleur de Lys pub across the road where we were very warmly received also. We all fitted into room no. 2 (one double bed and two singles for the children), which saved us having to take two rooms. Minor issue with the bath tap being prone to dripping when the basin taps were on, slightly odd but we sorted it!! We visited Longleat and Bath, both very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendles283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is one of the nicest guest houses we have stayed in , one of the main reasons is the amazing manager Justine who makes you feel extremely welcome and is very very good at every aspect of her job .
The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and great quality and the room spotless .
don't hesitate to book here !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84Pip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Following a nightmare journey from Windsor with roads closed following serious accident in the area we had a very warm welcome from Justina. Cosy family room (could have been a little bigger) was nice & tidy. Only 2 plug sockets though & not near the mirror was a small issue. Major plus is the shower - water pressure is fantastic !!


Justina was very helpful in getting us discounted family ticket for Longleat, and also drying wet swimming gear from previous day - Very accommodating. Constant contact via text was not over the the top but reassuring all was in order.

Breakfasts very tasty, as was evening meal in Fleur de Lys across the road.

This is a small village and the guesthouse is right on the junction. With warm weather and windows open there was some traffic noise even on the B road as the route heads into Bath.

Many thanks to Justina for a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton St Philip
1.6 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
196 reviews
5.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.4 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bath Lodge Castle
Bath Lodge Castle
#3 of 5 in Norton St Philip
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
At The Manor
At The Manor
#5 of 5 in Norton St Philip
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaine Guesthouse

Property: The Plaine Guesthouse
Address: Bell Hill, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Norton St Philip
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Norton St Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaine Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes away from Bath City Centre, this 16th Century Guesthouse offers traditional charm, privacy and comfort. The beautiful Norton St Philip Village is quintessentially English and boasts England's Oldest Inn 'The George'. The Plaine is centrally located for Wells, Glastonbury, Stonehenge and Bath. The Plaine offers affordable luxury with rooms having Four Poster en-suite bedrooms. There is a regular Bus Service into Bath with Golfing, horse riding, walking, scenic and historic trails close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Plaine Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaine Guesthouse Bath/Norton St Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing