We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice host but could do with a little updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plaine Guesthouse
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very nice host but could do with a little updating”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Plaine. Steph was a great hostess and made us feel very welcome. One of the best dog friendly places I have ever stayed. Everything was very comfortable but decor could have done with updating especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    69
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
87
158
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hiding behind an overgrown wisteria, an attractive house in the gorgeous village of Norton St Philip- a destination in itself, despite also being close to Bath.

Check in was very easy. We were greeted very warmly by Stephanie who likes to consider the house a home from home. She showed us round and was very helpful.

In terms of the accommodation, there appear to be only a few historic features remaining, which is a disappointment in such an historic house and town. We had two rooms. One room was painted two odd shades of brown and mushroom. Whilst I wouldn't review on taste, it wasn't our cup of tea. The bathroom was old and tired and there was a strong smell of drains. The shower was strong but had dodgy temperature fluctuations. Some of the windows opened, some were painted shut, which didn't help air the place. The other room was a four-poster. Again, not decorated to our taste, but a comfortable bed. Bathroom shower lacked somewhat.

Breakfast was fine. Stephanie was helped out with a really lovely assistant, whom we thought was charming. The sausages tasted a bit like Walls' and black pudding would have been nice. A tasty breakfast nonetheless.

Overall a pleasant stay. I'm not sure it's worth the £120 + 3% debit card fee on a Saturday night in August, especially when the George Inn across the road is only £130. It would certainly benefit from a freshen up and, in our eyes, a redecoration too. But Stephanie and her helper were very pleasant and welcoming and it's clear that with its many rooms and repeat visitors, a lot of effort has gone into it being a busy and popular B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68394944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I had booked a room at another place that I didn't find due to a faulty map and an incomplete address; when I showed up at The Plaine, I was made to feel very welcome but the hostess also claimed she didn't know that other place I was looking for - but I learned afterward it's only one minute away. Considering that this ended up costing me 260€ for a no-show, it does leave a sour taste in my mouth.
This being said, to put it simply, it is a nice place to stay, but definitely overpriced. It's almost twice as expensive as most of the other places we stayed at in the South of England, and no way is it twice better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Nathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you have ever searched almost a day to find a place to sleep, The Plaine is worth it to search so long. We never had a so nice and friendly welcome. Stephany is a born hostess. Everything of The Plaine is excellent. If we ever go to Bath in the future, we will be there again in Norton St. Philip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithia, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very happy we found the Plaine Guest House! The service was excellent! When we arrived our younger daughter had an upset stomach. She just wanted some soup for dinner. We got some soup at the local shop and Stephanie opened up her kitchen and dining room for us! They were so kind! The room was cozy and they actually moved things around so we could all share a room together for the night. The breakfast was perfect and the owners are very organized! They gave us great directions and suggestions for parking in Bath. After a few weeks in England and one in France, we have to say our experience at the Plaine and in Bath will always be one of our fondest memories.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Initially was meant to be a 2 night stay but couldn’t make it due to work commitments. Tried calling explaining this and was greeted by a “this is policy”. Totally understand this but would have been a nice touch to waive the first night. Stay all around the world and a bit of give and take is expected.
Kept getting texts asking what time I would be down and felt like had to accommodate the owner, not the guest as it should be. The place is in a quaint village but I too like other comments, have to agree, the place is in serious need of renovation. Poor mattress, squeaky floors, poor bathroom (dirty old tiles), looks very run down and not worthy of a £110 price tag a night. Lots of noise during the night with a guest trying to get in and banging on the door. Taxi home tried to rip me off charging £20 for a 2.7 mile journey- joke.
Disappointing breakfast and the wait for it was also poor too.
Have stayed in way better B&B’s than this and one’s where they make you feel at home. All very bizarre here and sorry to say, a bit of a dump. Tips for you, work with the client and customer and meet their needs- may work better for you.
Whilst walking out, was also talking to the other guests who shared the same point of view. Decided to stay another night in Bath and went back to the Best Western – great little place.
Save your money and avoid getting ripped and stay elsewhere. You have been warned.

Room Tip: Don't stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 109TommyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were happy to secure a 1 night stay on a Saturday night (15 June) so we could have a tour of the main Bath attractions. The Plaine is about 8 miles from central Bath and when we did arrive, we were able to park in their car park and were warmly greeted by Stephanie. Our room with ensuite was upstairs at the front with a view of the historic George Hotel across the road was comfortable with the ensuite having carpet of the floor. The bath and shower could do with a bit of updating.

Stephanie provided us with a lot of good information about the village of Norton St. Philip, the 2 pubs and the local history. Indeed the village is quite picturesque and we enjoyed our walk around the village. Following Stephanie’s advice we had a very pleasant dinner at the George.

Given the distance out of Bath, The Plaine is expensive (£120.00) for the night (yes we know it was a Saturday night) and the breakfast was not of a high standard. It was one of the few, maybe only B&B/Guest House/Hotel we stayed in during our trip through England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales France and Belgium, that did not have fruit available at breakfast. My cooked breakfast was minimal; one small sausage, one egg and one small tomato. To give Stephanie her due, she did comment on the small serve and asked if I would like anything else.

Overall Stephanie was very pleasant, friendly and engaging, but it was the most expensive B&B/Guest House/Hotel we stayed in on our holiday. Unfortunately it was not the best by any means

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton St Philip
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
171 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bath Lodge Castle
Bath Lodge Castle
#3 of 5 in Norton St Philip
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
At The Manor
At The Manor
#5 of 5 in Norton St Philip
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaine Guesthouse

Property: The Plaine Guesthouse
Address: Bell Hill, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Norton St Philip
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Norton St Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaine Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes away from Bath City Centre, this 16th Century Guesthouse offers traditional charm, privacy and comfort. The beautiful Norton St Philip Village is quintessentially English and boasts England's Oldest Inn 'The George'. The Plaine is centrally located for Wells, Glastonbury, Stonehenge and Bath. The Plaine offers affordable luxury with rooms having Four Poster en-suite bedrooms. There is a regular Bus Service into Bath with Golfing, horse riding, walking, scenic and historic trails close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Plaine Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaine Guesthouse Bath/Norton St Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing