We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely host, a home from home feel, would definitely go back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaine Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plaine Guesthouse
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely host, a home from home feel, would definitely go back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed one night at The Plaine for our 12th wedding anniversary. We booked Room 1 with the 4-poster bed and weren't disappointed!! Check-in was at 5pm but we were early as had a reservation at the Thermae Spa - Steph greeted us in a professional friendly manner and accommodated us by letting us book in early so that we didn't have to lug our bags around with us! Room was stunning, yes the floor was a little creaky and the bathroom needed a little updating but I love old houses and the quirks that come with them so it wasn't a problem in the slightest - afterall, we were only planning to sleep in the room - not stay for a week ;)
Steph made us feel like extended family - she was so helpful in helping us find a car park as close to the Spa as possible, recommended restaurants to try etc, nothing was too much effort. Breakfast the next day was delicious, plenty of coffee and toast re-fills too. Relaxed check out process and spent time chatting to Steph before we headed off into Bath.

Good points? Lovely old house, lots of character and with only a few rooms, feels very personal. Steph is lovely, a great host and made us feel relaxed and comfortable straight away.
Bad points? Car parking wasn't ideal - we ended up parking on a side street as couldn't get in the car park. The shower could do with updating - the fixing only allowed the shower head to move up and down not swivel round, so I struggled to wash properly without taking the head completely off the fixing! Water pressure was excellent though! Individual toiletries are not provided in the bathroom, however there was a decent shower cream dispenser on the wall of the shower and we'd brought our own so it wasn't a problem anyway! Road outside b&b is surprisingly busy, especially first thing in the morning (we stayed Sunday night) - luckily the rooms are large and have high ceilings so weren't stifling at night but with the windows open the road noise was very noticeable. All in all though I would still say that the good points outweigh the bad and I'd def be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulcally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    69
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
86
158
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this B&B, the owners are very welcoming and friendly and will try to help you find your way around if you ask them. Prior to us coming there, the owners contacted us via e-mail to make sure they had accurate information on our booking - very nice routine indeed!

Our room was OK in size, bathroom also OK. The breakfast provided was OK. Considering where this B&B is located and the overall room standard, I find this place rather expensive compared to some of the other places we stayed at during our trip, but I will still recommend this as a nice place to stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Plaine. Steph was a great hostess and made us feel very welcome. One of the best dog friendly places I have ever stayed. Everything was very comfortable but decor could have done with updating especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hiding behind an overgrown wisteria, an attractive house in the gorgeous village of Norton St Philip- a destination in itself, despite also being close to Bath.

Check in was very easy. We were greeted very warmly by Stephanie who likes to consider the house a home from home. She showed us round and was very helpful.

In terms of the accommodation, there appear to be only a few historic features remaining, which is a disappointment in such an historic house and town. We had two rooms. One room was painted two odd shades of brown and mushroom. Whilst I wouldn't review on taste, it wasn't our cup of tea. The bathroom was old and tired and there was a strong smell of drains. The shower was strong but had dodgy temperature fluctuations. Some of the windows opened, some were painted shut, which didn't help air the place. The other room was a four-poster. Again, not decorated to our taste, but a comfortable bed. Bathroom shower lacked somewhat.

Breakfast was fine. Stephanie was helped out with a really lovely assistant, whom we thought was charming. The sausages tasted a bit like Walls' and black pudding would have been nice. A tasty breakfast nonetheless.

Overall a pleasant stay. I'm not sure it's worth the £120 + 3% debit card fee on a Saturday night in August, especially when the George Inn across the road is only £130. It would certainly benefit from a freshen up and, in our eyes, a redecoration too. But Stephanie and her helper were very pleasant and welcoming and it's clear that with its many rooms and repeat visitors, a lot of effort has gone into it being a busy and popular B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 68394944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I had booked a room at another place that I didn't find due to a faulty map and an incomplete address; when I showed up at The Plaine, I was made to feel very welcome but the hostess also claimed she didn't know that other place I was looking for - but I learned afterward it's only one minute away. Considering that this ended up costing me 260€ for a no-show, it does leave a sour taste in my mouth.
This being said, to put it simply, it is a nice place to stay, but definitely overpriced. It's almost twice as expensive as most of the other places we stayed at in the South of England, and no way is it twice better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Nathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you have ever searched almost a day to find a place to sleep, The Plaine is worth it to search so long. We never had a so nice and friendly welcome. Stephany is a born hostess. Everything of The Plaine is excellent. If we ever go to Bath in the future, we will be there again in Norton St. Philip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithia, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very happy we found the Plaine Guest House! The service was excellent! When we arrived our younger daughter had an upset stomach. She just wanted some soup for dinner. We got some soup at the local shop and Stephanie opened up her kitchen and dining room for us! They were so kind! The room was cozy and they actually moved things around so we could all share a room together for the night. The breakfast was perfect and the owners are very organized! They gave us great directions and suggestions for parking in Bath. After a few weeks in England and one in France, we have to say our experience at the Plaine and in Bath will always be one of our fondest memories.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton St Philip
5.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
1.6 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 6 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bath Lodge Castle
Bath Lodge Castle
#3 of 6 in Norton St Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaine Guesthouse

Property: The Plaine Guesthouse
Address: Bell Hill, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Norton St Philip
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Norton St Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaine Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes away from Bath City Centre, this 16th Century Guesthouse offers traditional charm, privacy and comfort. The beautiful Norton St Philip Village is quintessentially English and boasts England's Oldest Inn 'The George'. The Plaine is centrally located for Wells, Glastonbury, Stonehenge and Bath. The Plaine offers affordable luxury with rooms having Four Poster en-suite bedrooms. There is a regular Bus Service into Bath with Golfing, horse riding, walking, scenic and historic trails close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Plaine Guesthouse Bath/Norton St Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing