We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic host and nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plaine Guesthouse
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic host and nice stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights. It had a very homely feel and the host Stephanie couldn't be more accommodating. On our last day, she even drove us over 30km away to pick up our car the day after a wedding we were attending. The breakfast was adequate. You do get a fry up and tea and toast and cereals. There is parking onsite and on-street parking is available too which also feels very safe.

The room we stayed in was lovely but the road outside in the morning sounded more like a motorway than a B road! The price itself is a bit expensive however, we paid £120 per night which we thought was quite pricey for a guesthouse.

On consideration of the good vs the bad points, we would definitely stay here again, but would maybe look for a room at the back of the house. The host is possibly the most welcoming and friendly I have ever met in my travels and is certainly the main jewel in this crown.

Room Tip: Look for a room at the rear of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    69
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
87
158
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We phoned up last minute as our other local bed and breakfast had let us down. We were given a family room and a very warm welcome. The breakfast was perfect - something for everyone and very beautifully cooked. We were told to treat the place as home from home and it certainly was. Very helpful, friendly and informative hostess who took time to attend to every need. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. I understand that t help a family in need late at night the hostess even gave up her own bedroom the night we were there as it was a BH weekend and demand had clearly outstripped supply in the area. She is born to be in the hospitaility industry!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for a few nights mid-week and were made to feel very welcome. Yes, some of the decor could do with updating but this didn't detract from the overall enjoyment of our stay; we spent most of our time in the room sleeping after exhausting ourselves on various trips anyway! Breakfast was lovely and leisurely, and our choices were accommodated well. Very little parking 'on-site' but ample parking in both the pubs so that wasn't an issue and we felt safe parking our car 'off-site'. Definitely recommend the Fleur de Lys for an evening meal; amazing food at a good value and perfect staggering home distance if you want to unwind with a couple of alcoholic beverages. We would stay here again if we're ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed one night at The Plaine for our 12th wedding anniversary. We booked Room 1 with the 4-poster bed and weren't disappointed!! Check-in was at 5pm but we were early as had a reservation at the Thermae Spa - Steph greeted us in a professional friendly manner and accommodated us by letting us book in early so that we didn't have to lug our bags around with us! Room was stunning, yes the floor was a little creaky and the bathroom needed a little updating but I love old houses and the quirks that come with them so it wasn't a problem in the slightest - afterall, we were only planning to sleep in the room - not stay for a week ;)
Steph made us feel like extended family - she was so helpful in helping us find a car park as close to the Spa as possible, recommended restaurants to try etc, nothing was too much effort. Breakfast the next day was delicious, plenty of coffee and toast re-fills too. Relaxed check out process and spent time chatting to Steph before we headed off into Bath.

Good points? Lovely old house, lots of character and with only a few rooms, feels very personal. Steph is lovely, a great host and made us feel relaxed and comfortable straight away.
Bad points? Car parking wasn't ideal - we ended up parking on a side street as couldn't get in the car park. The shower could do with updating - the fixing only allowed the shower head to move up and down not swivel round, so I struggled to wash properly without taking the head completely off the fixing! Water pressure was excellent though! Individual toiletries are not provided in the bathroom, however there was a decent shower cream dispenser on the wall of the shower and we'd brought our own so it wasn't a problem anyway! Road outside b&b is surprisingly busy, especially first thing in the morning (we stayed Sunday night) - luckily the rooms are large and have high ceilings so weren't stifling at night but with the windows open the road noise was very noticeable. All in all though I would still say that the good points outweigh the bad and I'd def be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulcally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this B&B, the owners are very welcoming and friendly and will try to help you find your way around if you ask them. Prior to us coming there, the owners contacted us via e-mail to make sure they had accurate information on our booking - very nice routine indeed!

Our room was OK in size, bathroom also OK. The breakfast provided was OK. Considering where this B&B is located and the overall room standard, I find this place rather expensive compared to some of the other places we stayed at during our trip, but I will still recommend this as a nice place to stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Plaine. Steph was a great hostess and made us feel very welcome. One of the best dog friendly places I have ever stayed. Everything was very comfortable but decor could have done with updating especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hiding behind an overgrown wisteria, an attractive house in the gorgeous village of Norton St Philip- a destination in itself, despite also being close to Bath.

Check in was very easy. We were greeted very warmly by Stephanie who likes to consider the house a home from home. She showed us round and was very helpful.

In terms of the accommodation, there appear to be only a few historic features remaining, which is a disappointment in such an historic house and town. We had two rooms. One room was painted two odd shades of brown and mushroom. Whilst I wouldn't review on taste, it wasn't our cup of tea. The bathroom was old and tired and there was a strong smell of drains. The shower was strong but had dodgy temperature fluctuations. Some of the windows opened, some were painted shut, which didn't help air the place. The other room was a four-poster. Again, not decorated to our taste, but a comfortable bed. Bathroom shower lacked somewhat.

Breakfast was fine. Stephanie was helped out with a really lovely assistant, whom we thought was charming. The sausages tasted a bit like Walls' and black pudding would have been nice. A tasty breakfast nonetheless.

Overall a pleasant stay. I'm not sure it's worth the £120 + 3% debit card fee on a Saturday night in August, especially when the George Inn across the road is only £130. It would certainly benefit from a freshen up and, in our eyes, a redecoration too. But Stephanie and her helper were very pleasant and welcoming and it's clear that with its many rooms and repeat visitors, a lot of effort has gone into it being a busy and popular B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68394944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton St Philip
1.6 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bath Lodge Castle
Bath Lodge Castle
#3 of 5 in Norton St Philip
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
At The Manor
At The Manor
#5 of 5 in Norton St Philip
128 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaine Guesthouse

Property: The Plaine Guesthouse
Address: Bell Hill, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Norton St Philip
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Norton St Philip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaine Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes away from Bath City Centre, this 16th Century Guesthouse offers traditional charm, privacy and comfort. The beautiful Norton St Philip Village is quintessentially English and boasts England's Oldest Inn 'The George'. The Plaine is centrally located for Wells, Glastonbury, Stonehenge and Bath. The Plaine offers affordable luxury with rooms having Four Poster en-suite bedrooms. There is a regular Bus Service into Bath with Golfing, horse riding, walking, scenic and historic trails close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Plaine Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaine Guesthouse Bath/Norton St Philip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing