We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
14 reviews
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Norton St Philip, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

Stunning house with everything we needed for celebrating our anniversary. The pool and hot tub were the highlight for us. This is the perfect house for any special occasion, highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chic2geek
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not the “luxury” that was promised ”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We visited as a group of 3 families and have mixed feelings over the house. Have we had a great time, yes. Would we stay here again, unlikely.
The cornhouse is advertised as a large “luxury” house to sleep up to 17. My biggest frustration is the showers, a number of them didn’t work at all (not just due to the pressure which we were pre warned about) and once 1 or 2 people had showered, there was no hot water left for the remaining house. In 4 days I managed only one hot shower, and after a particularly cold one the shower door which was wobbling and shaky, literally came off in my hands! It all felt very faulty towers!!
The house is huge which has benefits because you don’t disturb any early sleepers but the negative being with small children, you cannot hear them at all once they are in bed - if you have young ones bring an intercom.
Rooms are all good sizes but the beds are really uncomfortable, I woke aching every morning.
The dining chairs are mainly broken and a number are unusable. The “large antique table” which is advertised is actually two old shabby ones pushed together to make a strange shaped eating space.
The aga was fun to use but ovens were grubby and the conventional oven was so filthy and smelt so bad when we turned it on that we didn’t feel it was usable.
Most worryingly was the pool and windows. The pool cannot be securely locked, it has an old bolt on the door but this is at child height so they could easily access it. Ours are well behaved and didn’t go in without an adult but they could have accessed it without us.
With the windows, some lock when open but a number are broken. As well as worrying that the kids could fall out when they were open, We had an intruder on the grounds when we stayed who returned multiple times until we called the police. Although in some ways you think this cannot be helped, it transpired he was known to the co-owner of the house next door which is also owned by the same owner of this property. The book stated you will be asked to leave if you play music too high but even after we reported him to the the owner for trespassing he still returned to the property the following day. We had a number of children here so after the initial report, he should not have been left unsupervised as he clearly needed a carer and was quite aggressive and it unsettled everyone here and tainted the holiday. It made the lack of secure doors and windows very apparent.
Finally, There is an x box and tv but bring your own batteries for the remotes as these had all been removed.
Ultimately, it’s what it says, a large house with a swimming pool and hot tub which suits large groups of people but the promised “luxury” failed to deliver

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
Thank you for your review - I’ll take your views into consideration - please note the window was NOT broken prior to your stay (guest prior to you left us a 5 star review) and as you are aware we have staff/contractors on call almost 24 hours a day. Had you reported these issues we'd have sent someone out immediately but you didn't report a single issue to us even before you left this review.

Also the pool door has door closures on 2 of them making it impossible for a small child to open and gain access to them. Additionally the bolt is definitely high enough for a small child not to reach who wouldn't be able to stand in the shallow end of the pool (which is the side you enter the pool area).

The stranger you speak of us was not at all known to us and we have no connection whatsoever with this person. I'm glad to understand that when you called the authorities it was dealt with effectively.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This house is incredible! Ultimate party palace”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had 12 people come to stay here on a Hen weekend and we all absolutely loved the house. There was much more at the house than we expected, such as toilet roll, cleaning bits, tea towels etc., so we ended up leaving some of the new bits we had brought at the house too.
Each room was lovely, the hot tub was easy and ready to use and the pool was great in the evening. We stayed in most of the weekend, the house is so comfortable and welcoming we were so happy with it. Charles and the team at Acorn were really helpful and accommodating.
Would definitely recommend for a large group or family, this house really is lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab place for a big get together!”
Reviewed 25 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this amazing house for my 30th birthday following a recommendation from a friend who had already stayed there, and couldn't recommend it enough for a big get together!
I know a few others have said this in reviews, but the photos really don't do justice to how huge the house actually is! It's like a maze inside! There's plenty of space for everyone so you're never going to feel like you're on top of each other.
Beds were all really comfortable (if a little squeaky!) and the place was clean when we arrived. The hot tub is an amazing addition, and the pool was lots of fun.
Only complaint I have is the showers. We knew the top floor communal shower had poor pressure, so expected this, but unfortunately a lot of the other showers also had the issue of being very very cold! Most of us ended up having to use the tiny shower by the pool in the end, which isn't ideal, but we made it work. That was the only thing I could find fault with though.
Norton St Philip is a gorgeous little village, and the old pub down the road is lovely! Also definitely recommend a trip to Bath, as it's a gorgeous city. Get a Sally Lunn Bun!
Overall I had an amazing time, and would come back in a heartbeat! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo S
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mum s 60 th birthday”
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time here for my mums 60 th birthday, we were a mix of ages and everyone enjoyed the stay .
the house is amazing , the pool and hot tub are equally as amazing , hot tub was huge.
Kitchen has all you need for cooking , lounge is lovely and cosy, there’s plenty of dining space for large groups.
The bedrooms are all ok , the main bedroom is really nice .
I think the house could do with electric showers as some of the showers played up.
But that would be my only negative .
The owner was very helpful and as there was no one in the house the day before he let us check in a bit earlier.
The george pub down the road does really lovely food for a celebration meal out .
We would definitely all go back and stay here again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Corn house is situated in an excellent location within easy walking distance to the local bus into Bath and the George Pub in Philip Norton with its splendid views of the church and cricket green. We arrived at the Corn House on Friday 1st September to celebrate my 50th birthday, the kitchen/dining areas/sitting room and bedrooms space was very good with adequate seating area outside. Our first impression was it had the Wow factor, however there were a few areas that do need addressing for the amount of money it cost for 2 nights. The conservatory roofs leaks and roof area needs some TLC, the cover on the hot tub needs replacing as riped and very tatty, the kitchen is in need of a deep clean as we had to wash the plates and untensils before we used them, the water pressure needs addressing to accomondate for a party of 15 and the wheel handle in the swimming pool needs replacing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

everything you need hot tub was great pool fab lots of stairs .needs a bit of attention to decor and furnture

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2018
thank you for your review - it was great to have you stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;