We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming home”
Review of Withy Mills Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Timsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Withy Mills Farm
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We drove West from London and it was a perfect summer's day as we arrived. Debbie was so welcoming and we tucked into the delicious scones on arrival. The facilities are well thought out the cottage was clean and very comfortable. We loved the kitchen and the little touches like board games and so on. The walks in the area were fantastic and Debbie was always there if we needed anything. We loved staying here, it was a really lovely place in the heart of west country hills and we felt as though we had come home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robbos644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

LOCATION: Some of the roads are very narrow leading to Timsbury Bottom so if using a GPS system, be careful. Our GPS brought us in on some of the single country lanes. It's worth doing google maps investigating prior to arrival and plan your route. Debbie provided us with a very helpful local map once in Timsbury to help you get around town.

Unfortunately the local pub was not serving food due to a change in ownership, but we did discover a wonderful tea room called 'Connies' which lucky for us started serving dinner Thursdays - Saturdays. The chef was fantastic, accommodating and prepared gourmet fresh food.

We used our cottage as a base to visit Bath, Cheddar Gorge and Bristol. We had no trouble parking in Bath or Bristol as I looked up the long term parking lots the night prior on my tablet. I think the key is to arrive into these towns no later than 10:30 am. We also visited them on weekdays. The long term parking worked out more economical than four adults using the park and ride.

WHIPPLETREE COTTAGE: Stunning and very impressive modern decor. Just look at the website and this is very accurate. We could not find the hairdryer in the bathroom or the bedroom vanity, but managed without. Bathroom is starting to develop a little mold in the tile grout. Beds very comfortable, except foot board on the twin bed bothersome for my 6' 4" son. Not a problem unless you are over 6 feet! Special note * there is no window that opens in the ground floor bedroom, so the air got a bit stuffy at night. Make sure your kids don't shut their bedroom door or it will overheat on a summer's night.

The rear of the cottage overlooks the Somerset fields and also some baby calves. We enjoyed sitting out for coffee/breakfast taking it all in each morning. We even saw an owl very early one morning!
The sunsets are fantastic from this location. Don't miss it and get your cameras ready!

The scones and jam on arrival were very welcomed and handy for a breakfast treat the next morning.

It is incredibly quiet - I don't think I have ever slept so well anywhere in my life except at this place. A wonderful and welcome retreat for us concrete city dwellers!

My only criticism is the WIFI. I received it on my tablet in the living area and upstairs bedroom, but my family were unable to connect long enough to send emails. It seemed to only work in a couple of places within the cottage. I'm okay with this as we were on vacation, but teenagers do like to have use of their devices at all times! I think it may have something to do with the solid stone structure, as we have a similar problem at our home on one side of our house that is solid granite.

Overall I would highly recommend this spot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADK_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stopped here last week and had a fantastic time we stayed in the Whippletree Cottage which was very comfortable and was everything we expected from the information given Debbie came and welcomed us on a arrival and gave us a quick run through with everything and the scones and jams where very welcome
we would certainty come back to this cottage again and is so handy for visits to Bath with the park and ride just down the road we are also Natural Trust members and found a lot of them to visit in the area

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here on a long weekend to Bath and couldn't have had a better stay! We were welcomed with scones and tea, which was perfect after a long drive. The cottage was beautiful, the kitchen well-equipped and the bed super-comfortable. Loved the underfloor heating and the enormous pile of logs for the fire - we were cosy for the entire time! It was a great break away in peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki_Pr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were looking for an easy break in the country with our 3 month old and Withy Mills did not disappoint. We were booked in to Wharfingers Cottage with lovely underfloor heating and a log burning stove. The kitchen was very well equipped and, as did all the cottages, had super views across the rolling countryside. Had the weather been better, we would have loved to have sat outside and watch the sunset with a glass of wine but instead we made do with cosy nights in front of the fire.

The farm is in an excellent location. We had great days out at the races (Bath), shopping (Street outlet centre), waling in Eber (?) Gorge, exploring farm shops and walks. We also went to Longleat which was brilliant and again, just 30 minutes away. Debbie and Tom gave us a real insight into the runnings of the dairy farm and I would highly recommend asking for a little tour.

Top tip - if going with a baby, take some nice rugs for baby to lie on. The heated flagstone flooring is lovely but a little hard for small people.

Just be aware that the track leading to the farm really is quite bumpy so be careful unless youre in a 4x4!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Withy Mills for a Valentine's weekend and as a base for exploring the surrounding area. Despite arriving in some of the worst British storms in recent years we were given a warm welcome from Debbie and there was a delightful plate of scones waiting for us. The cottage has stunning views and is a very good size with all the facilities you could want. We visited Bath on Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed a visit to the Pump Rooms but we were so happy with the cottage we stayed there throughout Sunday and walked the local area. The wood burner is a treat on a cold night and the large bath adds to the luxury. We also enjoyed a very tasty curry from the restaurant in Camerton and would highly recommend. Can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Whipple Tree Cotage at Withy Mills Farm is ideal for a couple or small family. Absolutely everything is provided in this cosy, comfortable and very clean holiday home. The warm scones on arrival, the generous supply of tea, coffee, etc and the huge basket of logs for the woodburner, all help to make for a very warm welcome. The cottage is tastefully furnished and decorated; bedding and towels are top quality. This is a great find and we will be recommending to our friends.

Room Tip: All cottages have lovely views over open fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Withy Mills Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Withy Mills Farm

Address: Timsbury Bottom, Timsbury, Bath, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Timsbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Timsbury
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Withy Mills Farm Timsbury, Bath, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing