We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay for 1 wonderful night for a friends wedding at the local community centre”
Review of Pitfour House

Pitfour House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Timsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pitfour House
Ranked #2 of 3 Timsbury B&B and Inns
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We stay for 1 wonderful night for a friends wedding at the local community centre”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wow, wow, wow. We were warmly welcomed by Francis, who was completely relaxed about our two very bouncy children. We had spent a few hours in a car travelling to our friends wedding, then made the children sit through the wedding quietly. So when we released them at Pitfour House you can imagine how bouncy they both were. Francis calmly said "don't worry I have 6 grandchildren" and let them zoom around her back garden. We were invited into this lady's home, it didn't feel like we were entering a B&B with the usual rules pinned up or a verbal list of does and don't. We were warmly invited in and made to feel at home by Martin and Francis. We were shown to our room, which was the ensuite double. This room is normally only for 3 people but our youngest usually ends up in our bed most nights so when I booked I discussed the room options with Francis and she was happy with the arrangement of sharing. But when we returned from the wedding our son also decided to joined us he made a wise decision as the bed was so comfortable. The bed was a very comfortable super king size so happily slept all of us. Nothing was too much trouble for our comfort and welcome into this beautiful home. The following morning Francis cooked my son and I full breakfast just the way we like it, my daughter had a boiled egg with soldiers. There was homemade preserves, toast, fresh fruit and yogurt and you could have anything cooked just the way you liked it again nothing was too much trouble to please.
I usually say I would go again to a hotel/B&B, meaning I would go again if I was passing or looking for accommodation in the area, with Pitfour House and Francis and Martin I am certain I will return just to stay at this beautiful house.
Book anywhere else and you will miss out.

Room Tip: There is only 2 guest rooms I think. The one we had was a large double room with ensuite. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekkiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockport UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent three nights at this lovely B & B run by Francis and Martin. A beautiful quiet house full of antiques. Service was superb from the tea and cakes served every afternoon to the comprehensive breakfast. We also dined with Frances and Martin on two evenings and thoroughly recommend the cooking which is at least equal to that of a first class restaurant..A Park and Ride for Bath is available about four miles away.
Only two guest rooms so advance booking is recommended

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent . We had the one with en-suite facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincentiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Visiting Bath for a birthday celebration including rugby. We found Pitfour House through the Wolsey Lodges brochure. The description and recommendations did not disappoint. We spent a very enjoyable and relaxing 2 days with Frances and Martin in their beautiful home. Breakfast and dinner cooked by Frances would equal many first class hotels and she catered for my gluten free diet! Pitfour House will definitely be our first choice when we next visit Bath.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely Guest House. A very warm welcome by Frances and Martin, with tea and home made cake in their comfortable lounge with log fire. Nothing was too much trouble. The house is a treasure trove of antiques with lovely comfortable bed and pillows to die for. Breakfast was excellent with a large variety of cereals, fresh fruit and a choice of cooked English. We would definitely visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
250 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Previous reviews are universally positive - and on the evidence of our two night stay they are absolutely right. What more can one say? Welcoming and friendly hosts, relaxing cosy lounge, lovely well appointed bedroom (not problem about the bathroom being separate), lots of good touches, and an absolutely first class breakfast. Not to be missed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WTT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polegate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I can't recommend Pitfour House highly enough! We received a warm welcome from the hosts who were very accommodating when our daughter arrived late for supper. Pitfour house is a fascinating period property with every comfort imaginable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

It's not possible for us to add to the marvellous reviews of Pitfour House except to say that Martin and Frances are superb, interesting hosts and their home is delightful. This was our second stay and we hope to visit many times more. Thank you both.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timsbury
0.6 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
6.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.5 mi away
School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 158 in Bath
1,175 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 158 in Bath
787 reviews
5.4 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#18 of 158 in Bath
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitfour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitfour House

Property: Pitfour House
Address: Pitfour House High Street, Timsbury, Bath BA2 0HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Timsbury
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Timsbury
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Pitfour House Timsbury, Bath, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing