We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings, but good overall”
Review of The Old Malt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Malt House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timsbury
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Hotel well placed for visiting Bath, Bristol and local NT properties, if you want a rural base.
Very clean, with friendly staff and a good breakfast..
If you want a quiet room, ask for one at the back of the building. Ours was at the front, directly facing onto a narrow road, which was busy at times - particularly early morning.
Also, be sure of the price you are paying. There are different size bedrooms and (obviously) different prices for the time of year. The website's terminology of, for example, "from £80 to £95" is confusing as it seemingly reflects the differences in size of room, but not the effect of the time of year, which appears to be above these figures.
Apart from these two 'gripes', an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: See review
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modigli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for The Old Malt House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

had a lovely w/end a few weeks ago ,we booked bed and breakfast and eve meal the food was fantastic and really good value. the owners were very helpful and i would highly recommend this hotel . will be returning again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gobie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

we are just back from a lovely short break at this charming Hotel
we had a great time and this Hotel made the weekend
The Hosts and staff were so friendly, kind and helpful throughout our stay
The Hotel was a gem, with a lovely bedroom, very comfortable beds and a lounge, which you could enjoy and unwind after a hectic day exploring Bath and surrounding areas
we eat at the hotel every eveing and the food was exceptional, the surroundings were nice too set in the village of Radford
We shall definately return to this Hotel again next year to explore further around Bath
we both wish the owners and staff a very Merry Xmas and we shall book again soon
Regards,
Maureen and Colin Magee (room 11)

Room Tip: sorry clicked on swimming pool by mistake
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vintageperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A very friendly hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff. Excellent food. Room was pleasant, clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. Good location out of town for access to Bath, Bristol and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We enjoyed two nights here. Lots of positives. Very pleasant lounge, good for relaxing before a meal. Spacious room. Friendly and helpful staff. Real milk in the room. Good location near to Bath, Bristol, Wells and much more.

Small niggles: mattress could have been better. A little too much noise and chat at times.

Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WTT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Four couples spent a weekend here in October 2013. The rooms were spotlessly clean, had a good view over the countryside and had everything that we wished for. The meal on our first night was not very good. Three of our Group had chicken which was somewhat over cooked and tough. The breakfasts were excellent as were the other meals. A very clean and proper Hotel and our bed was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in October 2013. Unpretentious, pretty and secluded country location a little way outside Bath (you do need a car to get to hotel). Clean and comfortable rooms, good food, exceptional and very helpful service. Good food. Dinner optional - let staff know by 5 pm if you require evening meal

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walker37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timsbury
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
6.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
8.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 32 in Bath
189 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,279 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Malt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Malt House

Address: Timsbury, Bath BA2 0QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Timsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timsbury
Price Range: £93 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Malt House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Malt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Malt Hotel
Old Malt Hotel
The Old Malt House Timsbury, Bath, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing