We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax, and right on the beach!”
Review of Coconut Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canoa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coconut Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Canoa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just had an absolutely awesome couple of days here. The guys (Olly and Walker) were great, really friendly, helpful and up for a laugh. The hotel is right on the beach and is a short walk into the main town, so you get all the advantages of that without all the noise! The rooms were really nice, clean and reasonably priced and the roof terrace was amazing. I would recommend this place to anyone, and will definitely be back again. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Super laid back place with great people and beautiful, immaculate beach at your front door. The rooms are basic but clean and have their own decks facing the ocean. The owners know everything there is to know about Canoa if you want to tour around and see something interesting (such as the local microbrewery). Really enjoyed our week here, they cooked up some good food and we really comfortable. About a mile down the road from Canoa proper, its just far enough for some peace and quiet yet close enough you can walk into town for something to do. Girls shouldn't walk home from town on the beach at night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frankie_Hummus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

After rocking up to Canoa intending to stay only three nights I found myself by chance wandering into the Coconut hotel. Over a month and half later I had to pull myself away from this Oasis to continue on my travels. A perfect location about 15 minutes walk on the beach from town, I met some wonderful people that Ill be sure to stay in touch with.

Your front garden being a beach, watching the sunset from the roof and learning to surf everyday while hanging with great people, what more could you want.

Thank you Zac and Pete for everything.

Mary xxx

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank IrishMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My fiance and I were stoked to come across this little gem outside of the hustle and bustle of Canoa. We stayed there for one night and was the best night we had in a long time.

Pete was an amazing host (and a SUPER cook - our meals were delicious).

The hotel itself was huge and right on the beach. No matter where you are - you can hear the beautiful beach which is practically at the doorstep of you room and you can see the ocean over the palm trees from every room in the place. Something you can't get everyday that's for sure.

There is an amazing rooftop bar and the service is second to none. We have stayed in some lovely places around the world - but when we are back this way we will be dropping back to the Coconut as it is in our top 5 (even if its just for a coffee and the most amazing breakfast burrito I have ever eaten).

Thanks Pete for a fantastic night of drinks with your pals and a beautiful dinner.

Room Tip: Don't miss this one - there is a little work being done on the roads surrounding the hotel at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ButtoandMez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

After a long drive from Quito over some roads that don't deserve that title, it was great to see Pete's face through the gate. Even though he didn't get our email and wasn't expecting us, he said "right on" and "come on in". The cervezas and Sambucca came out and even though it was after 8 PM, Pete offered us some leftover seafood chowder. It was fantastic. This isn't the Ritz, but there's a lot more to a great stay and good memories than fancy linens. Our short stay at the Coconut gave us more memories and stories than most of the other places we stayed, combined.
--we love you Pete.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SnailBoyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The location is excellent, being a nice walk down the beach from Canoa. We wanted to enjoy the beach without the crowds and music of town and Coconut was perfect. We stayed in town 2 nights then moved to Coconut and extended our stay in Canoa an extra week. Really good food and a laid back environment created by Peter.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Awolcen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

In October 2011, my girlfriend and I travelled around Ecuador. When we made it to the coast our goal was to find a relaxed place to stay for two weeks. Luckily for us we stumbled upon the Coconut Hotel while walking down the beach, and stumble is definitely the correct word, because it is about one hundred feet from the ocean. That said, our experience there was perfect. Very good price for clean rooms with nice beds, and having a small bar with unique, savory on-call food made for a great place to hang-out when not in Canoa. Also, the staff is phenomenal in terms of amiability, professionalism and service. So, thank you Josh and Camille for an exceptional time on the beach by running a great, laid back place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NateMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canoa
0.0 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#2 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Canoa's Wonderland
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Canoa
Hosteria Canoa
#1 of 16 in Canoa
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rutamar
Hotel Rutamar
#4 of 16 in Canoa
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amalur Hostal Restaurante
0.0 mi away
Cocoa Inn Hostal
Cocoa Inn Hostal
#15 of 16 in Canoa
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Hotel

Address: 1142 San Vincente Highway, Canoa 131451, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Canoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Canoa
Price Range: £8 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront hotel, good surf. All the fun of Canoa but positioned 1 km out of town for some tranquility and a good night's sleep. Great restaurant and bar with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. you know the rest... We look forward to servicing all of your needs in paradise... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing