We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay.22nd july to 27th july” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Polegate
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay.22nd july to 27th july”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great hotel. Brilliant staff. Very helpful. Great food. I slept with my 2 boys on the car park side which meant in the intense heat this week that by the time bedtime came the sun was on the other side. I slept perfectly well actually and only had the fans on twice. Staff were very friendly. I have to diabetic boys. One of them wasnt too well on thursday night and they offered to call a paramedic if needed. As i had already called my doctors in colchester. I managed to get him through the night. The day after was an xtra night added to the four nights i had and they were so good they extended my decision time to four oclock so we could see how well he was. Brill. Will stay there again. The treacle mine was good too. I ate there three nites. Found it quite pleasant. Contrary to what some people say.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    167
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
174
188
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, 2 rooms, with wife, brother in law and 1yr old baby. The best thing about this hotel was the staff - everyone we encountered were friendly and polite, went out of their ways to be helpful, chatting to us when we walked past etc. Great personalities shining through. The rooms were clean and in good repair, and whilst there was building work and an extension going on, this didn't affect us.

Next door to the hotel is a Table table pub restaurant (nice building with great potential, but not very well run), a 24hr garage with a good sized co-op shop open 24/7 (very handy), and a McDonalds (good for breakfast). Car parking was limited due to building work, but we managed to park round the corner.

The downside was that we visited during the heatwave, and despite the hotel providing 2 fans in each room, the rooms were way too hot. They are so well insulated against sound that there is no airflow (you can see this as with the room door closed at night and the lights off, hardly any light leaks past the door), and I can imagine that every wall and floor has 100mm of insulation to keep the hotel warm and quiet. The windows only hinge open at the bottom by maybe 5cm so there was no airflow whatsoever.

The room theromstat helpfully shows the inside air temperature, and throughout our stay it was between 26 and 29.5 degrees, and most of the time 28.5, despite keeping curtains closed all day, window open, fans on etc.

It was not the hotel staff's fault of course, and they did their best, but perhaps with all the hot weather we have, if PremierInn cannot afford aircon in the rooms, then maybe the window catches need to be a type that can be unlocked on request so that the windows can open fully? I've had this in other hotels, eg Holiday Inn Express, where you can request the catches to be unlocked...

28.5 degrees in the room at 2am really does not help sleep at all, we slept on the bed with no duvet at all but both woke up covered in sweat. It was undoubtedly the most uncomfortable 2 nights' sleep we've ever had.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The usual Premier inn. Staff good as always . My room was overlooking the front of the hotel and once again people wheeling cases wake you up as does the traffic noise from the main road. Will use it again,it seems popular as they are extending the hotel and this causes limited parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justturned25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here for one night in July. The set up of rooms and ages of children meant we needed 2 rooms. They were both lovely clean rooms and well decorated. The bathrooms were clean and fresh. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist and booking in was easy. We decided to grab a quick early evening meal at the associated pub next door, but didn't get to eat pudding as service was really quite slow and we were on a tight schedule. Unfortunately we had to check out before breakfast was served as we had an early morning train to catch, but knowing how Premier Inn work, I'm sure it would have been good. There was building work being carried out when we were there, but I had received a call before our holiday to see if we wanted to change our booking. We were not affected by this as we were not around during the day. We would stay here again rather than Willingdon Drive when next in Sussex.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sawyer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We picked the hotel based on a very good rating in Tripadvisor and a previous experience in a good one in Coventry, unfortunately our experience did not equate to the rating we were expecting. Our other expectation was that the hotel would have air conditioning and after a couple of uncomfortable nights in London we were looking forward to a cool and relaxing nights sleep. The room was very hot on check-in and the hotel had provided fans in the room. We hoped that the fans would be able to circulate the air but the window did not open sufficiently to allow any of the real exchange of air with the outside. By midnight the room was 28 degrees C, by 5 am in was down to 27 degrees, we know this as the wall thermostat provides a room temperature reading and as we could not sleep we checked the temperature a number of times during the night. We mentioned this situation at checkout but and were offered an apology but it would seem that the good night sleep guarantee does not cover being unable to sleep due to the temperature. Don't use this hotel in hot weather, it is very hot and uncomfortable. Not recommended, and the good nights sleep clause, well say no more.

Room Tip: Do not stay here when it is sunny and warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Premier Inns are not 5 star hotels so dont expect them to be, but our recent stay was a really excellent experience. Days before the trip we were phoned and told that there was building work taking place on site and they wished to apologise for any inconvenience, in advance. Since we stayed on a Sunday there was no noise at all. On arrival we were greeted warmly and directed to a requested quiet room. The view over the fields was nice and there was an added bonus of a good population of rabbits around the site!!!!! The standard rooms are better than basic and provide everything one needs - a request for more tea bags and extra milk was immediately met with. The continental breakfast at the not very impressive 'Treacle Mine' restaurant, across the car park, met our needs; and the cost of the room? £29 Amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My room (room 39 at the end of a corridor on the first floor) was large, quiet, comfortable and well ventilated. Hotel staff were friendly too. However, the associated restaurant (the Treacle Mine) was not so good. Breakfast was reasonable, but at £85 a night you shouldn't get coffee out of an urn which must have been standing there an hour or so getting cool. I had three evening meals. The mains were over cooked each time, and the rocket, which should have been put on top before serving, had gone seriously soggy by the time it got to me. One evening the waitress forgot a salad I'd ordered, the next they forgot to add the swirl of cream to my 'hearty' (but actually rather thin) tomato soup. I know the meals are cheap - but they weren't cheerful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petermillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polegate
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel
Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel
#14 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
8.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Address: Hailsham Road, Polegate BN26 6QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Polegate
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Polegate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a pedal spin away from the National Cycle Network, and a short car ride to Drusilla's Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel Polegate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing