We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When in Polegate, a good option” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Viceroy

The Viceroy
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Polegate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“When in Polegate, a good option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

When marooned at the Premier Inn u have the choice to dine in (the usual) or take 5 min drive here. It's not a spectacular setting abd quite dark inside. Food seems good if not presented very attractively. Portion was pretty huge, I was too stuffed to finish. I would sacrifice a bit of plate filling for a nicer look to the service. Good but not outstanding. Ok. I'm paying my bill and leaving ...

Helpful?
Thank Cynical_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best in Polegate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Been to the Viceroy a few times now great food at a good price would recommend .The staff are very helpful and you can always get a reservation even if they are busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In our opinion The Best Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The quality of the food is 5 star,good presentation,very good fresh ingredients and ample proportions.
We have had a meal from here almost weekly and have never been disappointed .
Very good value and a good selection, you cannot not like any dish!
Eddie

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank eddnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank God.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Wow, after the disappointment last week, no names, it was with much eagerness that we went back to this highly rated Indian.
Needless to say we were NOT left wanting. It was without doubt Fantastic.

I had a Chicken Tikka Balti Madras with Egg rice. Outstanding!!
The wife had The Special

Wow!



Helpful?
Thank Fredbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Little Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

An off the cuff visit on New Year's eve was rewarded with an excellent meal & attentive service.
This is our fourth or fifth visit to The Viceroy and would certainly recommend as one of the finest Indian Restaurants in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cranners11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Viceroy also viewed

Hailsham, East Sussex
 
Polegate, East Sussex
 

Been to The Viceroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing