We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location near South Downs.”
Review of Bo-Peep Farmhouse

Bo-Peep Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polegate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bo-Peep Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Polegate B&B and Inns
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely location near South Downs.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Three ensuite bedrooms, 3 couples who are friends stayed for a weekend together Eileen is a very welcoming hostess, breakfast great, rooms comfortable in this traditional old farmhouse. Our purpose was to walk to Charleston Farmhouse which we did and enjoyed, also walked along the South Downs, visited Berwick church, Alfriston and even went to Eastbourne. Local pub, Rose Cottage Inn was good for evening meal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to live here with so much to do in such a short distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at Bo-Peep Farmhouse for one night for the first time recently. Beautiful location at the foot of the South Downs. Comfortable beautifully furnished traditional farmhouse with all modern conveniences. Very welcoming and warm reception, with wonderful breakfast. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent as far as we could ascertain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Comfortable stay but rooms small and my husband who is 6ft 3" could not walk in the twin room and would never have been able to use the bathroom. Premier rate for a small B&B in Glyndebourne season. Over-priced for small B&B. Paid £95 per night. Good breakfast at shared dining table in small dining room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieDRossendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you Jeannie.

I am sorry you had a couple of issues.

Being in the older part of the house, the height of the ceiling in Alciston room at just over 6 foot 2in can be a difficult for taller people. If somebody arrives who we realise may have a problem, we do try and change things round if we can. As you are aware, Berwick room, which you were in, and neighbouring Firle room, both have much higher ceilings.

Guests in the past have often comment on how they enjoyed sitting at the large dining table. They say they get to compare notes on the previous evenings Glyndebourne performance, or discuss places to visit. I am very sorry that on this occasion it didn't suit you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend (2 adults and our 1-year old son) at the beginning of November 2013 and we really enjoyed it.

The place is very well located with hiking/walking trails passing by just outside the house. We did a few and also went to the coast for a trek along the south downs way one day. There are many small villages nearby for dinner out in the evenings, and one really nice one within walking distance (very practical to not have to drive in the evening after a few drinks in front of a fireplace in the pub).

Eileen & John made us feel very welcome and was very helpful with advice on local walks, restaurants and other activities. Our room was meticulously kept and very cosy. Every day after our walks there was a fresh selection of teas and biscuits waiting for us in our room which was a nice touch. Eileen also prepared great breakfasts for us every morning with fry-ups, all kinds of cereals and fresh fruit.

We warmly recommend this little gem of a B&B.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas_A_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
It's our pleasure Jonas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnhout, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Easily one of the best B&B's in the South. Great location, ideal for walks in the Downs, or visiting Arts and Crafts and Bloomsbury houses. The local pub Rose Inn serves lovely food,and the sea is never far away. Roosmbeautiful and spotlessly clean rooms and Eileen and John are very friendly, helpful and welcoming hosts.
Luc & Mieke, Belgium

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LucMiekeTurnhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you Luc & Mieke. We are lucky to have so many great places to visit nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

a bit off beaten track but gorgeous location and a 20 minute walk along some laneways takes you to past a medieval dovecote, an ancient church to a great pub with some very good food (try the mussels with cheese); wonderful hosts with good suggestions on activities. Busy and hard to book on weekends during opera season (July) but mid week was relatively open.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
You could't have written us a better advert. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We were recommended to stay here at the last moment from a local publican, and we were delighted. Immaculate and clean. Comfy bed, cosy, really friendly owners. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in this delightful part of Sussex. No one would be disappointed as so much going for the location and peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you, and thank you to Ian Lewis at the Rose Cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polegate
5.7 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
8.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chestnuts Bed & Breakfast
Chestnuts Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Alfriston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo-Peep Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo-Peep Farmhouse

Property: Bo-Peep Farmhouse
Address: Bopeep Farm Bopeep Lane | Alciston, Polegate BN26 6UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Polegate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Polegate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this country B&B set in an area of outstanding natural beauty nestling in a peaceful fold of the Sussex Downs. Several cosy country pubs serving excellent lunches and evening meals are nearby. There are three rooms available, two doubles and a twin. All rooms have private en-suites, Free view TV, tea/coffee facilities and central heating. Full English breakfast included. Close to Glyndebourne and Charleston Farmhouse. Wireless broadband. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing