We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”
Review of Bo-Peep Farmhouse

Bo-Peep Farmhouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bo-Peep Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Polegate B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My sister have twice stayed at this b and b. It is in a fabulous location, really rural, ideal for walkers. The b and b is always immaculate, comfortable and quiet and Eileen is friendly and welcoming but also has her own life, so doesn't over intrude! Lovely breakfast too. We well definitely return again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin bedroom which has a lovely bath/jacuzzi but no shower rich some people might p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Polly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you Polly.

We have tried to think of ways to put a shower in Alciston room, but that part of the house was built around 1600 and therefore has a lower ceiling which would make a shower head too low to use satisfactorily. We therefore decide to go for a more luxurious spa bath with a shower attachment as an alternative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Three ensuite bedrooms, 3 couples who are friends stayed for a weekend together Eileen is a very welcoming hostess, breakfast great, rooms comfortable in this traditional old farmhouse. Our purpose was to walk to Charleston Farmhouse which we did and enjoyed, also walked along the South Downs, visited Berwick church, Alfriston and even went to Eastbourne. Local pub, Rose Cottage Inn was good for evening meal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to live here with so much to do in such a short distance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at Bo-Peep Farmhouse for one night for the first time recently. Beautiful location at the foot of the South Downs. Comfortable beautifully furnished traditional farmhouse with all modern conveniences. Very welcoming and warm reception, with wonderful breakfast. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent as far as we could ascertain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay Colin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Comfortable stay but rooms small and my husband who is 6ft 3" could not walk in the twin room and would never have been able to use the bathroom. Premier rate for a small B&B in Glyndebourne season. Over-priced for small B&B. Paid £95 per night. Good breakfast at shared dining table in small dining room.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JeannieDRossendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you Jeannie.

I am sorry you had a couple of issues.

Being in the older part of the house, the height of the ceiling in Alciston room at just over 6 foot 2in can be a difficult for taller people. If somebody arrives who we realise may have a problem, we do try and change things round if we can. As you are aware, Berwick room, which you were in, and neighbouring Firle room, both have much higher ceilings.

Guests in the past have often comment on how they enjoyed sitting at the large dining table. They say they get to compare notes on the previous evenings Glyndebourne performance, or discuss places to visit. I am very sorry that on this occasion it didn't suit you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend (2 adults and our 1-year old son) at the beginning of November 2013 and we really enjoyed it.

The place is very well located with hiking/walking trails passing by just outside the house. We did a few and also went to the coast for a trek along the south downs way one day. There are many small villages nearby for dinner out in the evenings, and one really nice one within walking distance (very practical to not have to drive in the evening after a few drinks in front of a fireplace in the pub).

Eileen & John made us feel very welcome and was very helpful with advice on local walks, restaurants and other activities. Our room was meticulously kept and very cosy. Every day after our walks there was a fresh selection of teas and biscuits waiting for us in our room which was a nice touch. Eileen also prepared great breakfasts for us every morning with fry-ups, all kinds of cereals and fresh fruit.

We warmly recommend this little gem of a B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas_A_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

It's our pleasure Jonas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Easily one of the best B&B's in the South. Great location, ideal for walks in the Downs, or visiting Arts and Crafts and Bloomsbury houses. The local pub Rose Inn serves lovely food,and the sea is never far away. Roosmbeautiful and spotlessly clean rooms and Eileen and John are very friendly, helpful and welcoming hosts.
Luc & Mieke, Belgium

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LucMiekeTurnhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you Luc & Mieke. We are lucky to have so many great places to visit nearby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

a bit off beaten track but gorgeous location and a 20 minute walk along some laneways takes you to past a medieval dovecote, an ancient church to a great pub with some very good food (try the mussels with cheese); wonderful hosts with good suggestions on activities. Busy and hard to book on weekends during opera season (July) but mid week was relatively open.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Bo-Peep Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

You could't have written us a better advert. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bo-Peep Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo-Peep Farmhouse

Address: Bopeep Farm Bopeep Lane | Alciston, Polegate BN26 6UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Polegate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Polegate
Price Range: £95 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this country B&B set in an area of outstanding natural beauty nestling in a peaceful fold of the Sussex Downs. Several cosy country pubs serving excellent lunches and evening meals are nearby. There are three rooms available, two doubles and a twin. All rooms have private en-suites, Free view TV, tea/coffee facilities and central heating. Full English breakfast included. Close to Glyndebourne and Charleston Farmhouse. Wireless broadband. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing