We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ok but in need of a bit of tlc”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Southover

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Wroxham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gazasarah
herts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok but in need of a bit of tlc”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nice place but in need of a bit of TLC and the cleaners need to do more cleaning ! Ceiling fan I one of the bed room had at least 4 mm of dust and cobwebs a 30 second flick within a duster would have sorted but don't think it's seen a duster for at least 6 weeks small thing but details ? Glass roof over bathroom and kitchen nice touch but again when was they last cleaned ? Over all a nice place but I think cleaners need either sacking or a kick up the ... !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOny13320...
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friends annual reunion”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Southover house was an amazing place to spend our weekend together. The place was warm, well equiped, comfortable and a great sociable space. However by far the best thing about this property is its location which is stunning. Surrounded by river with the views and wildlife was an absolute joy. Don't know what it would be like in summer time but March was very peaceful.
Lovey place to stay. Would definitely rebook.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and large sociable space in the property
Liked least: No country pub in walking distance
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iklmisy
Cambridge
2 reviews
“Wow Factor”
Reviewed 16 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We arrived at Southover early evening and it was cold and dark outside - but, we opened the door and were hit by the warmth and charm of the house. We were a group of 9 Mums wanting to get away for a relaxing weekend, and this is exactly what the house offered us. The bedrooms were all warm and cozy, including the Boathouse, and the open living area worked really well too, (not feeling cut off if you were busy in the kitchen!) The dining area was great, it was nice to all be able to sit around the lovely big table. The crockery, furniture and decor etc made it feel like you were staying at a friends house for the weekend, not an unloved holiday home!

When we woke up in the morning the view was a fantastic surprise, even on a cold rainy day the river with the boats going by was so picturesque.

We also managed to make use of the jacuzzi and the boat which we all enjoyed!

We had a few problems with the showers and couldn't get internet access very easily, but these things really didn't spoil our trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan living, the homely feeling and the view
Liked least: No internet access, leaving : (
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firestorm...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay , would love to return.”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We had a great time as part of a large family group. The house is just as expected and was very clean.
Fantastic location , sitting out on the deck with a glass of wine watching the boats go by was a great way of relaxing. You will need a car to get about , but everything is close by.
The hottub was ok but a bit dated and the boat was only a 5 seater not big enough for all of us. The only thing that didn't live up to expectations were the power/ steam showers that only worked as a normal shower. Also the games room needed updating .
We would all like to return at sometime if the price was right.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Boat was too small
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca A
Vevey, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sociable house for groups”
Reviewed 9 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Southover for our annual girls weekend away this year. We were a group of 9, and the house provided a great sociable living space. The nice big square dining table, and three large comfy sofas, meant that everyone was able to sit comfortably in each area, and the kitchen was big enough to cook for big groups easily. The view from the living room is lovely, we really enjoyed being right on the water. The local village (Wroxham) has a couple of nice pubs, and we easily found everything we needed in the shops/supermarket there.

Be warned that the Broads Authorities are quite strict about the number of people you have on the boat, and that the locals will call and complain if they spot you breaking any of the rules. It is a shame that they will only allow 5 people on the boat at any one time, but the boat itself was easy to run and good fun.

The Annex bedroom warmed up quickly with the heater provided, and was quite cosy even in pretty cold outdoor temperatures. The hot tub was good fun and VERY hot!

There are a few points that the owners need to address regarding the water pressure in the showers and how easily the drains block - which we will feedback directly. But none of these were major issues and overall we loved the house! The owners were very helpful and always ready at the end of the phone for any questions we had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open-plan living space
Liked least: The showers and slightly smelly drains
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay, can't wait to go back....”
Reviewed 23 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful communication with the owners, very pleased with all aspects. We had a lovely week away with friends and family and would definitely recommend and return!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views and the living space which is chic and comfy
Liked least: The bad smell and the blocked drains. Object to the coldness of the annex with a heater that doesn't work.
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Apr 2014
All the other guests were very happy this lady did not make the booking a phone call would have allowed me to correct any shortage of toilet paper this lady blocked her WC with face wipes hence the drain smell maybe that's where the toilet paper went! The beds are admixture of firm and soft. I have extra heaters if needed but somebody had fiddled with heating and cut of f boat house.... I really wish I'd been called, we can react very quickly to any problems our priority is for our guests to enjoy themselves
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$339
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing