We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOST EXCELLENT”
Review of Barnes Brinkcraft

Barnes Brinkcraft
Ranked #7 of 13 things to do in Wroxham
Attraction details
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“MOST EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The boat we chose 'Topliner' was reasonable, as we chose the 4 poster bed, comfortable, but I nearly fell out of many times. The arrangement was a bit odd. The galley was great. But the wardrobe and was basin were in the wheelhouse! Unfortunately our boat had a wet dog smell. We managed it by keeping the doors open while travelling. Also, with the bed over the motor, it was extremely hot at night. Would have been great for winter. We had a problem with the door lock and ended up having to lock up from inside and getting out by the wheelhouse. Unfortunely, we did not check all the doors, as if we had, we would have found the key fitted a side sliding door. The drinking water tap didn't work either, but after managing to get hold of someone by phone, we were told it was probably disconnected. But, despite all this, I would recommend their boats. We will be back, but I think we will upgrade to something a little more better laid out and a bit bigger space.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    76
    30
    20
    35
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BRAINTREE
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We hired a boat only for an hour , as we were taking our young daughter out for the first time on the broads, We all thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband and I have previously done 3 night breaks , after this successful trip we will return with our daughter to do a longer trip. We have always used Barnes brinkcraft they have as they have always been professional and friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EILIR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strawbs85, Guest Relations Manager at Barnes Brinkcraft, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to welcoming you back to Barnes Brinkcraft in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Brilliant Barnes!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first experience of The Broads. The guys at the boat yard were very patient in explaining how to drive the boat!!! The boat was well equipped for a day. The Broads were stunning, so much to look at & enjoy. We will go back. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kw00_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strawbs85, Guest Relations Manager at Barnes Brinkcraft, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and sorry it has taken me a while to respond.

It is always very rewarding for our staff to hear that customers have enjoyed their time on the Broads and that we were able to help.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Barnes Brinkcraft in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day boat”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Hired a day boat for a few hours on 5th May, and had a great time. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the boat was in excellent working order.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sonata 4”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had a lovely 3 days on the boat cruising the broads, despite a couple of grey days.

Barnes Brinkcraft: The prices seemed great compared to other places we'd looked at. Service was friendly. When we arrived we had to hang about for a couple of hours before the boat was ready.

The boat: Compared to other boats we've stayed on it was a little frayed around the edges. The kitchen was adequately stocked, there was bedding and lifejackets provided. No salt and pepper/washing up liquid, although we were provided with a handy welcome pack with tea, coffee, biscuits and maps.

Everything seemed a little tired and ill-maintained. Missing poppers on the canopy, lots of missing screws/loose fittings. With regards to Sonata, we found the sleeping area a little too claustrophobic, so slept on the deconstructed table area, which was much nicer. Although we did get dripped on all night from condensation on the roof hatch. The entire boat was pretty damp.

The boat was easy to drive and started up nicely. Our anchor didn't work throughout the trip which is a shame. When we did have a problem with the battery an engineer was sent within half an hour.

Cooked a little on board which was fine. Had a god awful meal at The Hermitage in Acle, and a Lovely meal at The Ship at South Walsham.

The herons were on best behaviour and demonstrated their pro fishing abilities. We saw one catch a massive fish and an eel. Also top marks for seeing an otter near Acle bridge.

Overall, a great time was had, but the condition of the boat was a little tireder than we have experienced with other boat yards.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Zef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnes Brinkcraft also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Barnes Brinkcraft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing