We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage
View from Kitchen Lounge area with double sofers, 55inch TV,  7.1 surround sound system, wood burner and reading lamp.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Front of cottage
View from Kitchen
Lounge area with double sofers, 55inch TV,  7.1 surround sound system, wood burner and reading lamp.
Lounge area 7 wood burner
Wood burning stove 7.5kw
View from Lounge
55inch TV, 7.1 surround sound, movie server, Spotify, Napster, radio tuner, european satellite, etc
Kitchen
Dining table
Kitchen table
King size bed
Boats over bed
Shower room
New hot tub and decking
New hot tub
New hot tub, decking area & remotely controlled colour changing LED lighting
Hot tub, decking & table tennis
Garden
Barton Staithe
Barton Staithe
View from Barton Broad
Painting by Charles Mayes Wigg
Barton Broad
Barton Staithe in the Winter
Barton Staithe in the Winter
Barton Turf in the Winter
Barton Broad cut
Barton Common
Board walk to the river from Barton Staithe
All iced over
Winters morning
The Norfolk Broads map
Barton Staithe, great for fishing
Barton Turf & Neatishead painting
Barton Broad
Sun set on Barton Broad
Cottage living area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wroxham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LRBA123
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for relaxing”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second trip to Sailaway and it was even better to visit it a second time around. The hosts are lovely and very helpful, without being intrusive. They obviously care a great deal about our experience as guests and invest in making the chalet as comfortable and relaxing as possible. It's a very safe and peaceful place to visit, surrounded by a stunning garden - plenty of butterflies, birds, dragonflies and bees to watch if you are interested! Although Barton Turf itself is a peaceful haven with few amenities, you are only a short drive away from some great food, walks, beautiful villages, boat tours, nature reserves...all the delights that The Broads have to offer. We were so happy to revisit Sailaway and I am sure we will be back next year.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hosts, great place”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Had a short break here with my wife, and we couldn't fault anything about it. The cabin is comfortable, warm and stylish, and very well equipped. The TV/technology is a gadget-lover's dream with satellite, European satellite, just about any kind of music you want through a great-sounding system, and a really wide choice of films. Good cooking facilities too. The hot tub's really relaxing and luxurious, even though the weather's been so cold, and the owners were very welcoming. They left us a bottle of wine, but kept out of our way unless we needed them for anything, and they'd ensured the place was spotlessly clean before we arrived. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellifluo...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cabin, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin really is a hidden gem, and the photos don't begin to do it justice, as they can't show how comfortable and at home you feel as soon as you open the door and walk inside. The decor's lovely, tasteful and calming and the overall feel of the place is bright and really cheering, even on a dull day.

Everything is scrupulously clean and nothing that guests might need has been left out, from the super-comfy sofas and beds, to the little touches that can make such a difference.

For example, this is the first holiday let that we've ever stayed in that provides things like gorgeous handsoap, plus useful things like washing up liquid and scrubbies, not to mention a welcome bottle of wine. Usually, we arrive at other places only to realise that we need to go out and shop for various sundries straight away - but not at Sailaway. Even the makings of our first coffee and tea was provided, including fresh milk.

The kitchen is well equipped and the bedlinen is crisp and sparkling clean As for the bed itself, it's superbly comfortable. Lighting is everywhere you need it, often adjustable/dimmable and there are good reading lamps both next to the bed and the sofa (an essential, as far as I'm concerned).

The TV system is fantastic - we've felt as if we had our own cinema every night, and the hot tub is incredible. Everything is a really high spec, and very well maintained, and there's plenty of storage to put all your stuff away, instead of having to live out of suitcases and bags as is so often the case when you arrive with way too much luggage as we usually do.

The hosts are absolutely lovely, too. Not obtrusive or interfering in any way, but always willing to help in any way they can, if they're needed. You can tell that this is more than just a business for them - they genuinely seem to want to make their guests happy.

I'd give Sailaway more than five stars if I could, and my husband and I would love to return very soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin M
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After reading the previous review I was slightly worried about staying here but I'm not sure the previous person stayed in the same place as us.
Upon arriving we met with the owner and her son who were absolutely lovely and so helpful. They really went above and beyond to make us feel relaxed.
The lodge is around 40 yards through their garden and tucked away so you feel like there's no-one else around. The bathroom window is frosted and patterned glass and not over looking anyone so you wouldn't need a blind.
The lodge was clean, modern and cosy. The TV and sound system was amazing along with the 250 pre loaded films the owners have gone out of their way to upload. The bed was so comfortable it was a real struggle getting up each day and the hot tub was outstanding, by far the biggest most powerful hot tub I've ever used. We were told to try and limit usage to an hour in the morning and an hour in the evening as its self cleaning but its that powerful you wouldn't want any longer in there.
They recommended a lovely pub around 1.5 miles away called the White Horse. I highly recommend going as the food was excellent and the homemade gin is a definite must. all in all it was a thoroughly relaxing weekend and ideal for anyone / couples wanting to hole themselves away in-front of a log fire for a few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbutton23
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I booked this for a long weekend and were not left disappointed, in fact it exceeded all expectations. The cabin is located at the bottom of the owners (beautiful) garden and is very secluded and private with the hot tub being directly opposite the entrance to the cabin (so also completely private feeling). The cabin itself is wonderful, everything you could possibly need is provided, amazing TV/sound system with a library of films to choose from, lot's of choice of lighting (lamps/dimmers etc which made the cabin feel very cosy and homely) and the bed/pillows were super comfortable. As the weekend we visited was pretty cold the log fire was an amazing bonus, with one set up and ready on arrival. Both Terence and Annette were welcoming and approachable and even helped us build another fire on the Sunday evening when my boyfriend and I were unable to get one started ourselves! We would both highly recommend Sail Away and wouldn't hesitate to book it again as we both had a throughly relaxing and enjoyable weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Nov 2016
Dear Mrs R Jackson
We were very surprised to read on trip advisor of your experience at Sailaway as you said nothing of your complaint whilst staying at Sailaway or at your departure.
We have recently invested in a new top of the range hot tub which was installed along with new decking and lighting a couple of weeks prior to your stay. This model of hot tub is totally different to the previous one. On installation we were supplied and trained on the use, maintenance and health safety. This particular model is nothing like they were 15 years ago, the jets are much more powerful and give a massage as well as heating the water at a higher temperature.
We take great care to ensure our guests have a delightful, relaxing and safe stay with us, and , take pride in providing 99.9% of our guests with a memorable stay as you can see from our previous reviews.
As for the parking we have an allocated space for our guests in front of our office - at the front of the house.
Terence & Annette.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing