We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and freindly and great vaue for a family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Preston South (Cuerden Way) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bamber Bridge
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and freindly and great vaue for a family break”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had two adjoining family rooms, each sleeping 2 adults and two children (with additional cot available for toddler if needed I beleive). Warm welcome, nothing too much trouble, easy to find, modern hotel and easy parking with choices of eateries adjacent. Breakfast was amongst the best I've enjoyed. We were given two free children's breakfasts for one paying adult and since kids (upto and including age 15) could eat as much as adults, that was three full English breakfasts plus unlimited fresh coffee, tea, juices, cereals, yoghurts and toast etc. for less than £7 in total each day (about £2.30 per person)! - which was astounding value and high quality food and service. As the rooms were booked about 3 weeks in advance they cost only £29 per night per room. Whilst Preston isn't a holiday destination, the hotel's proximity to the motorways meant we could be in the Lake District in about 45 minutes (Lake Windermere); The Yorkshire Dales in a similar time; and Blackpool within about half an hour. We enjoyed a Summer break at this hotel in August 2011 and recommend it to anyone looking for a good reliable quality hotel in a convenient position. We have stayed at other Premier inns too and enjoyed the same high level of acommodation and service and great value for money. Tony L

Room Tip: Book a few weeks in advance for £29 rooms - all the rooms good.Their Nightime Guarantee free room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    89
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
97
69
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is an older Premier Inn but in good condition and the rooms appear to have been renovated recently with flat screen TV's and new fixtures and fittings etc.

Check in was a smooth process with no problems and the room was of good quality with it clean and the additional beds were made up.

The real let down for this hotel comes when you have the breakfast. It is in a pub which is on the same site.

We had booked breakfast for three mornings,

On the first morning the waitress was busy texting on her phone when we arrived but she did then tell us to pick a table and would take our order before she returned to her phone. The staff also seem to have a number of regulars who pop in for breakfast as they enjoyed to shout their banter across the restaurant and collected take out bacon sandwiches etc.
We did finally get breakfast but it wasn't great and the orange juice tasted off.

On the second morning the duty manager was serving so perhaps we were in for a better experience. Sadly not, clearly all is not well in the restaurant and the manager made he woes and views fairly clear as he served people and the arrival of guests only added to his stress. One member of staff, in between mopping the floor, would show guests to table and offer porridge as an option with the manager then laughing at her and mimicking her! However he did kindly cook the toast for my breakfast but then lost himself in conversation with one of the regulars and hence my toast burnt (yes there were flames) whilst he chatted away.

On day three ... we cancelled breakfast, took a refund for that meal and ate somewhere else.

We booked a £29 room and the room was great but to be honest we would only return if the rooms was £29 and there were no other options for miles around. A shame because the Premier Inn staff were really nice and friendly, they were badly let down by the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainFlashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed here in August 2011 with family. Between us we had 3 double rooms, all of which were clean and tidy. The bathroom in my room, on the first floor, could do with some TLC (for instance, the toilet was quite loose and could probably have come off the wall if not too careful).

A few niggles - the rooms don't cater for people who have arthritis e.g. the taps once fully tightened are almost impossible to get a grip on and turn on (I had to ask for help from my family) and the windows are quite awkward to open and close because they have a bar which needs to be twisted (I myself managed this, but it took some time!). With regard to the taps, they could easily be replaced so that guests could use them more easily. 1 last niggle, there was only 1 plug socket available for use in each of the rooms which simply isn't enough! A member of our family was unable to charge her camera because the available plug socket in the room was too close to the desk and therefore the plug was unable to fit in the space provided! I had a similar issue with my phone charger but just managed to wedge it in!

However, lots of positives, not too noisy even though near the busy M6, the staff were all friendly and welcoming, there is a supermarket next door, a pub next door and across the road!

We often stay in the Premier Inn opposite, but the Cuerden Way hotel was much cheaper during the dates we were away which is why we chose to stay here! I'd recommend this hotel, but the one across the road more so!

Room Tip: Although it's not too noisy, if you prefer a quieter room, ask for one overlooking the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparklyStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was our first stay in a Premier Inn. Stayed here for one night on 3rd August on our way South, arrived in the evening and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist, who kindly offered to store milk for us in the reception fridge if required. We had a meal in the restuarant next door and it was really lovely better than we had expected to be honest !! It was great having a small play park to keep the kids amused before bed time. Only problem we had was the heat in the room, there was a note in our room to say the window bar was broken so the window would not be secure if opened, there was a fan in the room but this was not great to be honest, so there for not a great sleep. Breakfast was very good in the morning and thought was well worth what we paid. It was very handy having a large Sainsbury's next door also. Will stay in this hotel again when travelling South again !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red-Lichties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My children and I always stay here when we visit family in Preston. The staff are welcoming, friendly and kind. They are excellent and can not do enough to help. The rooms are clean, plenty big enough for a family of 4 as a base and at the end of the day when you are exhausted its great to fall into the wonderfully comfortable beds. We usually take breakfast in the restaurant next door and it sets you up for the day. You need to allow plenty of time as there is just so much choice. I would definitely recommend Cuerden Way Premier Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripvisitor186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBullock, Manager at Premier Inn Preston South (Cuerden Way) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves while staying at our Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back, Kind regards, Joe Bullock General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

we stayed at this premier inn for one night, the staff were absolutely brilliant as good as any where else that we have stayed, we were 3 hours early but they moved our room to one that was ready, this rearly helped as we were going to a wedding and needed somewhere to change.
the breakfast was at best ordinary, dont think i will bother next time. but the hotel was the star.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt_hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBullock, Manager at Premier Inn Preston South (Cuerden Way) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves while staying at Preston South Cuerden Way Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back, Kind regards, Joe Bullock General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We had been travelling to via Preston on our way to Scotland from Somerset; our stay was just an excuse to have a rest and to break up our trip. The hotel was lovely; it only cost us £29.00 for the night yet the room was clean and very comfortable for us.

The best part however was from the young gentleman by the name of Adam who was on reception the evening we checked in, besides being very friendly and welcoming not to mention recommending a wonderful restaurant for us that evening and printing us directions to it. He also was a real help when it came to an issue we had.

On venturing out in the evening for dinner, we discovered our car had suffered a flat tyre, upon returning to see if Adam could recommend us a local mechanic (being in our late 70's swapping tyres would have been rather too much for us). Adam amazed us by swiftly offering to change the tyre for us himself. Amazed by his generosity, we soon set off to enjoy our dinner plans after Adam had swiftly swapped our flat tyre for the spare. Already stunned by his excellent help, we were stunned to find upon our return that Adam had printed us directions to a local garage for the morning to resolve our tyre issue before we set off again for Scotland. Me and my husband have been staying in hotels together for 50 years and we have never come across the incredibly thoughtful and caring attitude Adam had for us on that evening, helping us in ways that we would never have expected of a hotel employee.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waddington41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBullock, Manager at Premier Inn Preston South (Cuerden Way) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Thank you for your very kind words I will pass them on to Adam, who, I know, will be delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Preston. I look forward to welcoming you back at Preston South (Cuerden Way) Premier Inn. Kind regards, Joe Bullock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamber Bridge
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Preston South (Craven Drive) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Preston East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Preston Chorley
Travelodge Preston Chorley
#1 of 2 in Clayton-le-Woods
191 reviews
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Preston South (Cuerden Way) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Preston South (Cuerden Way) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Preston South (Cuerden Way) Hotel
Address: Lostock Lane, Bamber Bridge PR5 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bamber Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bamber Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Preston South (Cuerden Way) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off junction 29, less than 5 miles (8 km) from Preston's city centre, the hotel offers free parking and spacious rooms with a bath and showers.The Premier Inn Preston South (Cuerden Way) has some rooms that can take 2 adults and up to 2 children (under 16 years). The 2 children also get a free full breakfast when accompanied by an adult eating a full breakfast.The full all-you-can-eat breakfast includes cooked items, vegetarian options and a wide continental selection.The hotel is situated next to the Poarchers Pub, offering a wide range of pub-style dishes at great prices. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing