We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bamber Bridge
UK
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Ok - this is not a resort hotel, so facilities are limited, but as a business or short stop it is excellent.
I stay in a lot of 4-5 star hotels abroad and generally don't rate the UK hotel sector to be value for money. Things like service matter and sometimes this is given grudgingly but this hotel has great staff - attentive and helpful. The rooms are bigger than average (26m2 including bathroom), simple but smart and very clean, reasonable desk area, good TV and the bathroom is great with a superb shower.
Its a few miles from Preston (if thats where your business is) but there are local supermarkets and big chain eateries within a mile or so and its not far off the M6.
The breakfast is above average and the foyer with bar, is quite a pleasant place to sit. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel is a great bonus.
Holiday Inn Express have ticked all the boxes - well done!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Hi Keith

Many thanks for your excellent feedback concerning our Hotel and if all our guests in 2013 are as pleased with their stay as you seem to have been we will be in for a great year. The thing i always look for in our reviews is whether the staff has stood out for special attention and the fact that you have mentioned this is marvelous so thankyou. I am pleased you enjoyed the Breakfast, we have tried to make the offering a level above what we feel our guest would expect and its nice when touches like this and free wi-fi are noticed!

So many thanks once again for your kind comments, we hope to see you again at the Hotel in the near future and everybody at the Hotel wishes you a Happy New Year.

Many Thanks

Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    215
    74
    20
    10
See reviews for
164
219
24
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Workington, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

An excellent experience, lovely clean rooms, good breakfast & friendly staff. Stayed here on a Friday night with my husband and 4 year old son. Even though you are right on the motorway there is no sound from it in the room. I can totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Hi Joanne

Many thanks for your splendid review of our Hotel, as with all feedback its the comments about the friendly staff that are imparticular most welcome. I was also pleased to note that you found the Hotel ideal for your four year old and would recommend the Hotel to others. Its always a pleasure to read that our guests want to return to us and on that basis we hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the very near future.

Many Thanks and a happy New Year

Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I have now stayed with you 3 times.. The first time was your very first week.. the staff were so happy and seemed very excited to be representing this new look hotel. The decor is very modern and bright but also inviting. I thought the eagerness to please may have reduced by my second or third stay, but quite the opposite, you are greated every time with a huge smile and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast has quite a lot to choose from with a small hot offering. Plenty of car park space, although next to a motorway, this could not be heard from the rooms. Keep up the good work and keep smiling!

Room Tip: I would highly recommend staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Hi Cheryl,

It was an absolute pleasure to read your review and discover that you had stayed with us three times! Above all I am always happy to read comments about the friendliness of the staff and am delighted that you find them as friendly and helpful as when we first opened. I do hope that your third visit will not be your last and that we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Once again many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to share your experiences with others.

Bruce Rowell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed at the holiday inn express for 2 nights last weekend ,When we arrived the check in was friendly and efficient,The room was warm and quiet with everything we needed AND a fantastic double shower.The breakfast had lots of choice of hot and cold dishes and it was all very tasty.We were impressed with the modern decor and cleanliness,The staff told us they are proud of their hotel and it shows.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladybell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Hi Babybel,

What an absolute pleasure it was to read your review and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this site. We have put a lot of effort in trying to get things right such as the Breakfast Offer and the Bathrooms so when we receive comments such as yours it is very rewarding. No establishment will get everything right all of the time but your comments and positive appreciation show us that our efforts do not go unnoticed and will help us strive as a team to ensure all our guests leave feeling the way you obviously have. Once again many thanks for such a fantastic review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Preston - South in the near future.

Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed here for one night. Would have given this hotel 5 stars but I could not sit in my room as it was too cold. The heater says that it is 25C but I doubt that it was 16C as I had to sit with 2 thermals tops on. Our room was located at the end of a long corridor and it got colder the further away you were from reception. Hotel excellent although a bit soulless in reception area too many bright lights.
Room lovely and breakfast very nice. It was very quiet the night that we stayed but I think that breakfast could be diffiicult if busy. Its quiet a large hotel and not loads of tables. Staff helpful and friendly. Would definetly stay again. Its a easy hotel from the M6 better than services hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsagal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Hi DundeeSalsagal,

We would like to thank you for writing such a great review of our Hotel. The issue you experienced with the room heating is being investigated and we believe it is due a faulty thermostate in the control unit cutting out the heating before the room achieves the desired temperature. These are currenlty being checked in all our rooms. On a more positive note it is pleasing to see you loved the room, found the Breakfast enjoyable and would definately use us again. As such we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Preston - South soon.

Many Thanks
Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, england
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This hotel is very good. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. It is a new hotel and has been well planned. It is very similar to American Holiday Inns. The breakfast is excellent, a very good choice of both hot and cold dishes.
There is ample parking and is very easy to locate from Junction 29 on the M6.
I would have graded this 5*, but found the reception staff rather cold and unwelcoming (not impolite or rude, just uninterested)

If they could smile a little and be more friendly, I would rate this as outstanding as everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Hi Pamela,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel, while you speak very highly of the Hotel I was disappointed to read that you found some of the staff slightly cold. The Hotel prides itself on the warm and friendly attitude of all the staff, I am disappointed that you found this not to be the case and we will redouble our efforts in this department.
I am glad you will be using the Hotel again, and that on a more positive note you found everything else, particularly the Breakfast to be eexcellent. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and will be working towards achieving that 5 stars.

Many Thanks
Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This holiday inn express is wonderful . It is perfectly situated at Junction 29 of the M6 - a 10 min drive into Preston or £10 taxi ride. We went to Blackpool from here and it was so easy around the motorway network - took us 40 minutes - perfect . Brand new hotel , great showers, excellent size bedrooms and a good free breakfast

Room Tip: all rooms are very good - we liked the top floor as you away from any noise of the car park - but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwilkes190758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Hi John,

Many thanks for your kind review of our Hotel, its always a pleasure to read reviews of this nature and we are all extremely pleased you found the Hotel to your liking.
'Should be a Preston Hotel' - I have tried on five seperate attempts to get Trip Advisor to reslist us as a Preston Hotel to no avail, the decision is made in America and is beyond my powers of reasoning. Quite why Hotels half way to Blackpool and in Leyland are listed as Preston Hotels yet we aren't is as I say, beyond me!
Anyway off my soapbox and thank you once again John for a very kind review of our Hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon to the Holiday Inn Express Preston - South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamber Bridge
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Preston South (Craven Drive) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#10 of 15 in Preston
579 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brook House Hotel
Brook House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clayton-le-Woods
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Preston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Preston South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Preston South
Address: Walton Summit Centre | Walton Summit, Bamber Bridge PR5 8AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bamber Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bamber Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Preston South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Preston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing