We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent clean contempory hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bamber Bridge
Reviewed 1 December 2013

travelled here for overnight stay. Had two collie dogs and was nice to know clean comfortable hotel that accepted dogs. Rooms were big, clean and hotel was nice contemporary design. Checked in late, very effiencient was even asked if the dogs need bowels.
Breakfast basic but very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

My partner and I stay at a LOT of IHG hotels around the world and this has to be the worst Holiday Inn express we have ever stayed in. This hotel could be so much better.

As an IHG Platinum Elite member we expect to get a decent room no matter what brand of IHG hotel we stop in.

On this night in question (Saturday to Sunday) we checked in around 23:45 Saturday night and the checkin guy was really polite and helpful.

When I came back a few minutes later to get a drink from the bar and pay for some snacks the barman was really helpful and we had a laugh. That is where the good part ends.

The rooms all appear to be very new and modern and have a LED / LCD Flat screen TV with Freeview.

The Shower room looks really modern but not well laid out as door bangs into you if you are sat on the loo!

Next, the beds... Good parts, the Duvet was really good, but it does not make up for the atrocious SMALL double bed which is in the room. It appears to be a sprung mattress on a sprung base, when either of us tried to move on the bed, the other bounced and woke up in the brief periods that either of us slept.

There are issues at this site with the doors to the rooms not soft closing and banging after someone enters a room.

You can hear the lift motors whining when someone is coming up and then the sets of fire doors also bang closed waking us up.

The air conditioning even when switched off in the room still made a noise as if the gas in the pipes had an air lock in them and made a banging noise.

We asked for a wake up call for 08:00 and this did not happen, when reported to reception they just said that they did not know why it did not take place and were apologetic that we were running late.

The notice in the bedroom says if you are not happy to contact the General Manager, when I asked for the General Manager, they were not on site.

At most Premier Inn's they now offer in-room the cell phone numbers of the General Manager and also an Area Manager.

This hotel COULD be excellent if they resolve the following issues.

1 - Get bigger and better double beds.
2 - Get water pressure booster for the showers
3 - Get some decent sausages for the breakfast, not the really cheap ones you are using currently.
4 - Get soft closing hinges on ALL doors and make sure they are correctly fitted!
5 - Get an engineer to service the lift so it can not be heard 6 rooms further down the corridor at night.
6 - Get and engineer to sort out the noisy piping on the Air Conditioning.

With just these six simple things, you would get an "excellent" from me!

Room Tip: Choose the Premier inn about 5 minutes further away or the full service Holiday Inn at Preston city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoozerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear DoozerUK,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the noise which affected your stay negatively. We also apologize our breakfast selections was less than satisfactory and the service you received fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

First appearances are that this is better than your run of the mill HiExpress. The lobby area is both modern and clean and the rooms are larger than normal. Lovely showers, big TV’s and plenty of parking space.

However, you get the same titchy and ‘lumpy bed’ as you would in any bad HiExpress and the hotel is located near a busy roundabout so there is a risk of traffic noise (for example, in room 101). Breakfast is pretty non-offensive, if a little uninspired.

Just beware of two things. Firstly, the window seal in my room had broken and it was freezing cold. Check that everything is OK in your room – it’s the kind of place that you’ll find bust light bulbs and I’m thinking that rooms are not well maintained. They're clearly not checked before you check in.

Secondly, don’t trust them if they promise you something. I had the offer of a drink or points on arrival but after accepting the latter (and being told there were no vouchers), they failed to materialise...even after a friendly reminder at check out.

Overall, a bit of a ‘pack them in, get them out’ experience…

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uk_hotel_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear uk_hotel_expert,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Seeing that the reviews were a bit hit and miss I wasn't sure what to expect about out last minute stay here. However, I was very pleased and surprised by the comments on some of the reviews as I did not have the same experience. Check in was as easy as it should be and the bar was great with lots of seating. The room was the best I have ever had at a Holiday Inn and also better than a lot of Premier Inns. The curtains appeared to be new and everything was very clean. Bathroom was lovely and shiny, all clean as well. We were on the side next to the road but since we looked at the location beforehand, can't really complain about that. Breakfast isn't great but it's free so can't complain there either! Overall, a great stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here as a stop off recently. First impressions was good, the reception was open with lots of seating and a lovely bar. The room was nice and big which was fitted with the usual teas/coffees/etc. The TV had a DVD player fitted, bed was big but not as big and comfy as a Premier Inn bed. The net curtains were dirty and ripped and the curtains had white stains on them. I had to leave for work at 7am so unfortunately I missed breakfast. I think breakfast should start a little earlier than 7.30am. All staff I came in contact with were lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozzaxmx S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear lozzaxmx S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the room cleanliness. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed on the 14th of Nov 2013,pleasant staff good breakfast(help yourself),good size rooms with a good wet room, tv.
Free wifi and a honesty bar of orange juice coke crips ec if your thirsty at 3 AM.
Good size bar,let down by a slightly burnt steak.
Good location just off J29 M6
Would defiantly stay again if i am up this way again!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porche190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a standard double room. The room itself was quite good with adequate space and a decent bathroom. The bed, however, is a different story. It was so soft we had to put pillows down the middle to stop us from rolling into the middle and both trying to sleep in the same hole. On check out we were asked if we enjoyed our stay and we stated everything was quite acceptable except for the bed. This elicited no response or comment from the receptionist as if she had heard it all before. Food in the restaurant was not fantastic but quite acceptable. We had three meals, over 2 days, in the restaurant and at each meal we ordered one of the several chicken meals on the menu. All to no avail, they had run out of chicken, but on each occasion we were not told this until the staff put the order into the kitchen. Shades of the Roy Orbison song "Communication Breakdown".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Karl S,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the bed and the food served. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamber Bridge
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#10 of 15 in Preston
606 reviews
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Legacy Preston International
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Preston Chorley
Travelodge Preston Chorley
#1 of 2 in Clayton-le-Woods
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brook House Hotel
Brook House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clayton-le-Woods
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Preston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Preston South

Address: Walton Summit Centre | Walton Summit, Bamber Bridge PR5 8AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bamber Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bamber Bridge
Price Range: £52 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Preston South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Preston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing