We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty breakfast tables”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bamber Bridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dirty breakfast tables”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

i stay here usually when i travel from scotland, short and sweet check in, just what i like, bedroom clean, breakfast was horrible, arrived at 9am for breakfast two tables were clean, all the others were dirty and there was no staff anyway doing anything, the buffet looked depressed, old and soggy food, everything just felt dirty, my bowl was dirty for my cereal, if i wanted to say something there wasnt anyone to say it to. i guess it may of been at the end of a busy breakfast but to leave the tables like that was disgusting, i am very dissapointed as breakfast is my favourite part of staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear ginninja,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am very pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. On the other hand, I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced you have had over breakfast. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    213
    74
    20
    10
See reviews for
160
218
24
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Godshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is my second visit and I stayed for 6 nights. I have absolutely no complaints.

For me the bed was extremely clean and comfortable. People go on about the beds in hotels, but this choice is extremely personal and of course no bed will be suitable for everyone and I feel as long as it is clean then the comfort is a personal situation which cannot possibly be catered to everyones' taste. Also, bed 'standard' sizes differ throughout the world, for instance UK bed sizes are smaller than US sizes, so we must make allowances in our expectations for this.

I have stayed in many of this brands' hotels across the world and would say this one ranks with the best (given the price etc.).

Many things, such as the friendliness and attitudes of all staff that I encountered were wonderful and pleasing, again so much more than at other hotels within the brand. Attitudes can 'differ' if you yourself present an 'attitude' problem.

Noise was not a problem, that which was heard was the entire responsibility of the other guests which no-one can guarantee against.

The site and location are wonderful with plenty of space, modern features and very generous with 'extras'. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble.

Breakfast, well again, I have been in the catering industry and can confirm this is a hard facility to get right. There are many legal issues that have to be addressed, as well as Health & Hygiene which can occasionally be seen as 'over the top', but that having been said, the couple of times items had run out, they were soon replaced, and I for one would prefer to have a small tray of food replenished often with fresh food, than copious amounts that can become degraded by the length of time they have to be kept at the required temperature. Yet again, food qualities, taste, etc. vary tremendously over the world and you will always find something that being different, you feel should not be provided because it does not met with your personal taste. Then of course there are the guests themselves, and one annoyance I found was that one particular guest each morning would alter the toaster settings to 'burn' despite there being a polite notice from the establishment to please not alter these settings.

So, I am once again giving this hotel 5 stars and will definitely stay again and again. Many thanks for a memorable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If noise from a lift bothers you, then make a request to reflect this, otherwise they all seemed gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

travelled here for overnight stay. Had two collie dogs and was nice to know clean comfortable hotel that accepted dogs. Rooms were big, clean and hotel was nice contemporary design. Checked in late, very effiencient was even asked if the dogs need bowels.
Breakfast basic but very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My partner and I stay at a LOT of IHG hotels around the world and this has to be the worst Holiday Inn express we have ever stayed in. This hotel could be so much better.

As an IHG Platinum Elite member we expect to get a decent room no matter what brand of IHG hotel we stop in.

On this night in question (Saturday to Sunday) we checked in around 23:45 Saturday night and the checkin guy was really polite and helpful.

When I came back a few minutes later to get a drink from the bar and pay for some snacks the barman was really helpful and we had a laugh. That is where the good part ends.

The rooms all appear to be very new and modern and have a LED / LCD Flat screen TV with Freeview.

The Shower room looks really modern but not well laid out as door bangs into you if you are sat on the loo!

Next, the beds... Good parts, the Duvet was really good, but it does not make up for the atrocious SMALL double bed which is in the room. It appears to be a sprung mattress on a sprung base, when either of us tried to move on the bed, the other bounced and woke up in the brief periods that either of us slept.

There are issues at this site with the doors to the rooms not soft closing and banging after someone enters a room.

You can hear the lift motors whining when someone is coming up and then the sets of fire doors also bang closed waking us up.

The air conditioning even when switched off in the room still made a noise as if the gas in the pipes had an air lock in them and made a banging noise.

We asked for a wake up call for 08:00 and this did not happen, when reported to reception they just said that they did not know why it did not take place and were apologetic that we were running late.

The notice in the bedroom says if you are not happy to contact the General Manager, when I asked for the General Manager, they were not on site.

At most Premier Inn's they now offer in-room the cell phone numbers of the General Manager and also an Area Manager.

This hotel COULD be excellent if they resolve the following issues.

1 - Get bigger and better double beds.
2 - Get water pressure booster for the showers
3 - Get some decent sausages for the breakfast, not the really cheap ones you are using currently.
4 - Get soft closing hinges on ALL doors and make sure they are correctly fitted!
5 - Get an engineer to service the lift so it can not be heard 6 rooms further down the corridor at night.
6 - Get and engineer to sort out the noisy piping on the Air Conditioning.

With just these six simple things, you would get an "excellent" from me!

Room Tip: Choose the Premier inn about 5 minutes further away or the full service Holiday Inn at Preston city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoozerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear DoozerUK,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the noise which affected your stay negatively. We also apologize our breakfast selections was less than satisfactory and the service you received fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
84 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

First appearances are that this is better than your run of the mill HiExpress. The lobby area is both modern and clean and the rooms are larger than normal. Lovely showers, big TV’s and plenty of parking space.

However, you get the same titchy and ‘lumpy bed’ as you would in any bad HiExpress and the hotel is located near a busy roundabout so there is a risk of traffic noise (for example, in room 101). Breakfast is pretty non-offensive, if a little uninspired.

Just beware of two things. Firstly, the window seal in my room had broken and it was freezing cold. Check that everything is OK in your room – it’s the kind of place that you’ll find bust light bulbs and I’m thinking that rooms are not well maintained. They're clearly not checked before you check in.

Secondly, don’t trust them if they promise you something. I had the offer of a drink or points on arrival but after accepting the latter (and being told there were no vouchers), they failed to materialise...even after a friendly reminder at check out.

Overall, a bit of a ‘pack them in, get them out’ experience…

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk_hotel_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear uk_hotel_expert,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Seeing that the reviews were a bit hit and miss I wasn't sure what to expect about out last minute stay here. However, I was very pleased and surprised by the comments on some of the reviews as I did not have the same experience. Check in was as easy as it should be and the bar was great with lots of seating. The room was the best I have ever had at a Holiday Inn and also better than a lot of Premier Inns. The curtains appeared to be new and everything was very clean. Bathroom was lovely and shiny, all clean as well. We were on the side next to the road but since we looked at the location beforehand, can't really complain about that. Breakfast isn't great but it's free so can't complain there either! Overall, a great stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here as a stop off recently. First impressions was good, the reception was open with lots of seating and a lovely bar. The room was nice and big which was fitted with the usual teas/coffees/etc. The TV had a DVD player fitted, bed was big but not as big and comfy as a Premier Inn bed. The net curtains were dirty and ripped and the curtains had white stains on them. I had to leave for work at 7am so unfortunately I missed breakfast. I think breakfast should start a little earlier than 7.30am. All staff I came in contact with were lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzaxmx S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Preston South, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear lozzaxmx S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the room cleanliness. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamber Bridge
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Preston
Holiday Inn Preston
#11 of 15 in Preston
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brook House Hotel
Brook House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clayton-le-Woods
91 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
693 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Preston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Preston South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Preston South
Address: Walton Summit Centre | Walton Summit, Bamber Bridge PR5 8AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Bamber Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bamber Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Preston South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Preston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing