We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smallest Child Portions ever”
Review of The Half Moon Pub

The Half Moon Pub
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Plumpton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$45
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Meals Are Served Monday To Saturday Between 12pm & 15pm and 18pm & 21pm Sunday Between 12pm & 16pm The Half Moon is a cosy, 200 year old country pub located in the Ditchling Road in Plumpton, only five minutes from Lewes. Popular as a meeting place for walkers and cyclists, the pub has a fresh, seasonal menu featuring local produce and is renowned for its home cooked specialties and traditional Sunday roasts. With an open fire, a bar serving Plumpton wines, fresh apple juice from Ringden farm and Sussex bitters, and a terrace as well as seven acres of picnic grounds - The Half Moon is a lovely spot to spend an afternoon. We highly recomend the Harvey's ale battered Pollock with hand-cut chips and minted pea purée, and the home made chocolate brownies with caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Smallest Child Portions ever”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Arrived on a Saturday lunchtime (May 31st). This is a fantastic location for a pub. We decided to have lunch. There were four adults and three children. The adults meal sizes were ok, but the children ended up having to have some of our food as they were still starving (none of them are porkers). Their ham and chips consisted of five chips each and a tiny piece of ham. Everything else was fine apart from the fact the playground area is not near the tables that serve food, but this is fairly minor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariner1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    110
    39
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have eaten there many times always the food has been excellent sometimes the service is a little slow due to demand of the pub overall very good

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Plumptonmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Four of us had Sunday lunch today (Bank Holiday). Contrary to some reviews our welcome and following service were both excellent - super team of young girls all working hard and very much together on what was a very busy lunch session. All our food was of excellent quality - starters and main course roasts all perfectly cooked and presented - remarkably good considering the number of meals coming out of the kitchen - and no long waits! Our second visit in two weeks, both 100%, will be back soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nicholas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good food, service could have been a bit quicker”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We recently went to the pub, the atmosphere was very good, the food was excellent, my only comment would be that the service could have been a bit quicker but overall it was very good and worth visiting.

Helpful?
2 Thank VisitingFromSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such a shame...”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Bank holiday Monday - of course it was going to be busy but we found a table no problem and ordered lunch (nothing complicated) at 1.15pm. Asked about the wait, was told they were "getting a bit busy". At 2.30, still no food.... We had children with us, they were starving and bored (the playground is lovely but you can't order food to eat at the tables next to the playground, hence complicated rota of one adult sitting at table waiting for food while the other was in the playground with the children - not the best way to spend an hour and a quarter....). The young waiting staff were clearly stressed, overworked, underpaid, etc . I would have expected an apology and free drinks offered but the management seemed to be in hiding. And the waiting staff didn't seem to have been trained in customer service...

Eventually, after several reminders, the food arrived. It was OK. Really not worth the wait. The kids' pudding didn't turn up despite reminders. We asked to see the manager - the waitress said she'd get "him". After ten minutes, a woman appeared - not sure whether she was the/a manager or not. She wasn't great at apologising either - told us to pay what we liked and said "I don't know what else to suggest".

It's such a lovely setting but I really think it needs a new manager. We weren't the only disgruntled customers there today.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pingapinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Half Moon Pub also viewed

 
South Chailey, East Sussex
 

Been to The Half Moon Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing