We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing guesthouse with amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeside Guest House
Ranked #1 of 12 Dindigul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2014

On my first trip to Southern India, I wanted to stay a few nights at this guesthouse which I had heard was a relaxing and serene place. I was definitely not disappointed. In the mornings, I would sit on the porch with my book, but always ended up just watching the beautiful scenery instead of reading. I also biked to the friendly nearby village of Athoor, walked around the reservoir and visited a village school, brick factory and sari weaver with owner Dorinda.

Owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I could not have felt more welcome. I would love to stay here again when I'm in Tamil Nadu. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johanna219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Johanna,
We are so glad that you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere here a Lakeside. Many people choose to come here for the seclusion, and the chance to see something of 'real life' for the millions of people who live in rural India, rather than just visiting the usual tourist spots.

We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your first trip to this amazing country, and would love to see you if you are ever in this area again.

Best wishes
Dorinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved our short stay at this property and wish we could have stayed longer. We recommend Lakeside if you are looking for a relaxing break in Tamil Nadu. The cottages are very well decorated, large and clean. There is also a well maintained pool. It was a delight to have breakfast and dinner on the veranda overlooking the lake with the mountain s in the distance. There is lovely walk round the lake which should take around 1 hour. The owners Dorinda and Peter were very hospitable and we hope to
be able to revisit if not during this current trip around India our next one. We wish them every success in the future.

Room Tip: We used an individual cottage which has a lovely patio (with fan) for relaxing throughout the day. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulerevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you and to welcome you to Lakeside. We wish you all the best during your current trip to India. Hopefully you will be able to make a return trip sometime in the future when we look forward to getting to know you even better.
Dorinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were staying in a cottage which is big enough for a family of four. It was near the pool so we were watching our kids in the water from our veranda which was good. The kids loved the pool and were in it most of the time.

We enjoyed a trek around the lake with Mr Peter and some guests from Netherlands. There were lots of water birds to see which is great for city folk.

We were all enjoying dinner together. Our kids liked finding out about life in London and Netherlands.

Only one bad thing – dragging our kids away when it was time to leave. They were wanting to stay longer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 762Raj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review.
The walk around the lake is always popular, particularly when we have all of the migratory waterbirds here. Currently we have painted stork, cormorants, snake birds, heron and a few more besides!
We very much enjoyed welcoming you and your family to Lakeside and hope that we may see you again sometime.
Dorinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at Lakeside while travelling with a large group. Some stayed here and some stayed at another guesthouse in the valley. We all spent time at both propertys and took some meals at both propertys. Glad we were allocated accommodation here because of the:

Beautiful scenery.
Lovely spacious cottage with view of the well kept swimming pool.
Clean accommodation.
Lovely western bathroom (shower only, no bath)
Spacious gardens with places to sit in the shade or sunbathe.
Excellent food (best during the tour!)
Excellent staff - courteous, unassuming, very attentive, very smart.
Excellent service.
Welcoming and friendly owners.
We wish we had been staying longer.

Room Tip: Cottages are very roomy - probably best if you are staying for some time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwe1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry we weren't able to provide a bath, but water conservation is very important in a rural area like this, we do hope that the shower was refreshing! We very much enjoyed having you, and your group, to stay with us, and also wish that you could have stayed a little longer to enjoy our facilities and a relaxing time between the excursions. We do hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your tour.
Best wishes
Dorinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had a very pleasant, quiet and relaxing stay. That was what I was looking for.
I am a very picky person.
Clean food and accommodation in a very nice and beautiful location is the best I can describe about this place. This place is well maintained and had a very friendly atmosphere.
The view around this resort is something that need to be commented. Of course you can see from the pictures. Few years back I mistakenly went to a near by resort which is also run by westerners. Not the best experience. But this time I made it to the right place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you, Deepu, for your kind review. We certainly do our best to make our guests feel welcome and to provide clean, comfortable accommodation and fine foods.

We enjoyed your company here at Lakeside and hope that, if you return to the valley sometime in the future, we will have the pleasure of your company once again!
Dorinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our second stay at Lakeside after staying there for two weeks previously. We enjoyed it so much being looked after and pampered so well by Dorinda and Pete and their staff we decided to stay for a month with executions arranged by Dorinda and Pete who are amazing people who can't do enough to make ones stay at Lakeside enjoyable. Being a fussy people we can assure anyone who is looking to book a holiday at Lakeside will not regret it as we are looking forward to staying there again in the not too distant future.

I do not give out compliments readily but this is an exception as Dorinda and Pete are amazing hosts who need congratulating.

N & B England.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. We stayed in a cottage without AC but with fans cooling the air down made i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nevbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Nevbev,

Thank you for your kind review.

Knowing that you have a sense of humour (so please do not take this the wrong way!), may I please just point out to people reading your review that I usually provide excursions, not executions! (spellcheck?)

You may think that you are fussy people, but please let me assure you that you are not, and it has been a pleasure to serve you.

We look forward to welcoming you here again in the future - and to further executions! :-)

Dorinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I should have followed my gut instinct and avoided this place after the initial phone call. It was attended by one Mrs Dorinda who later I came to know owned the resort. The response was to the point at best. Still, after reading so many good stories about this resort we decided to go. The location is very nice and there is a large lake right in front. The food was nice. What was not at all nice was the service and the attitude towards us. During the 2 nights we were literally treated as though we were very unwelcome. There was another family from UK staying there and there was a huge difference in the way the interactions happened. Please note that this resort is owned by an old couple from UK. There were no greetings, nothing was communicated to us and we were literally on our own during the entire stay. All this was fine. But on the day of check out we heard the phone conversation between the owners husband who has a travel agency in UK, with someone on the phone where he kept saying about how Indians were, how their standards of hygiene were so poor and how different from the westerners and that they usually didn't take Indian guests because Indians are more of a nuisance. All this when an Indian family was staying with them. I wanted to remind them that they were in India and that they should be a little bit more caring towards everyone. I didn't, what was the point.It was time to check out anyway, so we did. As expected, no one ever came out to even ask how our stay was. Well, in 2 days we had expected that at least.
Avoid if you want an Indian experience where guests are treated in a much better way.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Madri776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knowlands, Owner at Lakeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear guest,

We are very sorry to read the review of your stay at Lakeside Guesthouse in April 2014. May we please ask you to contact us directly so that we may further understand how we apparently got things so wrong on this occasion; we would also appreciate the details of when you stayed here. At this time we are not aware of any Indian family staying at Lakeside during April 2014, and for our part (Peter and Dorinda) we were not in the country for the majority of that month. We look forward to hearing from you.

If you are a potential guest reading this review and considering a stay at Lakeside, please do take time to read some of the other reviews posted here, by both Indians and people of other nationalities. Please be assured that we make everyone welcome, and you will see from the reviews that guests have a wonderful stay here, be they from Europe, the rest of the world or, of course, from India. We do try to run our guesthouse to European standards, and Lakeside is a wonderfully restful place where guests can be assured of a warm welcome, along with high standards of hospitality and service. We will try to make amends with our dissatisfied customer and will let you know the outcome on our blog, which we hope you read regularly!

On a lighter note, may Peter and Dorinda just add that, being several years away from retirement, perhaps the wording of the review could have referred to us as a ‘mature couple’ rather than ‘old’!

We look forward to welcoming you to Lakeside very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dindigul hotels
0.1 mi away
Double Dutch Resort
Double Dutch Resort
#3 of 9 in Dindigul
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardamom House
Cardamom House
#1 of 9 in Dindigul
152 reviews
12.3 mi away
Vivera Grande
Vivera Grande
#2 of 9 in Dindigul
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Parsons Court
Parsons Court
#5 of 9 in Dindigul
79 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Keerthi Palace
Hotel Keerthi Palace
#7 of 9 in Dindigul
5 reviews
12.1 mi away
Senthil Residency
Senthil Residency
#4 of 9 in Dindigul
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Guest House

Address: Kamarajar Dam | Athoor Post, Dindigul 624701, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Dindigul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dindigul
Price Range: £41 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding the prime position on Kamarajar Dam, with excellent views of the lake and mountains, Lakeside will give you an unrivalled experience of rural India in accommodation run to Western standards by its resident British owners. Lakeside offers a high standard of food served by attentive, but unobtrusive, staff.The property offers rooms in the main building as well as more spacious individual cottages; all accommodation has lake views; air conditioning is available in some. The buildings are set in 4.5 acres of landscaped gardens with a further 3 acres of undeveloped land, bordering the Reserve Forest, which is retained as a haven for wildlife; guests are free to walk here to enjoy the environment. The quiet seclusion of Lakeside makes it an ideal stop for western travellers on a tour of south India, as well as a quiet retreat for businessmen visiting Madurai or those seeking a weekend break from nearby Indian cities. The owners of Lakeside also offer a 10 day holiday package, ideal for foreign guests wishing to add a unique experience of rural India to the usual tourist visits.(Please note, Lakeside does not accommodate children under the age of 5) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lakeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Guest House Dindigul, India - Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing