We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best resort.”
Review of Tranquil Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquil Nest
Ranked #4 of 12 Dindigul B&B and Inns
Virudhunagar
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best resort.”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Went there with friends and the place is so amazing. Kodai is about 30 kms away from city, yet we never wanted to get out of this lovely place. The room was very clean and never had any discomfort. Water heater worked all time. The food they served was so delicious. They were kind to cater to all our needs at all times.

The whole area itself was so quiet, peaceful, no car honking. Just peaceful. Take a trek to 'mappla ponnu' rock. Its a trek for about 3 hours in the thick forest. Was such a great experience.

The gym was great there. You can relax there. All the equipments were well maintained. They also had checkers, chess, carrom to fight your boredom.

There is no tourist spot near this resort. You have to go all way to Kodai. If you are looking to stay at a place where you want to relax and have a chat with all your friends and family, this is the place. Highly recommended

Room Tip: If you are going with friends, choose the room with bunker beds. Its fun to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vvinodhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A truly hidden gem in the Palani Hills. The drive is scenic and exhilarating. The Nest is a self-contained place for a 2 night stay & offers great views of the hills and valleys around. Very amicable and homely staff. High point of the Nest is the cafeteria – the cook rustles up superb b/fast, lunch and dinner – also asks you for preferrence. Rooms are basic (could do with some improvement though - we ended up with a very noisy fan and could not sleep). The surroundings offer great opportunity for bird spotting.

All in all a highly recommended weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scorpio15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I visited the Tranquil Nest with my family in September 2011. Quietly tucked away in the mountains amidst forest reserves and away from the hustle and bustle of the neighboring and more frequented Kodaikanal, this home stay resort is a must visit. If one wants to just unwind, forget time and space and spend hours reading or bird-watching, or indeed, doing nothing, this is the place to be in. Having said that, we found the surroundings too fresh and beautiful to spend any of our time indoors. So, between the time we spent walking in and outside the resort, we also made short trips to the local charming Kartikeya temple and the mushroom factory. A trekking trail led us through eucalyptus forests to a breathtakingly beautiful spot high in the mountains - a deep valley of pine walled in by high mountains cloaked by clouds. Wild flowers were strewn everywhere and the air was thick with the smell of pine and eucalyptus.

This resort is a favourite among bird watchers. We were not lucky enough to sight the bison, despite a stealthy and adventurous jeep ride to spots frequented by the herds! It is also a haven for photographers.

The resort offers breakfast, lunch and dinner that are as sumptuous as they are delicious. Apart from the usual fare, the chef also has up his sleeve such exotic dishes as pomegranate rasam, vendeya dosa, pineapple kesari, apple milkshake and Bangalore kattrikkai (chow chow) payasam.

There are cottages to accommodate every kind of holidaying group - single cottages, cottages with interlinked rooms, as well as a dorm-like cottage that can hold up to 10 people.
These have been furnished with great eye for detail and aesthetics. The entire resort is maintained impeccably and the landscaping is outstanding. We were told about the lounge with a TV, but we never spent any time in it! It seemed a crying waste of time to sit staring into a TV with so much (not) happening outside:)

The staff in the resort was very helpful and efficient. The driver expertly guided the jeep through steep mountain paths filled with rocks and overgrown with bushes. The chef rolled up his sleeves and dolled out one after the other exotic dish.
In all, the visit seems like a dream and we are resolved to make it part of our annual holiday.

Room Tip: There are rooms to suit every kind of requirement but it is best to reserve in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Savita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

The name is so perfect... I felt a sense of traquility while I was staying here... It has a very serene surrounding,chirpping of birds and insects the beautiful aroma of the nature. Classic for a holiday and adventure.

You get to sights of wild bisons at night which will make you stay more thrilling.

The service is top notch and the food is excellent!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominicyuvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajapalayam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Its a new expereince for me staying at this resort. Our friends enjoyed throughout the stay. Ride on high mountain roads with 4x4 drive pickup, birds watching. I recommend this resort for the person who loves taking photographs.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vijayRajapalayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajapalayam
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Our group thoroughly enjoyed the stay there. I definitely recommend the Tranquil Nest to my friends. The trekking and bird watching are enjoyable. One can come face to face with wild buffullo Gaur.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajsakku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2010

In our present fast paced world its really hard for us to lay back and put a foot up and find some quality me time and say no to the other gadets that constantly keep pecking away our time that is always at the disposal of everything else but us and our loved ones. Tranquil nest was one of those rare hide outs that allows u reconnect with urself , ur loved ones and the nature all in one go... built on a concept that when on vacation have one and removing regular interrupters like a TV and music system away from ur grab.. the themed resort drives home a simple point of vacation in a nice way. The setting in scenic thandikuddi lets u exprience a world that is far away from ur dusty cities. The climate is the major highlight and its an all season resort unlike other hill stations. After a long time this was the place i could really listen to chirpping birds and rattling leaves.. and the variety of our winged friends make it a wonderful bird watching place. The place is extremely affordable and what strikes you most is the warmth that the people in here show you.. we never felt we were in a privately run resort... infact the organic food cooked for us there would stand a good fight for the best food you have ever had. We enjoyed our little trekking trips and sight seeing visits in and around helped me shed some holiday weight... overall it was a trip totally worth its penny spent..
the affordability of this place leaves u smiling all the way back to your daily grind cos at the end of the day we do mind a hole in our wallet.. dont we ?

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guru_jayadev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dindigul
15.4 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,142 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cardamom House
Cardamom House
#1 of 9 in Dindigul
150 reviews
15.0 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#53 of 78 in Kodaikanal
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
15.4 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#6 of 78 in Kodaikanal
664 reviews
15.6 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil Nest

Property: Tranquil Nest
Address: Mangalankombu Village | Thandikudi, Dindigul 624126, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Dindigul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dindigul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tranquil Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquil Nest Dindigul, India - Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing