We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ockley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Etherley Farm Camp Site
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A lovely campsite in an excellent location. Very basic facilities but I wouldn't expect more than drinking water, loos,showers and somewhere to wash up anyway! I do think its a bit overpriced but it is in the heart of surrey.
The field opposite was full of DoE kids who made a lot of noise and used the loo block in the main field.hoards of teenage girls trawled through the field screaming and shouting at all hours! Perhaps the DoE field should have its own facilities?
That said, a very good campsite in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We couldn't have chosen worse days: it rained for 50 hours! I went camping two nights with my 5 year-old in a small 2 people-tent. Despite the amount of rain, the field was not flooded. Very wet and a bit muddy, but we managed to stay dry inside tent. The grass was not too long, but it was inevitable: we got wet shoes. Wellies recommended. The facilities: a new and clean portacabin with a toilet and a shower was good. I can't fault this.
Great location to access the walks around Leith Hill without using your car.
I didn't hear the ducks or geese which were kept in a separate field, but it can get noisy due to the proximity of other tents: people can be loud.
The place is basically a large square field and people tend to camp on the side. We used the middle to play.
Fresh eggs from the farm were fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent 2 nights there (2 adults and 2 young children) and had a great time. There are some lovely walks nearby. Facilities are basic but clean, camp fires are allowed. It was just what we were after.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Beautiful setting at the bottom of Leith Hill, great walks and fab pub nearby, very pleasant owners however... Facilities too few and not clean. However basic a campsite facilities should be cleaned.
Pitches OK, literally just fields but great to be able to have campfires.
The downful for our group was the noise.. I eventually trudged across the field at 2.30am and kindly asked the group of young so called 'festival goers' who figured they owned the place to turn the volume off. Greeted by a very intoxicated group who offered to 'turn it down'.. A few exchanges later they agreed they were being unfair and curbed the noise.
With the number of families with young children and a DofE group in this field perhaps someone could have checked at 1100 to make sure they were quite..
Sorry such a shame but probably won't go back..

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank RHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I found this site just ok, very friendly and a flat field but nothing at all that would make me go back. Facilities are basic, which is fine but not many of them, and not as well maintained as others I've come across. It was noisy at night, the geese kept me awake all night the first night. Feel a bit 'meh' about this one....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Furasato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We came here with short notice in August and managed to get a pitch.Two adults 3 toddlers.Brilliant proximity to London,beautiful countryside.Being on a working farm all added to the trip as did the freedom to make your own camp fires.Its a couple of fields on a farm with some showers, toilets and a shop all well managed.

Room Tip: Don't expect to much
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Came here with friends after completing my gcses and had an excellent pitch with plenty of space within a very short walk of toilet and bathroom facilities. Had some very enjoyable walks (despite my friends' reluctance!) as the farm is placed 200 yards from a walking route which links up to leith hill tower and other attractions in the area - a map can be found on site giving details of routes and attractions but unfortunately not opening times. The food was of a high quality and good price but there were only burgers, sausages and eggs on sale but there was a more convenience style shop within 15 minutes walk of the campsite.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 321Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ockley
2.0 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#3 of 12 in Dorking
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hurtwood Hotel Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
The Inn on the Green
The Inn on the Green
#1 of 1 in Ockley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etherley Farm Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etherley Farm Camp Site

Property: Etherley Farm Camp Site
Address: Etherley Farm Etherley Hill, Ockley RH5 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Ockley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ockley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our campsite is basic and straight forward. It is situated on our working farm at the foot of Leith Hill in picturesque Surrey countryside. We are open from April to October (weather permitting) with the minimum stay of 1 night up to a maximum of 2 weeks. We do not allocate pitches and campfires are permitted. This season we have newly constructed showers and toilets, including hot water for washing up. We have a newly converted onsite Produce Shop selling all our own produce of free-range chicken, duck, including burgers and sausages, eggs and honey. In additional we also stock some ‘camping essentials’ for your convenience. There are local child friendly pubs within walking and short driving distance. There are also picturesque walks around the farm and in the surrounding Surrey Hills. Our location is quiet and tranquil, but as a working farm there will be some noise from both machinery and the animals - the geese and ducks ‘chatter’ even throughout the night! Our surroundings are very important to us and is the reason why many of our campers visit us. Our informal approach relies on our guests respecting both the countryside environment and the stay of other guests. Key points to note before booking. There is no access to the farm. No dogs are allowed on site, except for special needs (pre-arrangement required). Minimal music and noise after 11pm. Wood must not be removed from the surrounding National Trust woodland. No groups of more than 4 people, under the age of 25. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Etherley Farm Camp Site Hotel Ockley
Etherley Farm Camp Site Ockley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing