We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming oasis”
Review of Alacati Tas Otel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alacati
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alacati Tas Otel
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Alacati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Ahhh, a cool and relaxing oasis just off the main street in busy, trendy Alacati. Tas Otel is exquisitely decorated, primarily in blue and white, and lives out the fantasy of a peaceful Aegean retreat. A pool is beautifully located in a landscaped garden and breakfast can be eaten under a bower. The staff is always available, charming , and helpful. Just go there -- and relax.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulZ121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

We arrived at Izmir airpot shattered and climbed into cab, driving the 75 miles that would bring us to Alacati and Tas Otel. Our driver got lost and after calling the hotel, we were flagged down by man on a bicycle who showed us the way to this hidden gem of a hotel.
Tas Otel sits at the top of the main road of the old village, it's a beautiful white stone house that looks more like a lush private country house than a hotel. Well, as a matter of fact it is.... there are only 8 rooms, 7 in the main house and 1 at the end of the garden.
We were greeted by Yosef the lovely concierge (he was the cyclist who found and brought us to the hotel), checked in and show to our room. We had one room in the main house as well as the room at the end of the garden.
The rooms were white wash walls, decorated in subtle yet chic local furniture in calming colours of the sea. The bathroom was large, bright and well stocked!
The rooms are air conditioned, but there are no Tvs or fridges. Truthfully I did not miss the TV but a cold drink at hand might have been handy!

On our beds they had left us "Tas Otel presents", the hotel's baking cookbook as well as a lovely turkish towel (this is a great trick, it will stop those who are inclined to pinch a towel or two).

Upon arrival we were served Turkish tea/coffee as well as delicious cakes and were told that there was afternoon tea everyday from 5.
The hotel is the love child of Zeynap, who bought, restored and transformed this property from ruins to this charming, exceedingly romantic, subtly chic boutique hotel. She is very much involved and comes in everyday, makes a point of meeting the new guests and makes sure that everything is provide for you during your stay.
The staff of the hotel are lovely, friendly, knowledgable and extremely helpful. They also know the area very well, have very good relationship with all the restaurants and know where to send you to eat the best of the best.
The garden is a lovely sanctuary with a great pool. The pool is surrounded by olive trees and mature trees that make it very private and not over looked.
Tas Otel, only does breakfast (but does it exceedingly well) and light meals during the day, but when you are this close to the village one is truly spoiled for choice.
Their afternoon fresh cake and tea is a real treat after a hard day of being at the beach doing nothing.
I loved Tas, she is gorgeous, intimate, mature, well taken care of, warm, cosy, serene and homey.... the way it's run make everyone staying there feel as if they are lucky owners of this gorgeous girl.
There is also the most unbelievable cat family who are the real stars of Tas Otel... mummy, daddy and 4 simply delicious kitten. We were in love with this family that played, ate, slept and chilled together.... well, only 1 set of guest were not taken by these cats.... the rest of us spent most of our time in the hotel talking baby language to the cats.....

Alacati is also this lovely fishing village of immense charm, if St. Tropez had personality it would be Alacati. For those who enjoy Mykonos, well if Mykonos had more class it would be Alacati
As Tas is so well situated, of course it goes without saying that there will be noise and that you will hear the thump of the base sound till about 1:30 in the morning.... the noise did not bother us as we were participants and probably greatly contributed to it, but for those with less of an ear for dance music, a pair of ear plugs would be a great asset.

I look forward to returning to Tas and Alacati.....

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous. The Garden room is slightly noisier, so if you are noise sensitive stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kensingtonyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent 8 nights at Tas Otel and we really felt like home. Cozy rooms, super friendly staff, amazing breakfast, great atmosphere - it could Not possibly have been any better! It only takes 2 min to several delicious restaurants and the main shopping street in Alacati.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MauT85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We came to Alaçatı for some relaxation after busy days of tours in other parts of the country. It is a beautiful village, mainly filled with Turkish vacationers from Istanbul and Izmir. The hotel is close to the center of the old part of town; complete with lovely old stone house and quiet garden. The owner, Zenep, oversees a staff that was truly gracious, tending to our every need with a smile. The afternoon tea and cakes are first-rate, and the staff did a wonderful job recommending restaurants, beaches, and wineries to explore during our stay. Alaçatı is not inexpensive compared to other parts of Turkey, but the Taş Otel exceeded our high expectations for service and value. I heartily recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonSettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We spent three nights there with our children aged 3 and 5.The place is beautiful,the garden is the perfect place to relax and enjoy breakfast or tea time.Zeynep and her team make sure you feel like home by doing anything possible to please you.I'm sure we will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank despoina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Tas Otel exceeded our high expectations with great hospitality, authentic architecture and clean rooms. Breakfast is delicious, taking a nap afterwards near the pool was a bliss.
Location is very close to alacati town center and saturday bazaar.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cagla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Very good boutique hotel with some room for improvement. The hotel has been renovated tastefully and is ideally located for Cesme/Alacati. The staff are excellent and Ollum the dog makes every stay delightful. The village of Alacati is charming, although it becomes a bit busy in the high season due to its growing popularity. If you are looking for a place to go to in the spring and autumn with good weather and a more relaxed vibe, you can't beat this place! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bengali007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alacati hotels
1.9 mi away
Alacati Kapari Hotel
Alacati Kapari Hotel
#2 of 73 in Alacati
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Incirliev Alacati
Incirliev Alacati
#11 of 73 in Alacati
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cumbali Konak
Cumbali Konak
#10 of 73 in Alacati
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
1850 Hotel Alacati
1850 Hotel Alacati
#3 of 73 in Alacati
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sardunaki Konak Otel
Sardunaki Konak Otel
#13 of 73 in Alacati
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viento Alacati Hotel
Viento Alacati Hotel
#19 of 73 in Alacati
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alacati Tas Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alacati Tas Otel

Address: Kemalpasa Cad 132 | Yeni Mecidiye Mahallesi, Alacati, Cesme 35950, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Cesme > Alacati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alacati
#5 Family Hotel in Alacati
Price Range: £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alacati Tas Otel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tas Otel has been opened in 2001 as the first small hotel by ZeynepOzis who was one of the pioneers of "protective tourism" implemented successfully in Alacati. Ms. Ozis has questioned the 'mission, vision, strategy and action plan' steps that she has learned in professional life in line with her expectations and the answer she found was to be able to live and work away from the big cities, together with people and animals, doing physical exercise and having a balanced life and Tas Hotel, which was also her dream when she was young, came into being.Tas Otel is a century old Greek house with a swimming pool and peaceful green garden and it has been awarded as one of the best 20 small European hotels by the British Sunday Times. The hotel has an olive grove of 200 olive trees and each year olive harvesting is done together with the guests. The harvested olives are processed and served. Delicious Alacati cake with lemon is served with the five o'clock tea made with the Cesme lemons and in the winter the fireplace and the books are waiting for the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alacati Tas Otel Hotel Alacati
Tas Otel Hotel Alacati

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing